Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Good Location, Quality Could Be Better

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Pros: Rapa Nui is an incredible place, and this hotel is located on the main street. The owner is friendly.
Cons: The furniture, plumbing and towels could be improved. In particular, I prefer strong hot showers.
Location: This hotel is in the heart of town. Hanga Roa is the only town on the island and is not large, there is dining and ocean access nearby.
This hotel, while well located, is antiquated by modern standards. I had to turn on hot water to the sink to get the shower to heat up, and the bathroom was quite cramped. The mattress was old and furniture warped. While there is a communal kitchen, people talking in the courtyard late at night would sometimes keep me awake. There is no A/C but it was not needed. While instructions say to leave the towel in the shower for it to be changed, this just results in a wet towel. The owner is friendly and speaks English well having lived in Australia. He meets visitors at the airport and gives a nice tour of the area. However, he is not always present and there is no traditional front desk staff. The hotel is on the main street near dining, shops, and an ocean swimming area. Easter Island represents the peak of ancient Polynesian culture. It is beautiful, very safe and the tap water is drinkable. I recommend traveling to the Island, but it may be worth looking at a newer facility.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saint Petersburg

perfect hotel in center of town.

Posted Feb 17, 2016
Easter Island is a magical place and its people are what create that magic. At this hotel, you get a front-row seat to the beauty that this enchanted island provides, but you get to feel like a part of the Easter Island family by virtue of Alvaro. We stayed for three days and I could not have imagined a more perfect stay. Alvaro picked us up from the airport, arranged our tour, recommended spots for meals and entertainment, and honestly brought us to tears with his hospitality. If you're looking for a cool, impersonal luxury hotel, go elsewhere, but if you're looking for a place that makes you feel like you're spending the week with your best friend, this is the place for you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

2.5 star N American hotel. Nice, no AC, bad wifi

Posted Feb 12, 2016
Cons: Air conditioning
Very nice family. They drove us from the airport and back to the airport. Pros = excellent location, covered gazebo in the centre is nice and cool if there is wind. Clean. Con = no AC (not sure how many easter island place have this), very bad wifi (maybe all over Easter Island... my 3G speed on my phone was much faster than their wifi). Considering how hard I was there, he was very difficult to sleep until very late at night. We had to leave our door and balcony door completely open, with both fans on. One recommendation for the hotel, would be to consider having some AC rooms, at a higher price. At the price point that we paid, despite that it was during high season, I think AC would have made a big difference.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great Location and Nice Owners

Posted Nov 24, 2015
Pros: Location
Location: walking distance to everything in Hanga Roa. just down the block are all the rental car agencies.
When staying on Easter Island, remember you are in the middle of the Pacific and this is not a beach vacation. This hotel is in a great location, on the main drag in Hanga Roa, with a nice bakery next door. Your on the Island to see the archaeological sites and should appropriately adjust you expectations on most hotels, to its a place to stay and sleep while your not exploring the Island. We would stay there again. The owners were very friendly and attentive to our needs. When you make the reservation, you should send a note to the hotel asking for them to pick you up at the airport (free). On the ride from the airport, the owners adult son drive through Hanga Roa and show you around. He will also take the time to review the national park map and provide you tips for seeing the Island. The rooms are clean and comfortable. They have multiple kitchens for guests to use, with tables in the kitchens and tables outside. We would walk to the bakery in the morning and get some hot out of the oven rolls and make some tea and enjoy the start of our morning outside.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 11, 2015
Good location. Excellent staff that genuinely cares about the guests. Alvaro will hook you up with whatever you need. Rooms are ok, but Americans need to manage expectations and realize youre on a tiny dot in the middle of the Pacific!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Poland

Great place, great location, fantastic staff

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Pros: Great location, great staff
Cons: WiFi is not great but this is general problem on the island
Great place comfy and centrally located whatever you need is steps away. Need sth ask Alvaro he will be happy to help. He is a great guide and a great guy Love my stay there will come back again for sure
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from santiago, Chile

Very Good localization

Posted Dec 17, 2014
A little bit expensive for the relation between price and quality. The owner is very kindly and worry about the passengers. Very good localization May be they need something about the cleaning, for example, change towels every two days
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Japan

Friendly owner family living behind the hotel

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: The building of the hotel seems old, but the bathroom in my room was clean and seems newly innovated. We could park our rental car behind the hotel.
Cons: A friend of mine, who also stayed in another room of this hotel, said the bathroom in his room was not as clean as in my room.
We stayed there only for one night, and we do not know much about the hotel, but the owner family, who are living in a house behind the hotel, were friendly. WiFi was OK. There is a shared kitchen (one for every three rooms), and free coffee, tea, and so on in the kitchen.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Don from Washington D.C.

Absolutely the ONLY place to stay in Hanga Roa.

Posted Feb 11, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Cons: A bit stronger internet signal, but this is all over the island. Alvaro is working on this problem.
Location: Located in the center of Hanga Roa within walking distance of all there is to see and do in the town. You can also walk to Orongo from here.
Alvaro is an excellent host. He also leads a superb full day tour of Rapanui's moai. Inaki Uhi is an experience in itself. I highly recommend staying at this place if you visit Rapanui.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 21, 2013