Ratings based on 996 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Friendly staff Good location

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: The staff were some of the most friendly and efficient that I have come across. It gave an excellent first impression.
Cons: The room was unbearably hot with no effective way of reducing the temperature other than having windows open which made noise levels extremely high.
Location: Good seafront location close to all local attractions.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West sussex

Most enjoyable stay

Posted Oct 13, 2016
I couldn't fault this hotel on arrival which was early in the morning i was checked in straight away and also offered an upgrade which i took and my seaview room was lovely and very clean. Staff were also very helpful and very friendly. Definately going back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: 古さの中に、伝統と格式を感じた点です。
Cons: バリアフリーという点ではずいぶん遅れています。エレベータも狭く、車いすでの移動には難があります。上階、隣の部屋の床音が、気になる人には、耳障りでしょうか。小生には気にはなりませんでしたが。
Location: 目の前がKings Roadで、道路を渡ると海岸。Brighton Pierまでは徒歩5分。Heathrow空港からの直行バスの終点Polly valleyのBus Station、Roval pavilion、Churchill Square SCまで徒歩5分。周辺に感じの良いレストラン多数。
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from HK

Nice hotel close to the beach.

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Customer service was excellent, bed was comfortable and nice breakfast. However, the shower's pressure was unacceptable, just like drizzle. The noise from the street always wake you up at 3:00am since some bars around. Overall, you may consider this hotel if the price is still reasonable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from manchester

Easy to reach from train station and on seafront

Posted Oct 3, 2016
20 min stroll from train station Initial impression good,but room had mould on skirting board from damp problem.Sink cracked.Appreciate this is an old hotel, and we had a cheaper non seafront room, but this was disappointing as no effort had been made to mask it. 300 yards from Sticky Mikes, close to pier
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel almost on the beach

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Great place to stay was almost on the beach. Loved the seating area at the front of the hotel. Staff very helpful. Great breakfast. The beds were the comfiest. We had a great stay. Would defiantly stay again. Downfall parking £25 a day.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel in a really great location.

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: The room.
We loved our experience of this hotel overall. We stayed in a superior King room which was spacious and really comfortable. The only down side was that on the second night of our stay our room was not cleaned for some reason so we did have to request towels and toilet roll. However it wasn't a big deal. Also during our first night the fire alarm went off meaning that we were all evacuated at 1:30am. again not a massive problem as this can't be helped, but it would have been nice to have some sort of apology or something. Overall really loved our stay here and the location cannot be beaten.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Best staff ever.

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Lovely hotel, great food, nice rooms and the staff couldn't be any friendlier. Only drawback is the noise from outside but this is because of the sea front location.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent location on sea front

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: Lovely old, historic building. That said, there was some tatty bedroom furniture & Sir Winston Churchill's arm chair needs to be renovated urgently!
Cons: Provide coffee capsules & coffee machine. Allow guests to pre-book parking or make alternative arrangements for alternative guaranteed parking.
Location: Great location, short walking distance for shopping & sightseeing and several excellent restaurants nearby.
We booked a sea view room which had great views of the beach and pier. Bed was very comfortable and room was large with plenty of hanging and storage space, particularly handy as we got rain soaked more than once and needed to drip dry our wet weather gear! Large bathroom likewise! Reception and bar area were very comfortable. Staff were very friendly and helpful, especially the breakfast staff. At night we were kept awake by groups congregating in the shelters across the street. The hotel supplies earplugs! The biggest issue was the parking. After finding the hotel it was not obvious how to access it by car. We had to pull up on double yellow lines down a side road to unload and negotiate a parking space. We were lucky that the hotel did have space when we arrived and the valet parking was appreciated! Parking is an acknowledged problem and it would be great if the hotel could be more proactive in helping arrange a solution!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Nice Hotel Location

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Pros: Staff and location. The breakfast was very good as well. The wi-fi was great!
Cons: Room hallways and the rooms themselves
Location: It is at the beach front and in prime position
The hotel is good. Check in was quick. The reception and all downstairs decor is in good condition, however, the rooms and room hallways are outdated. The lift is very small and outdated. The doors are stiff and difficult to open in the room hallways. The parking was full which i was willing to pay. The car park opposite with the same rate was also full. I had to wait in a Que for 45 minutes to get in since we had to wait for cars to come out to make spaces available.