Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

NOT a 5 star hotel more like a 3 star

Posted Nov 26, 2014
This hotel was not worth the money they charge, there are no directions to this hotel, nobody knew where it was not even a highway policeman ,we got a brochure from a mini bus tour driver but he did not know where it was we phoned the hotel and was given some directions, we were directed onto a dirt road still for 25kilom before we saw a sign then another 35kilom still on dirt roads, from the Addo Elephant national park which was the address we were given it took us another 3hrs by the time we arrived there we were very upset and tired I ask to see the manager and did not get much satisfaction from her, the rooms are not up to 5star standard and the game drives are not good, not enough animals, would not recommend it
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kathy from New Hampshire, USA

Great experience!

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: It is in the malaria free zone. Combines luxury and outdoor experiences very well. Although it was considered the winter season, weather was great,
Cons: Website explanation of arrival timing with relation to first safari (one hour window),
Location: Very remote location.
Loved the facility and friendly staff. It is a very long gravel road drive to get there and we we told that check in did not begin before 2:00 so we arrived at about 3:30 already too late for the afternoon safari that left at 3:00, so they gave us credit for any of the additional actives they offered the next day, I.e. Cheetah walk, caves, spa. We availed ourselves of everything they had to offer. We had great morning and afternoon safaris with Rangers Rodwell and Jonathan who were both excellent at tracking the animals. We saw lions (and their kill), Cape Buffalo, elephants, rhino, cheetahs, ostrich, baboons, monkeys, every sort of antelope and wildebeest, and even saw a tortoise. The birds were abundant and beautiful. Driving into the park we came across about a dozen giraffes. The food, including afternoon tea at 2:00 was very well done.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Neil from Holmfirth, West Yorkshire

Superb Kuzuko

Posted Mar 11, 2014
Pros: Staff, rooms, view, food.
Cons: The only thing I can think of is putting a sign at the junction with the main road. Just to take the doubt out of the dirt track drive.
Location: Location is superb. It's all right there. We saw Rhino, Elephant, antelope, baboons, zebra, kudu,cheetah, secretary birds, and many others. Brilliant
Loved our stay at Kuzuko Lodge. As we drove along the dirt track leading to the lodge we wondered if we were going the right way. There are very few signs and the road is long. Eventually we arrived at reception where you leave your car and jump in a safari jeep for the last couple of miles to the lodge. The Lodge itself is situated at the top of a hill overlooking the park. Beautiful views. We thought that the food was very good with a reasonable choice. The rooms were excellent. Lovely outside space with view. Inside everything clean and plenty of room. Fantastic. The safaris were excellent with well informed guides who were always enthusiastic and doing their very best to make sure that you got to see all the animals. Following a running black Rhino for a while and driving up a track to be met by Saracen the large Bull Elephant walking towards us was unforgettable. As he approached within about 20 feet you could tell who was going to give way ! We loved Kuzuko Lodge and after leaving we recommended it to several fellow travellers. It's also close to Addo National Park so after leaving Kuzuko we drove south through Addo. Another amazing experience Absolutely recommend a stay at Addo. The staff are excellent and you can tell that they are all very happy working at the lodge which makes the visitor happy too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ingrid from hawaii

game drive

Posted Jul 3, 2013
Pros: the beauty of the karoo
Cons: the food could be better not bad though but not the best part of the stay
Location: you have a 40km/36 mile drive on dirt which takes a little longer then I had planned
the game drives would have been better if the driver had taken the time to slow down - our fault though for not saying something straight away - scenery stunning and we saw lots of buck, the herd of elephants and the 2 lions and cheetah - the food was decent to good and the staff were very friendly and accommodating. It was a nice introduction to the game experience for my 5 year old daughter. The weather can be cold on the drives so I was happy for my down jacket and hat - gloves would have been a good thing to add to your packing list if you are there in the winter.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Hong kong

Great value

Posted Nov 7, 2011
This is a great place to go if you want some luxury, relaxing times and animals. Dont expect to find lots of animals every where as they arent loads and sometimes hard to find but it adds to the event. Especially would recommend with kids.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from paris

