Ratings based on 73 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wales

Rooms let it down

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: The breakfast was lovely
Cons: Unfortunately, almost everything
We've stayed here a few times before, but it is now in desperate need of updating. Arrived at 3.30pm and were shown to our room, which wasn't anywhere near ready. Check in was supposed to be from 2.00pm. Left our bags in the room and went out for the day. When we returned late that night, our room had been left unlocked. Not a great start! We stayed in room 1, which was small but had everything you'd need for a short stay. The bed was comfortable, unfortunately that's all that was good about the room. The bathroom door and wardrobe doors were noisy enough to wake the dead. The floor and bed creaked too. The main issue was the bathroom. The door had a hole in it, the shelf was falling off and the toilet seat wasn't attached properly. Extreme caution was needed with the hot water tap, it was scalding. As for the shower, forget it! Boiling, freezing, boiling, freezing....you get the picture.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mansfield

Good spot for hotel

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Shower room very small if you like a lot of room otherwise no complains.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

GOOD and AFFORDABLE

Posted Aug 17, 2016 on Hotels
Really good affordable stay, good bar food and breakfast. Outside my room was a fairly noisy engine-air-ventilation machine, but about from that, I would revisit
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 31, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bexley

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Small friendly staff good food.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Very central easy to find. we went into Eastbourne and Newhaven. On the Sunday we went to the Bentley car Museum a great day out for the whole family.
We had a very nice weekend lovely room and the food in the hotel was very good. Staff made us feel welcomed.
3 out of 5
by Michael from Gosport

Black lion Pub

Posted Jul 8, 2016 on Hotels
The staff and management were lovely, but the room was tired looking. Shower not very good, kettle broken.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Norwich

Convenient situation.

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Pros: The staff are very friendly and we enjoyed the breakfast. Good local beer. A nice old English feel in the bar.
Cons: The decor in general. The place has a run-down feel about it.
Location: Well situated to visit Chartwell and Battle. Lewes is a lovely old town with a castle and the coast is not far away.
We were visiting friends in the area so it suited us fine. The inn is in need of a bit of TLC and our room (number 7) was unbelievably cramped. It did have a very nice on-suite but there was no door separating it from the room, just a wall between the bed and the shower etc., which was not ideal. We would probably use the Hotel again, but not in that room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 6, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Trevor from Huntingdon

Black Lion Hotet

Posted May 18, 2016 on Hotels
Not a bad place - undergoing refurbishment in some areas at the moment ideally situated for Brighton and surrounding areas. Unfortunately I could not get a VAT receipt so I won't be able to stay there again as my stay was for business
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

nice hotel, close to brighton

Posted May 14, 2016
The Black Lion is a great family run pub, the owners are extremely friendly, welcoming and helpful. The en-suite rooms are lovely & clean and the bed is very comfortable. There is a good selection of drinks, great food and a cool games room with 2/3 pool tables. Lewes train station is a 15 minute drive away with trains running every 10 minutes to Brighton. We will deffintely be staying here again when we're in the area.