Ratings based on 621 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nottingham

Superb customer service

Posted Aug 24, 2015
The whole experience has restored my faith in the British hospitality industry. Every staff member we dealt with was extremely efficient, helpful and polite and made our stay very enjoyable. I would definitely return! My only complaint would be the lift which was very small and could have been cleaner.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

False Advertised as a SUPERIOR room

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Over a year ago I went the The Old Ship with my family. We had a standard room for 4 nights which after 1 night we asked to be moved due to noise and disruption outside of our room. This was rectified quickly and we were moved into central rooms that were Superior too what we had slept in before. (it felt like we were in a different hotel) I booked a night in a superior room for me and my boyfriend as I was so impressed with the Superior room before. On Expedia, the photos matching the Superior Room details were the same as I have stayed in before, therefore with a great price it was booked and we were extremely excited for this room. When we got there we were told our room number and all was going smoothly. As we got to the room it was completely different to the photos, it was a standard room with a king bed (which was 2 beds put together) I went back down to the reception and showed them my confirmation, I asked if the room was right as I had expected a superior room which it was not. The woman at the desk told me that the room was exactly what I had booked and the Hotel call it a 'King Room' and a 'Superior Room' is a different language used by Expedia. Needless to say we were dissapointed by this especially knowing that there are good rooms in the hotel, this was not what I expected nor paid for. The room was incredibly tired and had no TLC shown to it what so ever. We shall not be staying here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lobdon

Great location

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Ask for a room not affected buy drunks or seagulls outside
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Harlow

Facing the beach.

Posted Aug 15, 2015
Wifi is poor. Sometimes work sometime won't. Starting to look dated. Needs some decorating. Overall rooms are comfortable. Spend some money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Harpenden

Great hotel.

Posted Aug 13, 2015
Pros: Great staff and good location.
Cons: Bathroom was a bit tired but the towels were soft and fluffy!
Very friendly and helpful staff. Nice room (noisy at night but very good sound-proof double glazing). Right on the sea front and great for walking to the Lanes, the wheel, pier and Pavillion. Comfortable beds and pleasant decor. 10 min walk from the station.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 12, 2015
Excellent location, midfle of the action with the lanes behind. Friendly helpful staff. Room fine, value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Pros: freindly staff good sea view from our room on 2nd floor
Cons: bit tired
Location: well placed for all that brighton has to offer
well placed with sea views and close to promanade exelent staff at receiption made our room ready before time clean room nice view
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Great location

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Disabled toilets could be cleaned more often
Location: Across the road from the beach and 2 minutes walk from the pier. Only about 10 minutes walk up hill to Churchill Square and all the shops.
Only stayed for one night on B&B. Very comfortable and breakfast well worth the money.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dundee

Tired, well located traditional seaside hotel

Posted Aug 7, 2015
Pros: Staff and location
Cons: Very tired fabric needs total refurb. Carpets sticky and threadbare. Breakfast buffet very dreary and cooked food was very overcooked!
Location: Outstanding location - close to everywhere: the Pier, the Lanes, the seafront prom.
We booked a family short break at the hotel to see trendy Brighton. Chose the hotel as it sounded charming and traditional and very well located. Parking staff set tone for some great service from a cheerful and positive staff. Hotel fabric is utterly exhausted and clearly invests no capital in keeping it more than merely habitable. This is an hotel which clearly feels like it does not have to try too hard by keeping the décor up to standard or carpets fresh. Bedroom was exhausted but a great view. It is a noisy hotel though as the setting is urban and roadside so don't expect it to be a quiet night. Breakfast buffet was dire and the food overcooked on the hot plates: rubbery eggs, leathery bacon and desiccated mushrooms! It was full of traditional elderly British tourists which explained why so many standards were barely acceptable - the Brits will put up with a lot if the staff are cheery and kind, which they ALL were. It was as it was and no more.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 6, 2015
Pros: Proximity. It was useful to be able to park ones car within the hotel.
Cons: It would be helpful to be able to book one's car into the garage beforehand.
Location: Beachfront location.
A pleasant hotel, with pleasant and helpful staff.