Ratings based on 145 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel

Posted May 28, 2017
Beautiful room(number 45) friendly staff and delicious good. A perfect spot to wander and go to the beach in Camber Sands. We had a great time thank you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from kent, uk

Great town centre location. Charming period hotel

Posted May 26, 2017
Pros: Location. Period property. Well maintained. Great staff.
Cons: Room was cramped with too much time snide leaving little room to move about, change etc.
Location: Centre of delightful historic town surrounded by beautiful coast and inland walking. Plenty to do and see particularly if your a keen walker
One night stay. Superior room (4) which although clean, nicely decorated, was very small and cramped. Perhaps the old saying "less is more" applies. However, the staff were lovely and attentive, the hotel was well maintained and right in the centre of Rye. Local parking was fine and we would certainly visit again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect

Posted May 24, 2017
The George in Rye is the perfect village hotel. The building is old and charming, the decoration is very tasteful , the attention to detail is present in everything regarding the room. (We had room 11). The bed was super comfortable, the linens were soft and the toiletries great. We had tea and it was delicious. Staff are very attentive . Breakfast in general is very good. Would recommend and would be happy to return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted May 23, 2017
Quirky and comfortable. In centre of town. Great food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Perfect location and very welcoming

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: Location, style, restaurant, locally sourced menu, bathroom products.
Location: Many of the shops and restaurants close on a Tuesday, which would be useful to know in advance. Also recommend The Standard Inn on The Mint.
My friend and I spent three very enjoyable nights at the George and we felt very looked after. We wanted good food, good wine and an easy base to explore the area, and we got all of that. Would certainly recommend this.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Stylish mix of modern and period features

Posted May 7, 2017
My favourite memory of the hotel has to be the stylish mix of clashing prints. each room has such an individual feel and a mix of period and contemporary features. The only thing that was missing was a roll top bath which would have made my visit a perfect ten out of ten.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Beautiful period property in town centre

Posted May 4, 2017
Stunning bedroom, clean, lots of extras in the room. This is our 3rd stay in The George and the staff have always gone out if their way to help and make sure our stay is the best. Food in the restaurant is always fantastic, waiting staff are lovely
5 out of 5
by Katie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Colin

No room at the Inn.

Posted Apr 19, 2017 on Hotels
After travelling for 3 hours and despite having a confirmation booking from HOTEL, COM the hotel had no record of our booking when we arrived. Eventually they found an out of commission small room with a broken lock which we could use for the first night which was a far cry from the "superior double room" which we had booked 2 months ago. However we were able to stay in our proper room the second night and after some discussion the hotel agreed not to charge us for the first night. So we parted on good terms. Very good food and superior double room was comfortable.
4 out of 5
by Mrs. Kerry

Weekend in Rye

Posted Apr 19, 2017 on Hotels
Got train from St. Pancras which is so good. Rye has a good combi of walking / other historic towns nearby ie Winchelsea/ Hastings new pier. Rye full of history and so unspoilt. Amazing.