Ratings based on 177 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bristol UK

Good Value - Great location

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Location: Great location on seafrront and easy walk to the main pier and the Lanes etc etc.
No frills hotel, but perfectly adequate. Ignore the bad reviews about lack of cleanliness etc. My single room was small but clean and modern. It wasn't the quietest of places as the plumbing was quite noisy, but it didn't really bother me. The car park was full when I arrived, but there is an underground car park nearby which was actually cheaper anyway, so no problems. Breakfast was included and pretty good. For the price I would say it's great value.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Worcestershire

Great location with lovely sea views

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: Great views and location.
Cons: not enough coffee in room (only enough for 1 each) having to do my own toast to go with my cooked breakfast.
Location: Hotel right on the sea front, 5 min walk to pier and the lanes. Plenty of eateries and pubs.
Very pleasant welcome to the hotel. Room was spacious with lovely sea views, and the large bed was very comfortable. The hotel on the whole could do with updating in areas, i believe they are working on some rooms to update as I had booked two rooms one was recently decorated with the smell of new carpet and the other looked a little tired with worn stained carpet so that one obviously on the waiting list. Although i would say the tired room was clean presentable and comfortable. The complementary teas coffees were very frugal, had one cup on arrival and found there wasn't enough for our morning cuppa in bed! The breakfast choice was good, but, i had a cooked breakfast and still had to get up and make my own toast which took quite a while as i had to wait for another resident to do theirs, by the time i had sat down for my breakfast it was cold, which was a shame. The staff were all friendly and overall if this is a nice hotel, I would come again but pack my own coffee!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from de ridder

Mooie ligging !!

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: Oud hotel , ligging aan zee , winkels op loopafstand , goed ontbijt
Cons: De eerste nacht een kamer in de kelder was vreselijk , klein bed , kleine kamer, wit geverfd raam , de 2e nacht een kamer met zijzeezicht was veel ruimer veel beter bed !
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient.

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Staff - service.
Cons: Could do with a general make over.
Location: Sea Front site.
Staff very helpful. Some of the hotel could use a makeover. For a 3 Star hotel - adequate.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Halifax

Posted Oct 15, 2016
We were accompanied on our break by our small dog. The staff explained where we were allowed to take our dog in the hotel. Other than our room we could take the dog into the bar including at breakfast time. The breakfast staff were very friendly and helped make our meals very pleasant. Only downside of taking our dog was the charge of £15 a day which was certainly not clear when booking and way over the top.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Staff excellent Very noisy , walls very thin!

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Location: Lovely window view at breakfast Location overlooking beach
Breakfast good Staff polite Rooms are dated and need redecorating No shower curtain so water went everywhere
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worse hotel.

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: One suggestion - will not stay again and not recommend it
Cons: Didn't turn on the heater. Hear the noice when the car bypass. Dirty toilet.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: 1. Das Hotel-Team-> sehr engagiert, freundlich und sehr hifbereit bei Fragen und sonstigen Anliegen 2. Das Hotel ist sehr sauber und ordentlich.
Cons: Das Zimmer war verwohnt (Nr. 311). Die Zimmergröße und das übergroße Bett sind bei Nr. 311 aber auf jeden Fall positiv hervorzuheben.
Location: Direkt an der Promenade in Brighton. 1A Lage. Zu Fuß sind jede Menge Unternehmungen möglich (z. B. Royal Pavilion, Brighton Pier, Shopping).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor, looking old and shabby

Posted Sep 30, 2016
I had a single room on 4th floor, my initial impression of the room was that it was shabby and worn. As per the photos attached you can see the carpet is very discoloured and appeared dirty, although it could be just very worn. The room had a pervading musty damp smell which was emanating from bathroom. As per photo, in room tv could not receive BBC channels in any wind or inclement weather only ITV channels Parts of floor in room and bathroom sagging and felt broken underfoot Poor plumbing meant insufficient water pressure in shower and hot tap had to be left spluttering for 2 or 3 mins before every use before you could get warm water to wash in etc. Shower does have a boost function to increase water flow but this simply renders the shower unusable due to poor water pressure. No soundproofing on room window so every outside noise and passing pedestrian could be clearly heard Every time anyone opened or closed room doors on 4th floor this could be clearly and loudly heard, door closers don't prevent doors from slamming and making very loud noise, often waking me up in the night. Shower tray in bathroom has obviously been broken in the past and improperly repaired (see photo) I did not enjoy the experience of staying at the Brighton Hotel and would not recommend it. However the breakfast selection is quite good and the staff appear helpful and friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Hotel as listed. View of ocean Breakfast was excellent. Parking was convenient. Overall experience was wonderful and enjoyable