Ratings based on 81 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by wendy

excellent for the price

Posted Dec 12, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is a bit faded, but the room was large , and the free breakfast had lots of choices , both hoy and cold buffet , tea coffee fruit juices. Bedroom was very well heated .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 31, 2017
Pros: one receptionist was lovely and chef was helpful with noise issue and very polite unlike night receptionist calling our room till 3 am
Cons: needs badly updating and repairs
Location: Eastbourne is fabulous restaurants etc all highly recommend a visit
music from hotel next door from 5pm until 4am every day asked hotel to call police night receptionist said i had to call and then come to reception he informed us the music would be for another 2 nights no one seemed to stop this hotel from blasting a base until 4am repeatedly ??????????? lions hotel shut next day?????????????????????
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

will happily go back!

Posted Oct 30, 2017 on Hotels
The staff was very friendly and helpful from the first moment we arrived to when we left.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great staff and a hearty breakfast.

Posted Oct 16, 2017 on Hotels
We had a lovely stay in Eastbourne. Yes the hotel needs some TLC but after the previous reviews I was expecting that so I went with an open mind. The staff were very helpful and happy. I had requested a room with a sea view and I got it, so was very thrilled. The breakfast was fantastic with an all-you- could eat continental/cooked food selection. The hotel was in a great location with the beach over the road and the main town centre less than a 10min walk. For an affordable stay, we enjoyed our weekend away. Thanks.
4 out of 5
by ian

Posted Oct 3, 2017 on Hotels
beds were clean room was ok just needs decorating
5 out of 5
by Shirley

Albany Lions

Posted Sep 22, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed at the Albany Lions a few times over the years and always enjoy it. The location is perfect for us too. The hotel is starting to look a little shabby now but not a problem for us as we think it is great value for money. The breakfast is excellent and the rooms are bright and airy.
3 out of 5
by Keith

Not quite perfect.

Posted Sep 3, 2017 on Hotels
I had a single room on the second floor, clean and comfortable but very small - no room for a fridge for example. Staff exceptionally friendly and helpful, and fabulous breakfast. My only complaint was the lack of wifi, which was only obtainable in the lobby. I was offered a change of room to the first floor, but still no connection. Maybe the management considers it to be unnecessary as most guests are elderly. But I am in my 70s and rely on the internet for keeping in touch with friends and family, banking and information.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Extremely helpful staff

Posted Aug 30, 2017
We stayed there only one night. The hotel has the facilities to stay comfortably but not in luxury. The room and bathroom was clean, we had a fridge which was a bonus. The staff was extremely helpful and accommodating. The atmosphere was great in the evening.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017 by Sales Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Gee, Thank you for your recent review of the Hotel. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay :) We look forward to welcoming you back. With Thanks, Managment
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jersey

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Close to the town centre and promenade.
Cons: Needs minor maintenance.
Location: Located on the promenade, parking available close by,railway and bus station for trips to other parts of Sussex .
The hotel overall was good value for money with an excellent buffet breakfast. It was close to all amenities including the railway station.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017 by Sales Manager, Hotel Management
Dear William, Thank you for your recent feedback on the Albany Lions Hotel. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed the Hotel and certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon. With Thanks, Management
2 out of 5
by Jennifer

Posted Jul 24, 2017 on Hotels
One point, sock over smoke detector in bedroom which we reported to reception and they took no action. Surely after recent London events Health and Safety, especially involving smoke and fire should be taken very seriously!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2017
Dear Jennifer, Thank you for your recent review on the Hotel. I am most shocked to read this about your recent stay at the Albany Lions Hotel. I have now investigated into this problem and the appropriate action has now been taken. Once again, thank you for writing. Management