Ratings based on 944 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to beach and the lanes

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: Near beach
Cons: It is too antiquated
Poor overall. Disappointing service. Old fashioned
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent location, room recently updated

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Staff excellent but a bit noisy (banging doors in corridors, creaky floorboard etc)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stoke on Trent

Lovely central hotel opposite the Pier

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: The view - would recommend booking a sea view room
Cons: n/a
Location: Next to the Lanes and 1 minute walk from the beach, very central
Lovely hotel, we booked a sea view room and the view was magnificent. staff very friendly and bed very comfy, would recommend!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Absolutely fine and getting better

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Old hotel on seafront, some parts appear to have been recently renovated and there seem to be plans to do further works in the next low-season. Rooms comfortable and staff helpful. Car parking £25, which is steep enough but is pretty standard for Brighton. I didn't eat at the hotel so can't comment on the food, but the coffee was as good as anywhere else. A slight niggle is that the curtains were not that great at cutting out light, but this was outweighed by low noise even in a seafront room on a party night. Overall good and getting better still.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Anything was very good. But only the check out was too early at 11. Wanna sleep a bit more.also the price booked was in gay pride a bit expensive.the facility was great. The people work there was very polite..love the hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from dorset

Traditional hotel very central.

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Pros: Position
Cons: Wash the upstairs Windows!!
Location: Shopping theatre beach promenade.
Fabulous place to stay. Short walk to beach, shops, theatre, pavilion etc. Room was lovely positioned at the side we could see the sea. Fan provided kept the room cool. Breakfast was a highlight with lovely staff. Parking was very easy right under the hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northwood

Birthday stay at the old ship

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Just spent 4 nights at the ship hotel. Very handy for the lanes and being opposite the beach is lovely. Very disappointed at check in as no upgrade to sea view room. We got there at 1pm and I asked if we could check in early but was told it costs £40 !!! We just stored our luggage and went for a walk. Very happy to find a chocolate muffin in my room with happy birthday iced on it a nice touch. Room small and horrible view onto air conditioning units. Bed comfy and nice tv. Very hot in room so rang reception and they supplied a fan straight away. Bathroom needs updating, old fashioned but clean. On last morning asked if we could keep room longer as our train wasn't until 3pm and my partner wasn't feeling too well but again to keep the room until 1pm costs £40 which I think is extortionate. Have stayed in Brighton lots of times and all the hotels have been happy to let us have the room for a couple of hours free. Summing up, nice hotel booked for a special big birthday but would definitely book a sea view room and customer service leaves a lot to be desired. Brighton is a fantastic place and look forward to our next trip there.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: location near seaside but living no sea view
Cons: water trap should be old model. Should be changed all.
Room is old and not attractive....old. Should be renewed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK hotell på strandpromenaden

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: Sentrumsnært, rent , bra frokost
OK hotell som har passert sine beste dager. Veldig mye støy fra tilstøtende barer i gatene. Veldig lav bemanning som fører til kaos. 5min å få bestilt i baren når du står der alene. De måtte klargjøre ting og tang. Køen bare økte. Trodde dette området av England hadde mer klasse
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy corridor, mediocre bed and pathetic shower

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Noisy corridor: fire doors slamming. Mediocre bed: uncomfortable and room too stuffy. Pathetic shower: not the morning shower I'd like to enjoy.