Ratings based on 212 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

cheap and clean. I stayed 4 days and was happy .

Posted Jan 4, 2018
Breakfast was tasty Room was toasty Didn't have a fitness center, but all else was good. It wasn't recently renovated or anything, but I paid less than $60/night . Good price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2018 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Caroline, thank you for your kind review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at Extended Stay America. It is our goal to deliver a great value at a fair price and we like reading that we have accomplished just that. We believe that fresh and comfortable accommodations, excellent customer service, and complimentary features such as breakfast, Wi-Fi, coffeemakers, and refrigerators in our rooms make us an excellent choice. We appreciate your business and hope to welcome you again the next time you're in the area! Sincerely, Hotel Management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 12, 2017
Easy check in. Friendly staff. Nice rooms. Clean rooms. Great location. Comfortable beds and pillows. I
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2017 by Hotel Management , Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest at Extended Stay America. We take great pride in providing comfortable facilities and review like yours let us know we are on the right track. It was so good to have you here, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from kansas

Quick Stay

Posted Dec 3, 2017
The hotel is close to Kellog, but that’s about it. The wi-fi doesn’t work and neither did the phone in the room
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 3, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Shane, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are pleased our location was ideal for your needs, but we are sorry for the maintenance issues you experienced during your stay. We have shared your feedback with the concerned team for a quick review. We hope you will consider us again the next time you are in this area. Sincerely, Hotel Management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wichita kansas

Amazing staff!

Posted Nov 25, 2017
Staff was very welcoming! Very clean and nice rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2017 by Hotel Management , Hotel Management
Thanks for your kind review. We are thrilled to know your stay was made an awesome one because of the excellent service provided by our associates. Our team will be congratulated for making your experience a memorable one. Reviews such as yours mean a lot! Thank you once again, and we look forward to your next stay. Sincerely, Hotel Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ohio

Nothing fancy but good

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Stayed for 30 days. Generally clean and quiet It provided everything I needed. Nothing fancy but it was good
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Emerson, thank you for including Extended Stay America in your travel plans. Our highest priority is to make sure every guest has a relaxing experience and comfortable accommodations, so we are glad we accomplished this while you were here. We hope to have the honor of hosting you again soon. Sincerely, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Old Hotel needs updating

Posted Oct 12, 2017
The hotel upgraded us to a larger room on arrival which was nice and unexpected. However upon entering our room right away the toilet leaked all over the floor every time you flushed it. There was no toilet paper either. The shower got lukewarm at best. The shower had orange rust around the where the tub and wall met. The shower curtain had black mold on the inside bottom that hung in the tub. The kitchen had a stove that appeared to be 40 years old. There wasn't a single dish in the kitchen. My husband had to go to the lobby to find out where the dishes were. They keep them at the front desk in a Tupperware. A note or mention when you check in would have been nice. The bed mattress was harder than a rock. We made due for the night but next time I will spend $20 more and stay somewhere else. This hotel could be nice if they took time to fix the cosmetic things.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 14, 2017 by Hotel Management , Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest. We are glad you had an overall nice stay. However, I apologize for the inconvenience you had in your room. Kitchenware for your suite is available at the front desk to ensure cleanliness, and I am sorry this wasn’t conveyed to you upon check-in. Your feedback is also shared with our housekeeping and front desk teams to ensure they step up their game. We would like to regain your trust and hope you will give us that chance in the future. Sincerely, Hotel Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never again.

Posted Sep 15, 2017 on Hotels
I was charged upon check-in after already paying online. Also, there were no glasses or cups in the room - they had to be requested.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 17, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
I am very sorry we failed to deliver the exceptional stay you deserved. We are sorry to know you were not pleased with our hotel’s policy in regard to the kitchenware and regret the inconvenience it caused. In regard to the charges, please feel to reach out our front desk associates. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, General Manager
5 out of 5
by Vernon

My next hotel to stay at.

Posted Sep 12, 2017 on Hotels
Great hotel. Room had a full kitchen with utensils, pots, pans, plates and cups and glasses.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Vernon, we appreciate you staying with us. It’s a pleasure knowing you loved our property and your room along with the kitchenware. We hope to see you again soon at Extended Stay America. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
by Lori

Not worth the money

Posted Aug 28, 2017 on Hotels
The room was hot, the air conditioner didn't work very well. The front desk was nice and they gave me a fan. The Hotel did not have ice available.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Lori, thank you for your visit. Although you liked our courteous associates, we are sincerely sorry for the issue you had with the HVAC unit in your room and regret the inconvenience it caused. I will be sure to share your concern with my maintenance team to fix the problem immediately. Please be informed, we do have full size refrigerator which includes ice trays for your convenience. Therefore we do not have ice machines on our property, and we apologize for your disappointment. Please give us another chance to make a better impression on your next visit to our area. Sincerely, General Manager
5 out of 5
by Kalob

Awesome stay

Posted Jul 29, 2017 on Hotels
Great clean place
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Kalob, it was a pleasure hosting you at Extended Stay America - Wichita - East. We always make efforts to provide a clean, fresh accommodation for every guest, and we are delighted to know you recognized the same. We look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to this area. Sincerely, General Manager