Ratings based on 313 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel in a really great location.

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: The room.
We loved our experience of this hotel overall. We stayed in a superior King room which was spacious and really comfortable. The only down side was that on the second night of our stay our room was not cleaned for some reason so we did have to request towels and toilet roll. However it wasn't a big deal. Also during our first night the fire alarm went off meaning that we were all evacuated at 1:30am. again not a massive problem as this can't be helped, but it would have been nice to have some sort of apology or something. Overall really loved our stay here and the location cannot be beaten.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Best staff ever.

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Lovely hotel, great food, nice rooms and the staff couldn't be any friendlier. Only drawback is the noise from outside but this is because of the sea front location.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent location on sea front

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: Lovely old, historic building. That said, there was some tatty bedroom furniture & Sir Winston Churchill's arm chair needs to be renovated urgently!
Cons: Provide coffee capsules & coffee machine. Allow guests to pre-book parking or make alternative arrangements for alternative guaranteed parking.
Location: Great location, short walking distance for shopping & sightseeing and several excellent restaurants nearby.
We booked a sea view room which had great views of the beach and pier. Bed was very comfortable and room was large with plenty of hanging and storage space, particularly handy as we got rain soaked more than once and needed to drip dry our wet weather gear! Large bathroom likewise! Reception and bar area were very comfortable. Staff were very friendly and helpful, especially the breakfast staff. At night we were kept awake by groups congregating in the shelters across the street. The hotel supplies earplugs! The biggest issue was the parking. After finding the hotel it was not obvious how to access it by car. We had to pull up on double yellow lines down a side road to unload and negotiate a parking space. We were lucky that the hotel did have space when we arrived and the valet parking was appreciated! Parking is an acknowledged problem and it would be great if the hotel could be more proactive in helping arrange a solution!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Nice Hotel Location

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Pros: Staff and location. The breakfast was very good as well. The wi-fi was great!
Cons: Room hallways and the rooms themselves
Location: It is at the beach front and in prime position
The hotel is good. Check in was quick. The reception and all downstairs decor is in good condition, however, the rooms and room hallways are outdated. The lift is very small and outdated. The doors are stiff and difficult to open in the room hallways. The parking was full which i was willing to pay. The car park opposite with the same rate was also full. I had to wait in a Que for 45 minutes to get in since we had to wait for cars to come out to make spaces available.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Historic Hotel on sea front

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Pros: The location and the staff
Location: All the central Brighton attractions are within walking distance
The hotel is in a great location within a short walking stance to the Pier, Lanes, Pavilion and i360. The staff are very helpful. The hotel has its own car park. if you can get in this is an advantage in central Brighton.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The Sauna Experience

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Pros: Not much really. Close to pier and on the seafront are it's only saving graces.
Cons: Just about everything in some degree or other - see my experience.
Location: Close to pier and on the seafront are it's only saving graces.
Tired, dated décor, in much need a revamp ASAP. Some tatty furniture in room, i.e. scuffed, old fashioned, cheap looking furniture - do not expect this from a 4* hotel. Room was extremely warm, far too warm to be comfortable in. The hotel is so old fashioned it doesn't have air conditioning anywhere. Even with the window open and the reception bringing up a fan, it was still too warm and uncomfortable. Other guests experienced the same unpleasantness in their rooms and fans were also handed out. It was warm weather, but there were other areas of the hotel that were nice and cool i.e. reception. The heat in the bedroom made for very uncomfortable sleeping. Lift extremely small, cramped, very slow and very old fashioned, again, like almost everywhere in this hotel, in dire need of some money spending for a major revamp. Breakfast was ok, the usual things you'd expect, full English (which was not particular good - soft hash browns, hard fried eggs, extremely fatty bacon, dried up mushrooms etc.) cereals, fruit and yogurts were ok, limited choice though.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Totally overpriced for B&B standard room

Posted Aug 29, 2016
£300 (without breakfast) for an old style B&B standard room for one night is just daft - even it if was a bank holiday weekend. For a double it was also small - definitely just somewhere to sleep and wash in, not to relax in. The staff were pleasant and efficient. The door lock was broken but it was fixed pretty quickly. Clearly the Old Ship trades on its sea front location. If that's your priority and you don't mind paying the prices they seem to be able to get away with charging, then go for it. Just don't expect anything from your room, other than the very ordinary.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Norway

Greit hotell med fin beliggenhet

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Beste ved dette hotellet er beliggenheten, fine fellesarealer, bar/restsurant, men gamle og slitne rom/bad
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to beach and the lanes

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: Near beach
Cons: It is too antiquated
Poor overall. Disappointing service. Old fashioned
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent location, room recently updated

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Staff excellent but a bit noisy (banging doors in corridors, creaky floorboard etc)