Ratings based on 844 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

perfect view of the seafront

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Pros: Sea view.
Cons: Some of the areas could do with a little renovation but overall the hotel is lovely. We enjoyed our stay and would stay here again.
Location: walk along the seafront, close to town.
Excellent hotel for the money. Great Location on the seafront. Sea View room allowed us to hear the waves coming in.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Stay elsewhere

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Wider bathroom which wouldn't be difficult considering the room was at least five times as big. Clean bedding. Locks on the windows. Include breakfast
Rude and surly reception staff on arrival. We 'upgraded' to a room with a window, which cost extra, just to have a view of the side street. The room was bare and minimal with a bathroom that was so narrow you had to walk down it sideways and a shower with water hot enough to scald. The bedding was stained with god knows what. It was far too warm in the room with no way of controlling the heat which made sleeping uncomfortable. The free WiFi wasn't secured.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Rooms

Posted Nov 13, 2017
The hotel was lovely. But the heat in the rooms was unbearable my sister left the room at 1am to walk outside but the heat was unreal we could only open the window about 6 inches we had a fan going too but still the room was too hot
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Vetu Hot

Posted Nov 4, 2017
Although the room we had was a great size and we had a wonderful view the room itself was extremely hot and this made it difficult to sleep even with the window open all night. Our room had a very unusual sloping floor also. The Decor of the whole hotel is a bit dated however it is clean. There was an excellent choice on the buffet breakfast and the food was hot as it was replenished regularly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Very pleasant and an amazing sea view! Good location too. Will definitely stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Weymouth

Good sea views but whole hotel tired

Posted Oct 30, 2017
It's difficult to spoil an English breakfast but they managed it! Tinned fruit, hard fried eggs,unappetising sausages all featured. No service either. The overall experiences was depressing. A fine old seafront hotel going to rack and ruin as a result of lack of maintenance and poor management. The bed was rubbish too.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Not worthy under this management

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Hotel did not have WiFi as per booking stated. Staff at reception was extremely rude - I was baffled when I called the reception from my room and a certain Diana answered by I quote:"YESSS?!" . Equally baffled when the General Manager tells me that a wifi authentication failure(he typed the password himself) is because my room is not in the hotel hotspot...However he could not change my room. Bizarre!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Short Break

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Good location for short break, close to beach and shops
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from hastings

close to shops

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Pros: well organised
Cons: decoration a little shabby
Location: central
very well organised in dining area and booking in
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Norfolk

A return visit

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Pros: Its character and grandeur, the reception area, and the restaurant
Cons: The parking area - it was untidy and unappealing
Eastbourne was my 'home town' and my father worked in the Cavendish Hotel on and off, from 1936 to 1976 by which time he was the Director of Music. My wife and I wanted to stay in the hotel with which we were so familiar, before it was too late - I will be 80 next year! Although the Cavendish is very different to how we remember it during the years when Pimms, and the De Vere's owned it, we were delighted that the hotel is still splendid and very comfortable. We had a thoroughly lovely time, and would love to repeat it if it were possible.