Ratings based on 1,712 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Spent most time in the bar, great cocktails especially NO Name Yet (that's what its called)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A great break!

Posted Feb 18, 2017
We booked for 2 nights. It cost quite a lot of money and we were really looking forward to it. When we arrived the room was tiny and really dissapointing. We went back down to reception and the staff were very helpful. They moved us to a much bigger room. It is a shame they didn't give us the bigger room to start with but we had a great stay and the staff were great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PE34 4RS

Two day break with my teenage daughter.

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Had a lovely relaxing time in the hotel. Close to shops, Pier and other attractions. Easy walk from railway station. Hotel undergoing refurbishment but this had no impact on our stay. We will definitely be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norfolk

Lovely hotel and an excellent deal with Expedia.

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: Although quite "grand" it felt friendly and comfortable.
Cons: Once the renovations to the exterior have been completed it will be much better.
Location: On the seafront. Within easy walking distance of shops, restaurants, cafes and sights.
A beautiful hotel in easy walking distance of shops, sights etc. The rooms were comfortable, a good size and to a high spec. The staff were helpful. Great breakfast. Only downside was scaffolding around the hotel which meant curtains had to remain closed, but not a big problem as only stayed one night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Faded glory - expensive but not value.

Posted Feb 13, 2017
They have gone out of their way to not deliver on the small touches that make the difference.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Great balcony view from the suites, and the cocktails from the main bar were made to perfection. Recommend upgrading to the suite rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent 5 star service

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Best hotel staff team ever. What a nice experience to have stayed at The Grand. This is a real 5 star hotel. Will definitely be back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Lovely short break

Posted Feb 7, 2017
I recently took my partner for a short break at the Grand Hotel for his birthday. Overall the stay was fantastic, really friendly staff; in particular the lovely gentleman who greeted us at our car and explained about the parking options & greeted us outside each day with a warm hello. Our only disappointment was failing to receive the room service birthday breakfast we ordered: reception staff said they would 'look into it' but we have heard nothing since. Without this disappointment we would have had the perfect stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire UK

Seafront hotel

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Cons: The hotel is in the process of being revamped.
Location: Excellent beachfront location. Very close to all shops and restaurants.
The Grand is currently undergoing a major refurbishment. It still has a very opulent interior and bar area. The staff are extremely courteous and efficient. Once the revamp has been completed the Grand Hotel will be the stand out building along the seafront. The rooms are comfortable and clean with all the necessary utilities provided. Brighton seafront is having a 1 billion pound makeover, including things like an outdoor swimming pool, Zip wire and a completely new promenade. I am looking forward to returning once all the works are carried out. Overall, an excellent hotel experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The Grand Overnight stay

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Ours was an inexpensive room and because of that we didn't expect the lap of luxury but as ever where things fall down are in the detail: bathroom cleanliness; scalding hot water; nowhere to put your towel; not enough plugs for chargers and kettle etc. The bed wasn't great. There was scaffolding right outside the window which took away every bit of daylight and although this wasn't a big issue for us only being there one night, it would have been nice to know in advance that the hotel was undergoing refurbishment. It is a large hotel and when all guests descend for breakfast at the same time, standards suffer. None of these things on their own are a big issue but I suppose you should be able to expect more from a 5 star hotel. However the overriding thing is that every member of staff without exception was a pleasure to deal with and that makes up for a lot. They have achieved a very natural and easy service culture which is very hard to do consistently and they should all be recognised for that.