Ratings based on 788 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice Hotel

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness
Cons: Cheaper BBreakfast
Location: Lots of restaurants and also near the beach.
I enjoyed staying in Cavendish hotel. However, the price of the Breakfast was too high and preferred to take my breakfast out side the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Wales

Reasonable

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Potentially very good hotel in the old tradition. Good location and price reasonable. Our room was spacious with a nice bathroom and facilities (e.g. good wardrobe); however, being on the fourth floor (just under the roof) it was extremely hot and had no air conditioning (nor had any of the public areas and corridors - so probably the whole building has none). Our room was also dusty.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Comfortable hotel close to most amenities

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: Close to promenade, beach and shops etc
Cons: Staff at reception need to 'smile' a bit more. Were helpful & informative but a bit more customer service charm would have made you feel more welcome.
Location: We went to the Hippodrome Theatre a short walk away and enjoyed the Right Royal Variety Show. Good for all ages, except perhaps teens.
Stayed 3 nights in early July on B&B terms with a seaview room. Room had no air con & it was very warm each night. Desk top fan helped a bit though. Breakfast OK and had one evening snack in bar which was reasonable. Otherwise ate out as for 2 successive nights hotel taken over by hordes of youngsters having end of term 'prom nights'. We were a bit annoyed we had not been warned about this & that hotel restaurant was unavailable but as there were plenty of restaurants nearby we were able to use them instead.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ashford, Kent

4 star hotel but tired.

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: Position on the seafront.
Cons: Hotel needs a general refurb. Aircon!!!
Location: Good location. Lovely walks up to Beachy Head and over the Seven Sisters. Had a good meal at Flamenco tapas.
Hotel has seen better days. Room (429) was like an oven even though it wasn't that hot outside (outside temperature low 20s). Man in adjacent room had a thermometer on has alarm clock which showed a reading of 110f!!! Breakfast was adequate but, on the second day of our stay, even though we'd paid for breakfast, we passed and ate in the town. Don't know how they come up with the star ratings but 4 out of 5 certainly didn't match our experience or expectations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

Super hotel. Very close to beach.

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Stayed for a very enjoyable 2 days. The room was spacious. The beds were comfortable. My wife has a bad back and did not complain. We were on the 4th floor overlooking the sea and the room was super. Bathroom was nice and clean as was the room. Food was excellent. Service first class. Staff first class and always happy to help. Very quick. Will come again. Thank you for a great time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sussex

Superb value

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Excellent location. Clean comfortable room. Overall unbelievable value.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

On the Seafront.

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: On the seafront
Cons: Air-con in the bedrooms. Wifi throughout. Better beds.
Location: Lots to do and see. The hotel is directly opposite the Bandstand where there are live concerts.
Our first impressions of the hotel were very pleasing. We booked through a travel group but unfortunately it took approximately 30 minutes to find our booking as it did not appear on the hotel system. When they eventually found it we were given our cards. The room was very small, and quite claustrophobic. It did not resemble any of the photos on the website. We had to ask for a fan which we kept running all night as it was so hot as there was no air-con and the windows did not really open. The bed was very hard so most of the night we did not sleep. One of the reasons we chose this hotel was because it claimed to have wifi throughout - unfortunately this was not the case. We did not bother with breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Right on the seafront, conveniently located.

Posted May 26, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: There are some signs of deterioration, which should be addressed before it starts to look a bit jaded.
Location: Eastbourne is full of things to do - walking, fishing, shopping, good restaurants, theatres, etc.
Good breakfast, nice room, pleasant staff. The bar lacks any sort of atmosphere. Nice library, for a quiet drink, if you want to hide away.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good position near the beach and town centre

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: The position and the friendly staff
Cons: We thought the furnishings in the lounge and bar area looked a bit 'tired'. Some of the seating in the conservatory area was really dirty.
Location: Nice walks along the beach, near the theatres, Sovereign Harbour and Beachy Head a short drive away.
We have stayed at this hotel before. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The rooms are clean and comfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kensington

Great location, overpriced, not worth the money

Posted May 15, 2017
Me and my girlfriend had a short weekend holiday get away from London. We chose Eastbourne just to enjoy our two free days. I booked upgraded room with sea view in Cavendish Hotel expecting nice experience for both of us. On arrival reception staff was really officiant and friendly. For some reason in the room we got two separate single beds. Reception staff sorted that. Day time we didn't realised that we have no mini bar in the room and didn't bought any water from the shop. Water from the tap was horrible as expected and I came down to reception at 1am to buy some bottles of water, there was none available. Reception gave me a jug of "filtered water" the taste was same as from the tap. Morning shower was even worse. It took me a good 15 min to set shower water temperature and I really know how to use bath facilities. Last thing, there was no hair drier in the room as I was expecting to have in upgraded room. Overall room was clean but small details were badly missing.