Ratings based on 80 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Cornwall

Welcoming hotel,great for travelling with dogs

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: We felt very welcomed with 3 dogs. The free breakfast was a bonus - simple but satisfying and well executed.
Cons: Bit of a spruce up
Location: good central location for visiting the area
We normally stay at hotels in Brighton when visiting the area with our dogs, which are good but costs add up when you pay a nightly fee for dogs and at least £15 per night parking. We weren't sure about staying in a pub in case it was noisy, but it was absolutely fine. The hosts are very welcoming, and the accommodation is fine. The room and en suite were quite small and the ensuite could do with a refurb, but both were perfectly functional for a couple of nights. The hotel side could generally do with a spruce up but overall it's good value for money.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean

Posted Nov 25, 2016 on Hotels
Could get hot water from shower
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Now called Bkacksmith's Arms

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
Real ale, real fire, good breakfast, will stay again when in area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Near to Lewis

Posted Nov 3, 2016 on Hotels
Property under new management, needs some improvement but could be good once upgraded a little.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wales

Rooms let it down

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: The breakfast was lovely
Cons: Unfortunately, almost everything
We've stayed here a few times before, but it is now in desperate need of updating. Arrived at 3.30pm and were shown to our room, which wasn't anywhere near ready. Check in was supposed to be from 2.00pm. Left our bags in the room and went out for the day. When we returned late that night, our room had been left unlocked. Not a great start! We stayed in room 1, which was small but had everything you'd need for a short stay. The bed was comfortable, unfortunately that's all that was good about the room. The bathroom door and wardrobe doors were noisy enough to wake the dead. The floor and bed creaked too. The main issue was the bathroom. The door had a hole in it, the shelf was falling off and the toilet seat wasn't attached properly. Extreme caution was needed with the hot water tap, it was scalding. As for the shower, forget it! Boiling, freezing, boiling, freezing....you get the picture.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff

Posted Oct 3, 2016 on Hotels
It rained a lot . Nice breakfast.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mansfield

Good spot for hotel

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Shower room very small if you like a lot of room otherwise no complains.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and clean

Posted Sep 20, 2016 on Hotels
Enjoyed the stay, the room had everything we needed. Would stay again if we were passing this area again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

GOOD and AFFORDABLE

Posted Aug 17, 2016 on Hotels
Really good affordable stay, good bar food and breakfast. Outside my room was a fairly noisy engine-air-ventilation machine, but about from that, I would revisit