Ratings based on 250 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel next to the beach.

Posted Aug 12, 2016
This hotel is certainly 'grand' and with its many seating areas, maintains true Victorian style. Good location at the quiet end of the sea view road. Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms clean & comfortable with all the facilities; tea, coffee, TV and modern bathroom. The Garden Restaurant had ambience and the food was varied and flavoursome; however, service in the evening was at times, slow. The indoor pool is small and too warm for my liking, but outdoor pool lovely. Treatments are available but need to book on arrival to ensure a slot. I would recommend this hotel for those who want to relax; not really suitable for children.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Views but awful internet

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Do stay if you need to do work. You have to go to Libby for successful Internet. It's not five stars more like 3.5. I'm sure it was grand at some point in its history
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ロンドン

格式高いけどキッズフレンドリーで素敵

Posted Aug 4, 2016
格式高いけど 子供連れ家族への配慮が抜群です。宿泊中はプレイルームにシッターさんがいてアクティビティーがあり無料で預けられる事。とにかく優しいお姉さん達なので娘は大喜びで参加!プレイルームではお友達もできて楽しんでました。親も嬉しく子供も嬉しくダブルでハッピー!残念ながら有名なスパは(有名すぎて)宿泊してからの予約はすべて埋まってた〜涙 そして娘の食物アレルギー食を完璧に対応してくださった事。これは本当に大きい❣️旅行に行っても娘は毎回レトルトや簡単なものを簡単に調理したものしか食べられないけど今回は全てホテルが対応して下さいました。卵乳小麦不使用のパン、私食べたけど普通のパンと違いがわからないくらい普通に美味しくてびっくり! 朝食はもちろん、ディナータイムはファミリーダイニングというのがあり親がコースを頼むとキッズは無料(基本キッズはキッズブッフェ)なのだけど、アレルギー対応の料理も全て無料で対応。デザートに至っては『バニラアイスとベリーアイス入りのサンデー』をアレルギー対応で作ってもらい娘は大満足! 屋内外のプールでも沢山遊んでとにかくあっという間に過ぎました!このホテルもっと早くに知っておきたかったです
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

disappointing stay

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: the staff and the lounge common rooms. we could park the car.
Cons: the rooms need to be improved (old carpets, more toiletries) or price definitely lowered!
I booked one night at the Grand as a present for my boyfriend's birthday. Unfortunately our stay was rather disappointing. For the money paid, I seriously expected much better facilities and overall experience: - room with partial sea view (more expensive) > we could barely see the sea from our window - the cot bed for 20-month baby > the travel cot bed was very small (easy to be pushed down) and there was no mattress (but only a very thin mat which 'sank' at the top/bottom sides) - the mattress was very soft (probably old) and we didn't really sleep well. The carpet smelled (not sure if they could improve with some air freshener) - the breakfast was well-prepared apart from the scrambled eggs which unfortunately smelled of fish I had great expectations but I can't recommend it now. Shame.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from battle

Comfortable hotel,excellent staff,nice outdoorpool

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Good leisure facilities,excellent staff.Delicious breakfast with lots choice.
Location: Eastbourne sea front is delightful. Good walking Beachy Head,Birling Gap and East Dene.
A most enjoyable weekend with my mum. Staff made us feel very welcome. Nice quiet room and walk in shower made it very easyl for my mum.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maidstone

Fantastic

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Everything worked so well from arrival to departure. The room and facilities were amazing. I couldn't have asked for more.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel not living up to it's reputation

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Pros: Not a huge amount.
Cons: The service.
Sadly the hotel staff do not live up the reputation (and cost of the rooms!) of this hotel. The service was slow and disappointing. Our room was not ready when we arrived, and the complimentary tea or coffee we were offered while we waited had still not come after 20 minutes. The vegetarian sausages we asked for for breakfast took over 30 minutes to arrive, despite being told by several people that they were nearly ready, or just 2 minutes away. I expect that a hotel like this, which is by far the most expensive in Eastbourne, should have extremely good service, and unfortunately it's not even average. Very disappointing.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel with excellent staff

Posted Jun 18, 2016
Pros: Staff friendliness, facilities. location, cleanliness
Cons: The mattress on the bed was quite soft so woke each other every time we turned.
Lovely hotel with excellent staff service from arrival to departure. Nothing was too much trouble. Lovely quite hotel with excellent facilities
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Worthing, West Sussex

Magnificent hotel in prime location

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Pros: The staff, the food, the decor.
Cons: We think the hotel has an ongoing programme to update the rooms and the facade, and this should continue, as it is beginning to look a bit jaded.
Location: There are lots of restaurants of all types nearby and two theatres. As it is on the seafont, there are pleasant walks and a pier.
We stayed at the Grand for two nights to celebrate our Ruby Wedding Anniversary. We asked for a quiet room, but I got hardly any sleep on the first night because of the noise of an air-con unit outside the window. On complaining, we were moved to another at the back of the hotel, which was newly refurbished, slightly bigger and very quiet. On say this though, the hotel is very imposing and in a very good location on the sea front. The staff were wonderful, pandering to your every need, and the foot was superb.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Posted Jun 6, 2016
Had a great stay, But we were surprised how small The room was was expecting a little more at over £200 per night. We ate out for dinner but the breakfast was excellent and staff were very nice.