Ratings based on 1,125 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

In agood position for town and bar s and restauran

Posted Jul 19, 2017
We always enjoy the hotel and love the the area and brighton itself
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Faded grandeur.

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: Dinner. Wifi. Location. Staff.
Cons: Update furniture. Provide bottled water.
Location: It's Brighton!
Room overlooking central well - kitchen extractors etc. Room spotless, shabby but functional. Excellent wifi. Limited TV channels. Tea and coffee in room but bring own drinking water. Lovely cookies at reception on arrival! Staff very friendly and helpful. Special commendation for lovely waitress in dining room who made me feel very welcome and cared for. Food excellent at dinner. Breakfast average. You can order fresh eggs but didn't see that Til I'd picked up from buffet. I was here for work and it was fine but I'd demand a better room for leisure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Lovely hotel with a huge amount of history. Its like a rabbits warren, lots of hidden places.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2017 by Old Ship Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Yamsim Thank you for your lovely score. It's very important for us to know our guest's opinion and share the experience. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel once again. Kind regards, Miriam, Guest Relations
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Herts

Lovely character hotel.

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: Staff.
Cons: It's a very old hotel so has a few quirks but that, in our opinion, adds to the charm of the place and wouldn't stop us returning.
Location: Perfect location for the beach and local bars and restaurants.
we found this to be a lovely hotel with plenty of character. The beachfront position is ideal for local attractions,bars,restaurants etc. Staff were friendly and attentive to our needs, they were very knowledgeable and made us feel at home in their hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Old Ship Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Rob, We are delighted, that you found and enjoyed the charm of the building. We would love to welcome you back to the hotel once again. Kind regards, Miriam, Guest Relations
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Noise

Posted Jun 28, 2017
We payed extra for sea front views but the noise was bad with traffic and people through the night even on a Monday
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017 by Old Ship Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear reviewer, I am sorry to learn, that your sleep was disturbed on this occasion. But we strongly hope, that you reported it to our Reception, so we could assist you and make your stay more pleasant. Kind regards, Miriam, Guest Relations
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leicestsrshire

Exceeded expectations.

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: Public areas were well appointed with plenty of space for us to spend time together as a family without feeling confined or 'overheard' by other guest
Cons: I'm sure that like many hotels, there areas which are part of an on-going programme of refurbishment and improvement.
Location: There is so much to do in Brighton, but for those who just enjoy "people watching" The Old Ships's location on the seafront is absolutely perfect!
Travelling to Brighton for my son's Fine Art Degree Show, we were looking to find a hotel close to the centre and the University building on Grand Parade. Comparing prices with other hotels, the Old Ship seemed reasonable and within our budget. Online booking was straightforward and details regarding our itinerary were comprehensive and easy to follow. Like almost every hotel we looked at, the customer reviews varied enormously, so we had some misgivings as well as expectations of hopefully enjoying our stay. I am happy to say that The Old Ship Hotel exceeded our expectations in every respect. The room was quiet, clean and well appointed. Staff were courteous, good humoured and made myself, my wife, son and daughter feel welcome throughout our stay. The location on Brighton's seafront, combined with beautiful weather was a real bonus.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 22, 2017 by Old Ship Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Ian, thank you so much for this AMAZING review. We are delighted, that you had a lovely stay with us, and that you would return. Kind regards, Miriam, Guest Relations
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A good choice!!

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff but respectful of privacy. Hotel bar.
Cons: Décor- a little.
Location: Within easy walking of just about everywhere- perfect.
This Hotel certainly suited our needs. We booked for two nights and were blessed with terrific weather which meant we could take advantage of the lovely hotel seats on the front on the hotel. Location is superb and again a real buzz. We booked for breakfast and I thought it was great- staff really friendly, comfy bed, quiet. Will book again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2017 by Old Ship , Hotel Management
Dear reviewer, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are very pleased, that you had such a lovely time with us. Hope to welcome you back to Brighton once again. Kind regards, Miriam, Guest relations
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Traditional hotel

Posted May 7, 2017
Pros: Location, clean rooms, price, relaxed atmosphere, great breakfast options and friendly staff
Cons: Maybe better sound-proofing to front room windows, as there is noise from club goers until the early hours, but didn’t disturb me from sleeping.
Location: Sea views available for extra payment, close to the centre of Brighton and of course the sea front.
Good value, sea-front location, staff were very professional and helpful. Plenty of space to sit around in the reception areas and outside.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by Old Ship HOtel, Hotel Management
Dear Chester, Thank you for your high score. We work hard, and it's nice to see our work being appreciated. Hope to welcome you back to Brighton soon. Kind regards, Miriam, Guest Relations
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from essex

Nice hotel close to beach.

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: Close to beach.
Cons: Decor new carpet.
Close to Brighton pier and near the beach close to shops and restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 14, 2017 by Old Ship, Hotel Management
Dear Lol, It was great to learn, that you found position of the hotel convenient and easily walkable to all Brighton's attraction. Hope to welcome you back to Brighton once again. Kind regards, Miriam, Guest Relations
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 2, 2017
Noisy most off the night from doors banging beds not remade no milk or tea replaced. Bathroom tiles broken and chipped and singer in the bar was dreadful heard better karaoke