Ratings based on 140 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

massive rooms, ideally located, courteous staff

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Location: ideally located, central, facing the beach, and close to restaurants
loved it, would definitely go back again. it was centrally located and rooms were absolutely massive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Sussex

Nice, Clean and Convenient Hotel

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Stayed for one night on a Friday. Convenient location close to town but right beside the beach too. Staff were welcoming and helpful. Nice decor and everywhere was extremely clean. Room was comfortable with everything we needed, great facilities and amenities. Bathroom spotlessly clean and shower was big and modern. Really enjoyed our stay and will be back very soon!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2017 by William, Hotel Management
Dear Alannah, Thank you for your review. I'm delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us. Thank you for the kind words to the team and we all look forward for your next stay with us. Kind regards, William
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Very friendly and helpful staff; hotel a bit tired

Posted Jun 1, 2017
The hotel staff were very friendly. They were also helpful when we had issues. 1. The swimming pool unfortunately was so so cold. Not much the staff could do about it due to a technical issue, but still disappointing. 2. The cold tap in the bathroom sink occasionally ran boiling. This happened a few times. Luckily my 5-yr old and 3-yr old were not hurt. At least the staff were quick to investigate. 3. The paintwork, carpet, etc was looking like it had seen better days. Definitely in need of some TLC. Overall one must not lose sight of the fact that the building is of Listed status. Nevertheless, refurbishment on the inside is needed. Staff were very good which made up in part on the issues raised above. Location is very good, practically on the beach.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2017 by William, Hotel Management
Dear Ps, Thank you for your review. Apologies about the swimming pool, unfortunately we had a boiler breakdown which affected the temperature of the pool, it has now been fixed, we have planned some refurbishment on the inside in the near future. We do hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, William
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 30, 2017
Very very disappointed with the room , not worth the £95 a night price tag for a supposed executive suit . Bathroom very out of date in decor and condition , bed was described as King size but was basically two single beds put together and two separate mattresses . Window rattled all night . On the upside staff were very friendly although it did strike me as a little odd that my complaint couldn't be dealt with at the time of my stay, on pointing out my disappointment it was met with sorry about that someone will probably contact you .
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2017 by William, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Sorry to read that you did not found the room to your liking, we always aim to exceed guest expectation but this time we did not and I'm sorry for it, thank you for the kind words reference the team and I do hope you will stay with us again to give us another chance. Kind regards, William
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good Location

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: Everything
Location: Good Location, Beachy Head area is a good place to visit and walk
Only stayed one night but a good experience. Nothing more to add
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2017 by William, Hotel Management
Dear Camel, Thank you for your review of the Best Western York House Hotel. I'm glad you had a good experience with us, we look forward for your next stay with us. Kind regards, William
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from North Lincolnshire

comfy sea view room. walking distance to town.

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Internet
Cons: Concerns for main bedroom window which opened fully - maybe for fire escape.
Location: Family Event.
Welcome pack of fruit in a comfy Sea View Room pleasantly decorated. Scrambled Eggs Great for Breakfast ! Helpful Staff would return.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Shower was cool not hot

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: The room was superb, the location also great, right on the sea front, reception staff very helpful.
Cons: Better alround service at breakfast and sort the shower temperature.
Breakfast service was terrible. The buffet was not topped up, tables weren't cleared, no plates, nor milk for tea. Was offered a minimal refund.
3 out of 5
by pierre

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
uncomfortable bed
5 out of 5
by Kevin

Posted Apr 8, 2017 on Hotels
Nice hotel very good staff all in all easy going.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Eastbourne

Lovely hotel close to everything

Posted Apr 7, 2017
We had a lovely stay here for the weekend. The staff are friendly and helpful, the hotel facilities including the swimming pool area were clean and in good working order. We didn't get to eat at the hotel as we had other plans, but other guests highly recommended the breakfast. The comfort room was exactly that, comfortable although a little small and could have done with a hoovering/dusting, but all in all very happy and would definitely stay again :)