Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from canada

Quiet and peaceful retreat

Posted Dec 16, 2016
Pros: The quiet, the views, the food, the service.
Cons: the shuttle for the Tooth and Claw safari was very expensive.
Location: Very close to Addo Elephant park and other wildlife viewing opportunities.
This stay was a few days of calm relaxation in a busy trip. We felt so well cared for. The dinners and breakfasts were excellent as was the service in every way. Our bungalow was lovely with a wonderful balcony and enormous bathroom. We were sad to leave.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Moscow

Go there for the real deal

Posted Jan 6, 2016
Very cool lodge with excellent staff and food. Highly recommended to visit. You will not be disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sheffield, UK

Staying near Addo Elephant Park

Posted Nov 3, 2015
Pros: The position, staff service and food.
Cons: Improve the access roads.In need of some tarmac.
Location: Near to Elephant Park.
Superb place to stay.Wonderful stay with excellent service from everyone there.Would go back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Posted Jun 5, 2015
The lodge was amazing! The views were stunning, staff were lovely and very friendly. The food was very well presented and was absolutely delicious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Very nice room and great bathroom, sweet and attentive staff. Archie the host is a friendly and enthusiastic gentleman. Addo and Schotia safaris were awesome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by rickerhino from WA state

Nirvana on a hill top

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: See above.
Cons: Can't think of one thing.....our visit was perfect in every way!
Location: Hilltop location near Addo with views out over the Sundays River valley to the Zuurberg mountains. Lots of wildlife and birds on property.
We read some excellent reviews before choosing Hitgeheim, and they were all justified! Archie has created a little piece of heaven in these 8 thatched-roof chalets, cozy lounge with fireplace, decks and restaurant. We loved everything about our chalet.....private deck overlooking the river valley, sitting room, comfy bed, open shower. The food was uniformly delicious and beautifully presented. What really makes Hitgeheim special though, is its staff. Everyone was wonderful, and we are especially grateful to Donald & Michael for taking such good care of us; to Peter for a fabulous and informative tour of Addo Elephant Park, and to Archie for arranging our tour days in CapeTown with his son, Martin (who is a chip off the old block!). Archie also arranged our game drives at Schotia and at Amakahla. If you are going anywhere near Port Elizabeth, this is THE place to stay!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by F from London, UK

Highly recommended

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Pros: The staff, the view, the food, and the room.
There is nothing to fault about our experience. Everyone at Hitgeheim was incredibly welcoming and accommodating. Safaris and all transportation was arranged for us, and everything was seamless. The view from Hitgeheim is incredible. Great breakfasts and delicious wine and dinners. The room was very comfortable and clean, with complimentary sherry, and a well-stocked (and reasonably priced) minibar. It really was a 5 star experience, and this is mainly due to the exceptional high quality of staff at Hitgeheim. I highly recommend it, and I would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by James from Sydney NSW, Australia

Simply a gorgeous place!

Posted Mar 26, 2013
Pros: The people and ambience.
Cons: Can't think of a thing I didn't enjoy.
Location: Magnificent. On a hill overlooking the district....and close to Addo.
Hitgeheim is magnificently located on a hill with stunning views. Accomodation,service and dining are pure 5 star. And you get to meet the energetic friendly owner (Archie). It is simply a stunning place to visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina, USA

Peaceful Luxury Near Addo Elephant Park

Posted Mar 30, 2012
Hitgeheim is a 5 star experience! The private villa rooms are beautifully decorated. The staff are polite and helpful. The food is gourmet. We loved the open concept design, with separate villas, decks, sitting rooms and restaurant (with both indoor and outdoor dining). And the views from everywhere on the premises are outstanding! A real luxury experience, close to Addo and private game reserves.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

MUST STAY! ONE OF A KIND GEM!

Posted Dec 11, 2011
This place is AMAZING! From the minute you arrive, you feel like a king/queen, Kay made us feel like honored guests. The huge rooms are so beautiful with incredible views and so private. The attention to detail, every time you look in another direction you find another GREAT surprise! This is an affordable luxury that SHOULD NOT BE MISSED. The food was top-notch, even if you are not staying on the property, you should consider visiting for dinner. We loved meeting the owner, Archie and it is easy to see this property is a labor of love.