Ratings based on 328 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rather Tired Hotel in the middle of town

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Location: Centre of the town with easy access to all amienities
Staff were wonderful , breakfast was good with a selection of continental breakfast items & full English, there are tea & coffee in the room, bedlinen was of a high quality however the place has an overall tired look. Carpets are very worn, woodwork needs attention and the place needs money spending on it. It is somewhat quirky, the landings are on a slope, we had to walk uphill to the bathroom, doors are out of square but it is a very old building. Pool was OK & sauna was fine
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from K

Run down hotel, extremely overpriced.

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Hotel is in a terrible state, we had a room at the front of the hotel on the top floor and it was on a slope so we felt dizzy in it. Plus were kept awake all night from noise outside.
3 out of 5
by Ruth from Littlehampton

Good central location all local amenities nearby

Posted Aug 21, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed for a wedding elsewhere with other friends Room & balcony were good but very small bathroom poor towels. Toilet far too close to the door & had to report flush not adequate
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 21, 2016 on Hotels
This was a stay for a wedding. Whilst the room in main building was spacious, it was in dire need of redecoration and some maintenance, i.e cracked tiles; lifting wallpaper; and d/g window that would not lock shut.we found the bed incredibly uncomfortable. lobely views at resr of hotel overlooking town and downs.Breakfast was excellent and good value, but generally not worth the £100 per room. Sorry to be negative, all i can say is it served it's purpose!!!!!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 11, 2016 on Hotels
Not a great hotel. Lumpy bed, very shabby place, poor quality furniture, few amenities. I won't be back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 9, 2016 on Hotels
Two days as a base.. central to rail and taxi services, service excellent and helpful and general ambience interesting.
3 out of 5
by Rosalind from Chipping Norton

Excellent service

Posted Aug 9, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel staff lovely and breakfast and bar excellent value. Old coaching quaint but rather "tired" needs updating
4 out of 5
by Linda from brighton

very good

Posted Aug 5, 2016 on Hotels
we like the stay at the hotel very much that is why we are trying to book a room for the 27 till 28 of august we are hoping to here from you this week
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad Bad Bad

Posted Aug 3, 2016 on Hotels
The room was in the annexe which is like a 1970s dishevilled motel behind the hotel (the hotel itself is historic and looks quite nice to walk into). Our room was unbelievably hot and there was no way of cooling it down so we had to have the window and door wedged wide open (as did everyone else) - it wasn't even a particularly hot day. The room was shabby, TV wires dangling. TV reception was very poor. The bed was on large carpet protectors which kept tripping us up. The toilet flush was round the corner, in the wall behind the bathroom door! and the radiator in there was falling apart. The water coming out of the tap only ran hot - there was no way we could get any cold water. The kettle didn't fit the plug next to it so you had to put it on the floor to plug it in. It was very noisy. You could hear all the doors opening and slamming all the time. This place is not cheap - I will never be staying there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great town but rooms not too good.

Posted Aug 1, 2016 on Hotels
The town is a great place to visit with plenty of restaurants & pubs etc. But the hotel.... Height restriction on car park so had to park on pay & display & carry bags to hotel, no WiFi & TV had a terrible reception. Bathroom was poor & windows wouldn't shut properly but this is a hotel built in 16th century so expected really.