Ratings based on 329 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Landmark Hotel in Eastbourne

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: The history, location and staff
Cons: Cleanliness, maintenance, room facilities (irons, ironing board, refrigerator)
Location: Right on the sea front in the best part of town. 20 mins walk to main shopping. Walked over the South Downs to Beachy Head.
Have used the Grand Hotel, Eastbourne for 50 years. Its a landmark, but it needs constant care and attention. Staff are very helpful, but the facilities are in decline. Examples: in the main dining room the ceiling looks like its about to fall down in one location. Cleanliness is not good in the corridors and rooms. Someone needs to clean the base boards. Facilities and furniture in the room are tired and not what you would expect in a high end hotel. That being said, the Grand is the Grand, and those of us that know it like to stay there. It wouldn't meet the required standards anywhere else in the world. To be honest its really expensive for what it is, but is likely costs a huge amount to maintain.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suffolk

The place to be at when you are in Eastbourne

Posted Jul 2, 2017
The best night sleep we had when away from home. Excellent breakfast. Knowledgeable staff. Great choice for the families.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

The Grand Old Lady of Eastbourne.

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: The facilities are good - we swam in both the indoor and outdoor pools. The main rooms are very elegant.
Cons: The breakfast was very ordinary sadly, and mildly chaotic.
Location: Right by the sea, and within 5 minutes of the tennis at Devonshire Park. Lots of the players stay there, so you need to get to the buffet before them!
The Grand is still beautiful, despite her age. But she's not really keeping up with the kids these days. Our room was large, and comfortable, but very noisy (we were on the west side of the building, right by the road) as all the deliveries start arriving from about 5am. The room is still single-glazed, and you can even hear the staff's conversations through the closed windows! As the hotel isn't air-conditioned, there is a large fan in the room, which helped disguise some of the noise. We needed it on all night, and the weather wasn't especially warm during our stay. We were staying on B&B, and the breakfast was fine, but really well below the standard of an ordinary hotel, yet alone one as expensive as this. It didn't tempt us to eat in the hotel, especially when there were such lovely restaurants in town.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017 by Guest Relations Assistant, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review. We are pleased that you enjoyed our facilities and the location of the hotel. We have noted your comments regarding breakfast. As well as the buffet breakfast guests can order at the table and the restaurant staff will bring the breakfast plated to them from the kitchen. We are glad you found the bedroom comfortable and spacious but are sorry you were disturbed by noise from the road outside. Our bedrooms are located in several different areas of the hotel and if you book again we will try and allocate a bedroom in a quieter position. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Grand.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Darien, CT

A most awe inspiring building

Posted Jun 10, 2017
Pros: The period it was built, the awe-inspiring grandeur. The location is stunning.
Cons: The decor is tired. Needs updating.
Location: The beach, the pier, shops, Birling Gap and the Seven Sisters
Perfect location on the seaside. Within walking distance of shops and pier.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from London

A proper old-fashioned grand hotel.

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Pros: The staff and the breakfast. The room was very nice too.
Cons: Toast at breakfast could be hotter!
Location: Birling Gap and the Seven Sisters are beautiful, and well worth seeing.
This is a proper old-fashioned (in a nice way) grand hotel, with helpful and friendly staff and cooked breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Timeless elegance through out! So English

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Just beautiful! No other words can describe this hotel. Utter class. No bad manners, everyone was elegant and friendly and it was like going back in time to when England was the envy of the world. Unlike now.The beach was spotless also.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

WHERE TO GO TO SPOILT AND PAMPERED.

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: Liked the fact that it was close to the beach, not too crowded, as it was still early in the season. Staff are always excellent, very helpful.
Cons: I strongly resented the way the menu was charged in the Garden Restaurant, too rigid, not flexible enough.
Location: Shopping and charity shops (always good fun).
The Grand Hotel made us an offer we could not "refuse". A really good rate, even though we finished up in the" servants quarters", up in the "gods" still very comfortable, it is a lovely place to stay. Have outlined my feelings about the Garden Restaurant below, I rather minded that we had to go out to each because of the Grand Hotel's strange charging system in the restaurant, we could have afforded it but we both felt that the charging for the food was unjust and unfair. The food was neuvo cuisine, not to everyone's taste.
4 out of 5
by Sharon

Posted May 2, 2017 on Hotels
Great location with just a hop over the road to the beach and very near the shops and theatres. Great indoor sports and leisure facilities.
5 out of 5
by David

Always a bril stay

Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels
Great
5 out of 5
by John

Great Stay

Posted Apr 28, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent Hotel with wonderful friendly staff who think of everything - nothing was a problem - looking forward to another stay