Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
35% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The best hotel I've stayed in!

Posted May 30, 2017
From the moment we checked in until the moment we left, the staff were absolutely amazing and couldn't do enough for you, always with a smile. The room was clean and spacious and well facilitated and had amazing views and was close to the beach and shops. This hotel comes highly recommended and we will be going back
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017 by Sales Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Vikki, Thank you for the recent review of the Hotel. I am pleased to see that the room was clean and spacious. We pride ourselves on offering the best service available and hope to see you return to the Hotel soon. With Thanks, Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Guildford

Large Victorian hotel on the seafront

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: Friendly helpful staff and plenty of them, mostly young Europeans, serving at breakfast and cleaning the rooms
Cons: Low water pressure in the basin. Room had flaking paint and cracked plaster on ceiling. Hotel needs 2 lifts. Dining room too hot as no sun blinds.
Location: Interesting seafront promenade with market stalls and pier. 10 mins walk from town centre.
Booked in here for a week as I was working in Eastbourne. Friendly and busy, large hotel catering for coach parties but a bit grubby and run down. Buffet style breakfast offered plenty to eat and there was a bar in the evening. One day the milk at breakfast was off. Large lounge areas made it comfortable to sit in, also ballroom for groups who came to do dancing.
5 out of 5
by Lisa

Great sea views in front rooms

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
Loved our stay so much we have booked to go back in August for two weeks. Great sea views, friendly staff, good service, good food, only down side is hotel and rooms need updating but good value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

Great location

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Friendly Staff great Breakfast lovely building.
Cons: Beds too hard.
Location: Very close to Beach and shopping
Very pleasant stay staff were very friendly and accommodating good food .
4 out of 5
by kittycat671 from eastbourne

nice

Posted Apr 15, 2017 on Hotels
the lady on front desk, think her name is Sandra is amazing, such a lovely lady, very friendly and helpful, makes u feel very welcome, rooms very spacious definitely enough room for 3 people, beds comfy, room has everything in it that u need, could do with a bit of work on the rooms, cracks in window sills, bath and ceiling, wallpaper and paint coming off walls, but a comfortable stay, would stay again if ever I'm in eastbourne
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 19, 2017 on Hotels
We where moved from here to Albion lions due to not enough people in hotel been there before but found it need major updating our room was ok but all floor boards very noisy cracked floor tiles just needs up dating wouldn't use it again for the price
4 out of 5
by David

Confused !!!!!!

Posted Feb 24, 2017 on Hotels
Rather difficult to comment on the Mansion Lions Hotel as it was closed up when we arrived!!! However we were directed to their sister Hotel - Albany Lions - and were given a sea view room.,
1 out of 5
by Paul

absolute rubbish

Posted Feb 6, 2017 on Hotels
there was no stay as the hotel was closed for Jan and Feb, they tried to put us in a another hotel but they had no rooms the same as we had booked due to building works and that hotel was even more dirty than the Mansion
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Banbury

down at heel but a good cooked breakfast.

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: Cheap and cheerful, overlooking the sea.
Cons: They could do with investing in the bedrooms.
Location: The hotel is right on the sea front between the pier and the Winter Gardens/Congress Theatre, so particularly handy if you're at a conference there.
The rooms are a bit tatty but certainly habitable. The staff are friendly eastern Europeans. They do a decent Full English breakfast too.
3 out of 5
by Dean from London

Tired but good service

Posted Aug 15, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is tired especially the bedrooms, peeling paint etc, uncofy mattress etc. However the staff were very friendly and service was good. Breakfast was excellent.