Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Eastbourne Bandstand weekend

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Small hotel in a very pleasant area. Quiet. Good sized rooms and comfortable. Great choices for breakfast and freshly cooked. Staff very friendly. Would stay again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 12, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely stay at the Mowbray overall. lovely room,nice view. Fantastic breakfast selection!! We stayed in the superior quad room. Downfall was the room was far too hot at night to sleep, even with heater turned right down. Had to sleep on top of the covers with windows wide open which meant i could hear the noise from the street, this was still too hot! The bathroom suit was lovely however not very practical as when you turn the shower on it sprays everywhere which soaked all our dry towels from across the room. careful which setting its on, great power shower tho! I would suggest that the name of the room is changed to a 'superior double' and highlight it can be a quad room stating clearly the second bed is a sofa bed. I would not say its a 'superior' quadruple room. Great value for money overall!
5 out of 5
by lynda from harleston

Posted Apr 7, 2016 on Hotels
staff venry helpful. great breakfast. comfortable beds.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The owners made us feel very welcome. food good

Posted Mar 10, 2016
Pros: what else could we say it was so very comfortable
Cons: nothing
Location: Only trouble the threatres were closed
The hotel very clean and tidy,and staff were also helpful ,nothing to much trouble ,only negitive side was the stairs to the dining room , and front door steps ,as my wife find them very difficult ,as this is the problem with most hotels and guest houses in eastbourne .But overall whe enjoyed our stay and would recommend the Mowbray to our many friends.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 15, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by lan from Luton.

Weekend break.

Posted Nov 17, 2015 on Hotels
The breakfast was the best thing about the b/b.Room was to small,for two people,+ the tv had some freeview channels.but not bbc1,or2.So I couldn't see the football,the big tv downstairs was not working.
4 out of 5
by Carole

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 28, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London UK

Very Pleasant Guesthouse.

Posted Oct 3, 2015
Cons: Being able to open the huge Victorian sash windows - but this is not a criticism - I just prefer to have fresh air 24/7!
Stayed in this lovely, friendly family run Guesthouse on two nights bed and breakfast basis. I was very impressed. The breakfast menu is outstanding, there were pastries, fresh juices, raspberries, melon, blackberries, nuts, strawberries and more on offer every day as well as cooked food. The room was a good size with high ceilings, clean and comfortable with tasteful décor. There's a lift which I was glad of as stairs are challenging in many Victorian/Edwardian & listed period hotels in the UK. All the staff were helpful and friendly without asking personal questions which can be an annoyance (sometimes) when using smaller guesthouses. There was a pleasant ambience to the place which was very refreshing.I am quite happy to stay there again....booking directly with the hotel itself.
4 out of 5
by Britt from Hillerød

Nice and friendly

Posted Sep 3, 2015 on Hotels
Nice B&B with great breakfast. Shower slow, so start 5 min early. Had two bookings for 1 and 6 nights as I could not change the original booking with Hotels.Com but had to make a new. Takes 4 min. to walk to the bandstand and 30 sec. to the promenade. The next street has some nice restaurants.
4 out of 5
by Britt from Hillerød

Nice hotel, very good breakfast

Posted Aug 25, 2015 on Hotels
Single traveler, nice room for a change. Good bed and a choice of pillows - very nice. Excellent breakfast with various choices. Music played classic or old time in stead of pop :-) Only thing slightly negative was the very slow water pressure in the shower - if you have long hair, start 5 minutes early.