Ratings based on 241 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Porto, Portugal

Really good location but no lifts available

Posted Jun 8, 2017
The location of the hotel is great. Located in the sea front. The staff is super nice and take really good care of you. The only problem I've found is the fact the there is no lift available. So if you have heavy bags you may struggle to get to your room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Barnet

Not worth the money by a long way.

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: The location and the staff.
Cons: Interior and rooms need to be refurbished to a high standard to justify their current room rate. Breakfast needs to be improved on quality and variety
Location: Overlooking the sea front, beautiful location. Walked along the sea front with lots to see, there was a food festival on, lots of shops, the i360 etc.
Paid a fortune for one night including breakfast, plus £18 per night for parking which has limited spaces for 9 cars so first come first serve. Breakfast was not good. I had eggs on toast on the thinnest, tasteless and cheapest sliced wholemeal bread that I have ever had plus one piece of toast was burnt. The buffet breakfast had not the best quality cereals, juices, coffee, teas or bread. There were no yogurts, pastries, rolls, etc. that one would expect from a buffet breakfast. There was a menu with a choice of various items for a hot breakfast. One guest on the next table complained bitterly of the lack of quantity for the full English breakfast. I must say that we could not fault the staff as they all provided an excellent service during our stay. But unfortunately the rest was such a let down so we will not be staying here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Convenient location

Posted May 17, 2017
This hotel is in an excellent location, right on the beach. It is convenient for most local amenities and was clean and comfortable. The Hotel description states that there is car parking on site. This is true, but it doesn't state that it costs £18 per night to park there. If I had known this, I wouldn't have booked the hotel. Thankfully, the hotel staff advised me that on-street parking is available, and is a much cheaper option overnight. I was disappointed by the misleading information supplied by the hotel regarding car parking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Palmerston North, NZ

Good Location, good value for money

Posted May 4, 2017
Pros: Location and value for money.
Cons: Rooms could do with a generate refurb.
Location: The Lanes a short walk away
Dated hotel room, but clean and tidy. Nice dining area and bar. Staff very friendly and helpful. Walking distance to centre of Brighton. Walls are thin, but for the price paid, can't complain.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brighton

Friendly staff, rest not so great

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Staff friendly and helpful but beyond that I'd not want to return. Room was nothing like pics on website - it was small with a large window, from which all you can see is the metal staircase down the back of the hotel (and conversely everyone on it can see right in). Had own small toilet and shower (had to keep shower door open to fit in). When other guests used showers the walls made loud gurgling noises. Floor boards outside creaked like crazy and the position of the room and sound proofing meant when people passed it was like they were in there with you. Still, it was cheap for Brighton and as I say, staff were nice. There's a small reception bar looking out to the seafront and breakfast was ok.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canberra

Parking disgrace

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: PARKING
I arrived mid afternoon. When I tried to enter the "parking" ie about 10 spaces, with only one vacant, I found a large 4WD parked blocking the entry. There was nowhere nearby to park...I travel alone so cannot just double park while someone runs in to get assistance. Not even a parking station nearby. On top of this my phone would not connect to local network so I could not phone the hotel My ratings at level 3 were assumptions as I did not get to enter the building I gave up and found a Travelodge up the road...very helpful staff, quiet location AND LOTS OF ACCESSIBLE PARKING
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Old seafront hotel undergoing updating

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Pros: Staff
Cons: Not much without major works
Location: Good location
Roo was small but everything functioned. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. It will never be a top class hotel without some major works but it was clean and some redecoration had been going on. Overall satisfactory stay for the price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Sussex

Nice hotel facing the sea.

Posted Apr 3, 2017
I was a bit dubious booking this hotel as it seemed cheaper than other hotels. I only need a single room to sleep in as I was at a weekend event. I was pleasantly surprised. The room was compact but clean. The bathroom was newly decorated. The bed was comfortable. The staff were friendly and provided me with a takeaway breakfast as I has an early start. I would stay there again :-)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oakville, ON, Canada

Nice hotel with decent restaurant. Great location.

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Pros: The location is perfect for a stay in Brighton.
Cons: More parking space is needed. Even off site parking would be well received.
Location: It's right on the shoreline. Can't get much better.
Typical English hotel, so you know what to expect. I would stay again as the price point is well within what you get. Staff are very friendly and helpful.
3 out of 5
by Richard

Good Find

Posted Mar 25, 2017 on Hotels
Good easy check in offered upgrade. Basement room exactly that and for families; okay for for a one nite business trip. Food and bar prices pretty good. Staff attentive and efficient. Parking an issue. Would I stay again - yes.