Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Eastbourne

Good Hotel in the centre of Rye.

Posted Sep 11, 2015
Pros: Very well appointed room, and excellent location.
Cons: The tea tasted awful, it was stale. British people need a good brew of fresh tea e.g. Yorkshire Tea for Hard Water or PG Tips or Typhoo.
Location: Super location, with all shops and restaurants galleries and sightseeing within a short walk.
Our room was in the court yard and there are quite a few steps up and down through the hotel for my elderly husband, but we found a quick way out through the side gate which avoided a lot of the steps. We needed the beds to be separated into twins, no problem the staff were friendly and helpful. The room was quiet except for the heavy footsteps from the room above. The breakfast was generous and plenty of choice. I could not get a decent cup of tea either in the bedroom or at breakfast, it tasted old and stale. But on the whole we were very comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

George Rye 10/08/15

Posted Aug 12, 2015
We stayed for a night 10/08/15 was given room 2 but asked to swapped as really wanted a roll top bath, lady at reception was great swapped Us straight away for a lovely room (room 6). Also had dinner which was lovely good was good had a lovely atmosphere and really well priced. So happy with our stay here will 100% return and I recommend this as a must visit felt so welcome thanks The George :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 12, 2015
Lovely Hotel. I would highly recommend to anyone who needs a room in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Had another fantastic stay at The George, brilliant room (although some fellow guests in the room above were quite noisy), fab staff and service and delicious dinner and breakfast, We are sure to be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from west sussex

Lovely hotel with character & charm

Posted Jul 9, 2015
Pros: The attention to detail & quality of room
Cons: nothing, for me it was perfect & I am a real pain in the **** to please!!!
Location: great location
relaxed friendly staff, amazing room with the most comfy bed
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from surrey

Lovely stylish hotel situated in very pretty town

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Everything was lovely but slight niggle about kettle, nowhere really sensible to plug in and very short lead. Bathroom nearly 100%, just slightly worn with cracked basin. Not really complaining just pointing out! Otherwise very comfortable and pleasant stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from surrey

Friendly hotel well placed within town

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Pros: Attractive decor and helpful staff
Cons: See above
Location: Charming and quaint town with mostly independent shops.
Pity the refurb didn't include secondary glazing. Our room onto HighStreet was very noisy from 6 a.m. Onwards. Excellent breakfast. All staff friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kent

Relaxing break away

Posted Feb 14, 2015
Pros: Central position
Cons: The restuarant was disappointing menu and annoying bell for service at the kitchen
Location: Parking was a nightmare we had to move the car three times before eventually booking in at 3 not the most relaxing start to the day!!!
Lovely hotel thought the evening meal was "ok" menu and quality we have had better for the hotel standard. Also a little annoying feature the continuous bell ringing for service at the kitchen, I accept the waiters need to know when to serve however it was irritating and unnecessary shame!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hove, England

Lovely retreat in charming Rye

Posted Feb 12, 2015
Had a wonderful stay at The George in Rye. Took my other half away for a surprise evening, and was delighted with the service we received. The staff could not have been more attentive or helpful. We also dined in the restaurant that evening, and had a lovely meal. We were highly impressed with the seasonality and local produce on the menu. We stayed in a superior double room, which was gorgeous and the bed and sheets, heavenly. The only slight negatives, would be the lack of tissues in the room and that the bathroom fan was very loud. A highly enjoyable experience all round. Looking forward to a return visit!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lymington

General

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Plenty of charm & character and staff very efficient . Don't like service charge put on bar snacks, my pet hate. Our bedroom never got warm enough to be comfortable and the out side bedrooms are difficult to negotiate when icy underfoot. Food was good in the Restaurant but a little pricy and a dirty breakfast tray lay all day and all evening across from our bedroom when we arrived at 3 p/m/ till after we went up to our room at 10 p.m.