Un endroit sublime pour faire des safaris

Posted May 1, 2016
Pros: Le calme
Un lodge en harmonie avec la nature. Guides et personel qualifé.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sehr schöne Lodge aber keine Tiere

Posted Mar 21, 2016
Pros: der Ausblick und das Restaurant mit toller Terrasse
Cons: Leider sind bei den Ausfahrten kaum Tiere zu sehen
Die Lodge ist sehr schön und hat eine herrliche Lage - super Ausblick ! Das Personal ist ausgesprochen freundlich und das Essen in tollem Ambiente ist hervorragend ! Der Weg zur Lodge auf unbefestigter Straße - 40 km - ist sehr lange ! Wer allerdings hierher kommt um Tiere zu sehen wird sicherlich enttäuscht werden ! Es gibt ein paar Elephanten und 4 Löwen , die man während der Ausfahrten suchen muss - in unserem Fall erfolglos !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lodge mitten in einem privaten Reservat

Posted Nov 14, 2015
Pros: Das Personal im Hotel ist sehr nett, sowie die Ranger.
Die Kuzuko Lodge befindet sich in einem privaten Reservat vom Addo Elephant Park. Die Anreise führt eine ca.35km lange unbefestige Straße. Bei der Anreise sollte man etwas mehr Zeit einplanen. Ist man bei der Rezeption angekommen, wird man sehr nett empfangen und bekommt einen Begrüßungsdrink. Von der Rezeption wird man mit einem Safari Jeep in die Lodge gefahren, das eigenee Auto bleibt bei der Rezeption stehen. Bei der Ankunft erhält man eine Handmassage und wird danach zum Zimmer gebracht. Jeder Gast hat ein eigenes Chalet, die sehr geräumig sind. Frühstückzeiten von 7 bis 10 Uhr, Lunch von 14:00 bis 16:00 Uhr, Abendessen ab 19:00 Uhr. 2 Game Drives pro Tag sind inklusive, einmal von 6:00 bis 9:00 Uhr bzw. 16:00 bis 19:00 Uhr. Die Ranger geben sich sehr viel Mühe alle Tiere wie z.B Elefanten, Löwen, Nashorn, Büffel,Giraffen zu zeigen, dies ist aber keine Garantie das alle Tiere immer zu sehen sind, weil es wetterabhängig ist bzw. das Reservat sehr groß ist. In den Gamedrives wird oft eine kleine Kaffee oder Trinkpause gemacht. Auch Decken für kalte Morgen und Abende sind mit an Bord.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

einzigartige lage

Posted Dec 6, 2014
die lage der lodge ist natürlich genial. es gibt ausreichend pirschfahrten, auf denen man auch tiere (v.a. kudus, springbock) sehen kann. wir hatten glück und haben auch büffel, elefant, giraffe und die löwen erspähen können. die guides sind sehr bett und erfüllen die wünsche ser gäste. das hotel selbst hat aber keine 5 sterne in unseren augen, eher 4. alles ist sauber und ok, aber dann doch etwas in die jahre gekommen. als wir da waren war der wellnessbereich spontan geschlossen usw. alles kein thema, aber eben keine luxuslodge. essen ist sehr gut, auch hier wieder: keine 5 sterne aber absolut köstlich (v.a. abendessen). die snacks zum tee/kaffee am nachmittag (frühlingsrollen und chicken wings) sind halt nicht jedermanns sache... alles in allem aber ein toller aufenthalt. nochmal wiederkommen würden wir aber nicht - liegt aber eher daran, dass "safaris" nicht our cup of tea sind...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

atemberaubendes Hotel in der Wildniss

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Ausblick und die Gamedrives
Location: Man kann nur die Gamedrives machen oder zB Wellness
Diese Lodge ist der Wahnsinn, vom Zimmer und vom Pool aus hat man einen Ausblick über den Park. Man kann die Tiere beobachten und dabei entweder im pool oder in der Badewanne entspannen. Das Essen ist sehr lecker und es gitb eine große Auswahl. Die Ranger sind alle sehr freundlich und gut ausgebildet. Die Gamedrives waren ein einmaliges Erlebnis ! Wir kommen gerne wieder