Ratings based on 1,027 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: fantastic location
Lovely overnight stay. Best sea view i have had in any stay in Brighton
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Sussex

Quirky Seafront Hotel

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Pros: Quirky nature, good rooms and large open areas.
Cons: Some of the carpets are looking past their best..
Location: On Brighton seafront, in the City Centre, so everything is in walking distance. This includes the beach, Brighton Pier, Royal Pavilion, and the shops.
This is the second time my wife and I have stayed at this hotel. The nightly rate was excellent in comparison to other local hotels. Now I have stayed here before and appreciate that this is an old building and as such I love the quirky nature of the floors, and numerous small staircases. The ground floor of the hotel is large and open with comfy lounges a bar and a large dining area. The check in was quick and painless, the receptionist being very smiley and friendly. The Superior double room we stayed in, is of a good size with a large comfortable bed and all the facilities you will need. It was in a good condition and very clean. The bathroom was again very clean with plenty of towels available. The shower was adequate, not very powerful, but i have no complaints. Breakfast the following morning was excellent. There was a large selection of pastries, cereals, fruits, breads and a hot buffet. I would very happily book to stay in this old quirky hotel every time I go to Brighton.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chatham, kent

Disappointing Brighton experience

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Location: The location was excellent for the Brighton Centre and lovely sea walks.
Hotel in need of desperate upgrading. Room was unclean sheets did not fit bed, torn sheet on bed. Cigarette butts and rubbish outside sea view window. The breakfast was disappointing on choice and hot self service was Luke warm and rubbery.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: staff friendly and helpful
Cons: 2 sleepless nights
This hotel was ok but be warned if you ask for a sea view there is a nightclub that is open to 5am directly on the other side of the road on the sea front which you can hear quite clearly as the rooms are not sound proof enough
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Friendly staff Good location

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: The staff were some of the most friendly and efficient that I have come across. It gave an excellent first impression.
Cons: The room was unbearably hot with no effective way of reducing the temperature other than having windows open which made noise levels extremely high.
Location: Good seafront location close to all local attractions.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West sussex

Most enjoyable stay

Posted Oct 13, 2016
I couldn't fault this hotel on arrival which was early in the morning i was checked in straight away and also offered an upgrade which i took and my seaview room was lovely and very clean. Staff were also very helpful and very friendly. Definately going back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

利便性がよく、格式と歴史を感じさせるホテル

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: 古さの中に、伝統と格式を感じた点です。
Cons: バリアフリーという点ではずいぶん遅れています。エレベータも狭く、車いすでの移動には難があります。上階、隣の部屋の床音が、気になる人には、耳障りでしょうか。小生には気にはなりませんでしたが。
Location: 目の前がKings Roadで、道路を渡ると海岸。Brighton Pierまでは徒歩5分。Heathrow空港からの直行バスの終点Polly valleyのBus Station、Roval pavilion、Churchill Square SCまで徒歩5分。周辺に感じの良いレストラン多数。
1650年に建てられた木造の古いホテルで、木造独特の床のガタピシやエレベータなど古さを感じましたが、フロント、ルームメイドなどサービス全般は良く、大変快適に5泊して参りました。学会指定の別のやや上級のホテルでは、暖房設備の入力がマニュアルだったようで、寒い夜を過ごしたという不満も聞こえましたが、季節の変わり目の暖房もきちんと入っておりました。朝食も、典型的なイングリッシュブレックファストで申し分なしでした。レストランの相談、郊外へのバスについての相談にも、きちんと対応していただき、大変良かったと思っております。初めてのBrightonでしたが、機会があればまた泊まりたいホテルです。
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from HK

Nice hotel close to the beach.

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Customer service was excellent, bed was comfortable and nice breakfast. However, the shower's pressure was unacceptable, just like drizzle. The noise from the street always wake you up at 3:00am since some bars around. Overall, you may consider this hotel if the price is still reasonable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from manchester

Easy to reach from train station and on seafront

Posted Oct 3, 2016
20 min stroll from train station Initial impression good,but room had mould on skirting board from damp problem.Sink cracked.Appreciate this is an old hotel, and we had a cheaper non seafront room, but this was disappointing as no effort had been made to mask it. 300 yards from Sticky Mikes, close to pier
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel almost on the beach

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Great place to stay was almost on the beach. Loved the seating area at the front of the hotel. Staff very helpful. Great breakfast. The beds were the comfiest. We had a great stay. Would defiantly stay again. Downfall parking £25 a day.