Ratings based on 6 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Israel

Amazing experience

Posted May 8, 2016
Spent two nights at the main lodge. Had amazing four drives with unbelievable Rudi - our reserve guide. Rudi made the experience so much better, he had so much knowledge and info about the bush, he took care of every little detail, and was the nicest. We saw lions, elephants, rhinos, impalas, ghanoo, zebras, girraffes and many more. The reserve is so green and powerfull, you definatly can feel the wild. The schedule is comfortable, food was nice, and the chalet was huge but still cousy. Go to Kariega and ask for Rudi! One little note to Kariega staff: we almost missed the first drive on 1530. Maybe you should send an email day or two before to let the guests know that first drives is on 1530 so that guests will check in on time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2016 by Kariega Game Reserve, Hotel Management
Hi Noa, Thank you so much for your great review. We are so pleased that you had a great stay at Main Lodge and an excellent safari amongst the wildlife with ranger Rudi. We have passed on your thanks to him. We have also noted your suggestion regarding earlier game drive start times and will ensure that this is included with the information sent on to guests before their stay and confirmed on check in. Kind regards from the Kariega team.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Exceeded all expectations

Posted Aug 21, 2015
Wish we could have stayed longer. What an awesome experience. The highlight being our exceptional guide (Bongani) whose knowledge of African wildlife was amazing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 15, 2016 by Kariega Game Reserve, Hotel Management
Thank you! Really appreciate you taking the time to post your review. Kind regards from Kariega.
5 out of 5
by R from Chichester

Comfortable lodge chalet and stunning wildlife

Posted Dec 12, 2014 on Hotels
The Main Lodge chalet had 2 bedrooms, (1 bathroom and 1 ensuite) with a central living room with wood burner, kitchen, and outdoor viewing patio deck. Comfortable beds and showers, all warm in showery weather and very clean. Breakfast,lunch and varied dinner buffets were scheduled around the 3 hour game drives with a ranger twice a day. There was a pool which we did not have time to see/use. Fantastic viewing of animals/birds/insects/plants with knowledgeable, friendly ranger.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Safaris sind super

Posted Apr 17, 2016
Pros: Die Jeep-Safari bei Sonnenaufgang ist empfehlenswert, da lohnt sich das frühe Aufstehen.
Cons: Es fehlt die Beschreibung zum Ablauf. (Anreise, Uhrzeit der Safaris, Abreise etc.) Wir haben uns vorort tel. erkundigt.
Wunderschöne Bungalows mit Blick von der Terrasse in den Kariega -NP. Das Gelände ist sehr weitläufig, wir hatten 15 Minuten Fußweg bis zur Main Lodge zum Essen. Man kann sich aber ggfs. vom persönlichen Ranger abholen lassen.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2016 by Kariega Game Reserve, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your kind review and suggestions to improve our service. We have noted to ensure that the daily schedule is included on booking. We appreciate that our chalets are set amongst the bush and that some are further from the main lodge buildings. However, we feel the privacy and views make up for the walk. As you say, your ranger will gladly collect and return you to your chalet for meals. With kind regards from the Kariega team.
3 out of 5
by Johan from Stockholm

Bra safari

Posted Feb 11, 2016 on Hotels
Kariega är ett vackert naturområde. Utmärkt safari, vi fick se noshörningar, lejon, elefanter, giraffer, flodhästar, zebror mm. De hade jätteduktiga guider, bra service och god mat. Stugorna på main lodge var enkla. Skulle behöva renoveras.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2016 by Kariega Game Reserve, Hotel Management
Hi Johan, We are so pleased that you enjoyed your safari and stay with us at Kariega Main Lodge. Thank you for your compliments about the food, guides, service, wildlife and nature. Our wooden log chalets at Main Lodge are private, spacious and comfortable set in the natural bush. We are constantly working to improve our facilities and are in the process of redoing the showers and decks this year, in addition to various other refurbishments. Our guest comfort and enjoyment is key! Thank you for taking the time to add your review, much appreciated. Kind regards from Kariega
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Kariega

Posted Nov 21, 2014 on Hotels
Vi tillbringade två dagar på Kariega med två spännande safaris.