Ratings based on 1,745 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming hotel, aging gracefully.

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Lovely 1 night stay at the Grand. We stayed during massive refurbishment to the outside, so covered in scaffolding (hence a good deal I guess) but didn't bother us really. Such a lovely old hotel. It's aging quite a lot now and get the impression the decor is getting expensive to keep up with, but if you don't need the mod cons and super contemporary bathroom etc, it's lovely and has everything you need. Standard Room was clean, lovely comfy bed. Air con etc. But very basic. But ok. Bar was very nice and restaurant very good. What struck me most was the staff - really friendly, helpful and cheerful staff, in all areas. From doorman, bar staff and restaurant to reception and room cleaning staff. Definitely recommend if you want a charming old hotel but don't need super contemporary surroundings.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: Classical
Cons: Fridge in room
a lot of work going on involving the front being covered in scaffoldig
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: The super, friendly staff and the great atmosphere.
Cons: The decor in our bedroom.
Location: Right on the beach, although was so misty couldn't see the sea. Shopping is great, lovely pubs and restaurants, Riddler&Finns seafood is a must.
Took a one night stay. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful, especially the bar area and dining room. Our room was quite small and tired looking, but hey you are only in there to sleep!! Excellent shower and plenty of hot water. Excellent breakfast. Location right on the beach and perfect for walking to everything.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, OH

Past it's prime

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Pros: The lobby was nice.
Cons: Needs a lot of updating, rooms are not very nice.
Location: site seeing, beach, Brighton pier, fishing village
I was expecting a lot more from this hotel. It was covered with scaffolding and when I arrived the computer was down. The staff was very efficient and helpful, but the Grand Hotel was not so grand. The room was outdated and needs much updating. There were parts of the hotel that were beautiful, but overall, it was disappointing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Potomac, Maryland

Extremely professional and enjoyable

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Pros: Loved the ambiance of this older hotel. Very British in feel. Great city location with a quiet room.
Location: Great "in the city: location. Easy to take the "hop on - hop off" bus to sightsee. The bus stops just steps from the hotel.
Our experience was terrific. Very helpful concierge staff. Very clean and comfortable room. We would highly recommend this hotel to any traveler.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Stayed there one night, it was good and close to the centre.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Pros: Location. Onsite valet parking. Very friendly staff. Very nice room and view. Internet was reliable with good speeds.
Excellent hotel right on the sea front and about a 10 min walk to the pier. Very nice room and fantastic view of the beach and sea.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Nice close to the beach and shops

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: Mentioned above
Cons: Mentioned above
Location: The location of the hotel is good. The beach is across the road. The Lanes are nearby.
I stay at the Grand whenever I visit Brighton. I love the spaciousness,the rooms and the staff are helpful. I do hope the hotel retains its character and the guest rooms remain as spacious as they are now. after the renovations. There isn't a fridge in the room to keep my bottled water chilled.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Spent most time in the bar, great cocktails especially NO Name Yet (that's what its called)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A great break!

Posted Feb 18, 2017
We booked for 2 nights. It cost quite a lot of money and we were really looking forward to it. When we arrived the room was tiny and really dissapointing. We went back down to reception and the staff were very helpful. They moved us to a much bigger room. It is a shame they didn't give us the bigger room to start with but we had a great stay and the staff were great.