Ratings based on 781 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St Albans

This Ship is sinking

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Pros: Only thing to like is it is dog friendly. Maybe it should become a kennel.
Cons: Everything
Location: Location is brilliant
Stayed 2 days last weekend. Have used the Ship for a number of years and wont anymore. Had a Deluxe Sea view so who knows how bad other rooms are. 1/ Needs complete redecorating and cleaning everywhere. 2/ Room was very dirty. Even last occupants cloths left on the radiator. 3/ My Wife's Birthday Sunday 24 Jan. Expensive restaurant booked for 8:00. She wanted to get ready at 6:30 and NO HOT WATER. Told by Konal that as it was a Sunday nobody could help. Told my wife could not use another room. Told that "I WAS LUCKY" as an engineer just popped in and said the boiler serving our part of the hotel had broken down and he restarted it. 4/ Monday morning first thing FIRE ALARM. Some guests evacuated to the street. Nobody seemed to be in charge. Staff said some fire doors wouldn't even open. Fire engine arrived and then left. We were let in after 15 minutes standing in the cold with ABSOLUTLEY NO EXPLANATION. The Old ship is on the rocks and going down fast. Do yourselves a favour and avoid it .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reading

Central hotel on seafront

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Pros: Location, comfortable and room was fine. Valet parking option was good.
Cons: The bar wasn't great, waited to be served a couple of times
Location: Central to everything in Brighton
Only there one night but decent comfortable hotel at a reasonable price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Lovely hotel, brilliant staff

Posted Jan 24, 2016
The hotel is in a great location on the seafront, close to a lot of local pubs and places to eat. The room we had was very comfortable and had a great ensuite bathroom. Looking forward to coming back here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Herts

Good seafront hotel

Posted Jan 6, 2016
We had a very pleasant visit to the Old Ship on New Year's Eve, nice lounges, comfortable bed although the room was could have done with a face lift. Lovely breakfast. Look forward to going again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kent

Lovely hotel and great staff

Posted Jan 6, 2016
Fantastic hotel which whilst not modem has a real oldly worldly feel to it with a lot of charm. The staff are wonderful and very helpful and could not fault them. My only criticism is that we stayed over New Year and booked their family package New Years meal as that was all that was left. It wasn't cheap at £49 a head but the good was not very good. The starter was the only thing that was worthy of the money being charged. It would not stop me going again though.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Essex

Hotel very dated and tired looking

Posted Dec 31, 2015
We paid extra for a superior room which happened to be right above the delivery entrance for the hotel opposite- so was awaken by the first delivery at 6:10 am!!! And they continued thereafter until 9:30 ish - upon going to breakfast I tried to report my dissatisfaction and was asked to come back after breakfast which I did and was asked to come back when I checked out, which I did and was then told the duty manger would be available in 10-15 minutes at which point I left the hotel ... There no control of the heating in the room which was on full blast so the window had to be open ...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from berkshire

Short stay in Brighton, thank God!

Posted Dec 17, 2015
Hotel main reception and bar area is fine, breakfast was lovely. Staff were great, that's where it stops though! Worst hotel room ive ever had! Room next to stairwell so constant noise from the door opening and closing. Stairs up to the rooms smell like a urinal. Room 230 was shockingly small, ridiculously old fashioned furniture and badly in need of a refurb! Defo not a 4 star hotel!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not the most modern hotel, its old and fabulous.

Posted Nov 25, 2015
Not the most modern hotel, its old and fabulous, creaky flrs and noisy lifts, but my bathroom had a hot modern shower over a cast iron bath. the rooms are large well the one i had, nice man at the reception, saw i was in a twin travelling on my own and reroomed me to this large room comfortable, oh i for the seagulls in brighton , love for hate them there there,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wiltshire, UK

Reasonable price for Brighton but hotel tired

Posted Nov 18, 2015
Pros: Nice staff and very well placed
Cons: Sound proofing. General decoration
Location: On seafront. Right next to The Lanes
No complaints but the hotel could do with a makeover. Staff very nice. Room clean and bed comfortable but sound proofing between rooms non existent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Craig from london

most disappointing was price of parking

Posted Nov 13, 2015 on Hotels
nice hotel,staff friendly & efficient