Ratings based on 742 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from appleton wi

Posted Mar 2, 2018
great wxperince few detaila..1 pillowcasws were dirty...
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 8, 2018 by Doug, Hotel Management
Thank you!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 12, 2018
Pros: The old world charm was wonderful.
Cons: the beds, the night staff and a few new upgrades would be wonderful.
We arrived for a late check in, the gentleman at the counter gave us our room and keys, we went to our room, it was very spacious but the smell of the room was horrible and made my husband sick as it still smelled of cigarette smoke. Then they charged my husbands card $50.00 more then what the room was to cost, we did not find out about this until we went to check out the next morning and wanted to change payment from Card to Cash. Because of this my husband's checking account was frozen for three days until the bank was able to release the cancelled payment. This was a disappointment. The beds were very uncomfortable, the heating system did not heat the bathrooms well so they were very cold when showering. I would not recommend this hotel. Bonus, The staff at the Coffee Cafe was very pleasant and very friendly as I needed the high amount of caffeine due to the lack of sleep we got in the uncomfortable beds.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 12, 2018
Pros: bed comfortable.
Cons: see above
Was not expecting additional hotel fees such as parking fee, 9.5% guest room tax and other hotel fees. Restaurant was very expensive with small portions. Several electrical outlets in room did not work. Toiletries provided were very poor quality. Bed was comfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from milwaukee, wi

Nothing to do

Posted Feb 11, 2018
Upon booking this hotel I thought I was going to have access to the sauna, steam room, and or pool. Turns out I can’t acess any of these things because I am not a member. I in turn would not of even booked this hotel if I knew that I wasn’t going to be able to fully enjoy what this hotel offers. I won’t be returning back..boring stay for almost $200.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jan 17, 2018
Pleasantly surprised. Room was large and comfortable. Needed updating but clean and functional.
4 out of 5
by Patricia

Comfortable Old Shoe

Posted Dec 14, 2017 on Hotels
This was our third stay at The Milwaukee Athletic. It is not a glitzy place, but rather it's like an old shoe that's very comfortable and familiar. The location in the heart of downtown east of the river is awesome - close to lake, museums, restaurants, theaters, sports arenas. We like that the staff is friendly and loyal. They know our names and we know theirs. They make special accommodations for us, like providing a fan for the room (hubby likes white noise at night). The price is very affordable for longer stays -- we usually stay a week. Great to have a nightcap and shoot pool in The Mac Bar at day's end.
4 out of 5
by lawrence

NIce hotel

Posted Dec 4, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice hotel. Good value for the money. Only issue I had was I was charged $15 to park in the hotel lot! Don't recall this being mentioned while booking. Put a bad taste in my mouth.
4 out of 5
by Brian

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 4, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from milwaukee

Worst hote stay ever

Posted Dec 4, 2017 on Orbitz
This hotel was terrible. Upon checkin we were on the 11th floor. Our room was nice but very out dated. It was 84 degrees in the room when we entered. We tried the air conditioning but it did not work. So we turned off the entire heater. But the heater would not stop blowing extremely hot air. We opened all 3 windows and it did not cool the room lower than 77 degrees. So the entire night it was unbelievably hot. Then because the windows were open, we were awoke by 6am with traffic, loud people, loud wildlife, and other very loud noises. The rooms to this hotel are paper thin and you can hear everything other people do in their room. Terrible stay. Huge waste of money. Never again
4 out of 5
by Elizabeth

Milwaukee Athletic Club Stay

Posted Nov 28, 2017 on Hotels
Very friendly staff. Coffee pot and mini frig in the rooms. Convenient location. Shuttle to local area and they will give you helpful suggestions. The only drawback is you can't close the curtains to block the light out so it's bright in the room early which wakes us up.