Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Simply amazing

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Maybe more lighting along the path at night would be good, it might just prevent you from stepping on small creatures.
Location: It's in the middle of nowhere so you will probably spend your whole time in the lodge. Not a bad things, have food and get ready for afternoon drive.
The lodge is located on a private part of the reserve which only guests have access to, so you will not get lots of cars driving around searching for animals. The staff are amazing and made us feel very welcome. A big thanks should go to our ranger JP who was absolutely amazing throughout our stay. His knowledge and passion for the animals and environment was inspirational. We probably spent 8 hours on the road each day (we stayed three nights) but not once did we feel bored or tired. Tracking elephants on foot was an awesome experience and I would highly recommend it to everyone staying. Even if you don't get too close to the animals just exploring the area on foot is great fun and you learn a few things about fauna and flora. If you like wildlife and tranquility you will not want to leave this place, just like me. Thank you Kuzuko Lodge
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 19, 2017 by Jacomé , Hotel Management
Dear Petra, Thank you for your feedback. We do value your time and feedback. I am pleased to confirm that we are busy upgrading the pathway lights. We are looking forward to welcoming you again within the near future. Kind Regards
5 out of 5
by Kristin

Stunning private reserve, excellent value

Posted Dec 24, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent value in a private game reserve. Chalets are private, and look out on beautiful valley with water hole favoured by the local elephants (but bring binoculars, the distance is far). The staff were lovely and accommodating and the game rangers knowledgeable and friendly. We went with Dean who really went above and beyond to accommodate requests as much as possible and happily drove us down to the water hole to hang out with the elephants on an extra quick bonus drive. The included meals are adequate to good for vegetarians. When we visited, the menu suffered from the usual South African misconception that "vegetarian" includes "eats fish" (which we don't), but nicely avoided the trap of serving only pasta and cheese. There were lots of fresh and roasted veg, and the veggie set menus really only need to add in some legumes and drop the fish to be really outstanding. (Unless you like fish -- in which case you will probably enjoy but please call yourself pescetarian and not vegetarian and save the rest of us some frustration!) The spa, again, adequate to good. Super friendly and pleasant basic services, but you are not going to find specialist care in the bush. My quibbles are just trivial quibbles, however. Overall stunning experience, excellent scenery, wonderful staff, and lots of quality close up time with lions and elephants.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

peace of heaven

Posted May 1, 2016 on Hotels
We had a wonderful stay. Staff ware warm and polite. The room is amazing and so are the views.
5 out of 5
by Manisha from London

Posted Oct 26, 2015 on Hotels
Amazing stay! Our ranger Renu was great and very knowledgable. The staff was very accommodating and provided a fantastic service
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

NOT a 5 star hotel more like a 3 star

Posted Nov 26, 2014
This hotel was not worth the money they charge, there are no directions to this hotel, nobody knew where it was not even a highway policeman ,we got a brochure from a mini bus tour driver but he did not know where it was we phoned the hotel and was given some directions, we were directed onto a dirt road still for 25kilom before we saw a sign then another 35kilom still on dirt roads, from the Addo Elephant national park which was the address we were given it took us another 3hrs by the time we arrived there we were very upset and tired I ask to see the manager and did not get much satisfaction from her, the rooms are not up to 5star standard and the game drives are not good, not enough animals, would not recommend it
5 out of 5
by ex-SA now from Oz from Perth

Everything as advertised

Posted Jul 22, 2014 on Hotels
Great place, best value lodge in South Africa
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kathy from New Hampshire, USA

Great experience!

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: It is in the malaria free zone. Combines luxury and outdoor experiences very well. Although it was considered the winter season, weather was great,
Cons: Website explanation of arrival timing with relation to first safari (one hour window),
Location: Very remote location.
Loved the facility and friendly staff. It is a very long gravel road drive to get there and we we told that check in did not begin before 2:00 so we arrived at about 3:30 already too late for the afternoon safari that left at 3:00, so they gave us credit for any of the additional actives they offered the next day, I.e. Cheetah walk, caves, spa. We availed ourselves of everything they had to offer. We had great morning and afternoon safaris with Rangers Rodwell and Jonathan who were both excellent at tracking the animals. We saw lions (and their kill), Cape Buffalo, elephants, rhino, cheetahs, ostrich, baboons, monkeys, every sort of antelope and wildebeest, and even saw a tortoise. The birds were abundant and beautiful. Driving into the park we came across about a dozen giraffes. The food, including afternoon tea at 2:00 was very well done.
5 out of 5
by Carolyn Jones from Wales

Wonderful setting

Posted Mar 28, 2014 on Hotels
Great food. Wonderful setting. Knowledgeable guides. Would certainly recommend this game lodge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Neil from Holmfirth, West Yorkshire

Superb Kuzuko

Posted Mar 11, 2014
Pros: Staff, rooms, view, food.
Cons: The only thing I can think of is putting a sign at the junction with the main road. Just to take the doubt out of the dirt track drive.
Location: Location is superb. It's all right there. We saw Rhino, Elephant, antelope, baboons, zebra, kudu,cheetah, secretary birds, and many others. Brilliant
Loved our stay at Kuzuko Lodge. As we drove along the dirt track leading to the lodge we wondered if we were going the right way. There are very few signs and the road is long. Eventually we arrived at reception where you leave your car and jump in a safari jeep for the last couple of miles to the lodge. The Lodge itself is situated at the top of a hill overlooking the park. Beautiful views. We thought that the food was very good with a reasonable choice. The rooms were excellent. Lovely outside space with view. Inside everything clean and plenty of room. Fantastic. The safaris were excellent with well informed guides who were always enthusiastic and doing their very best to make sure that you got to see all the animals. Following a running black Rhino for a while and driving up a track to be met by Saracen the large Bull Elephant walking towards us was unforgettable. As he approached within about 20 feet you could tell who was going to give way ! We loved Kuzuko Lodge and after leaving we recommended it to several fellow travellers. It's also close to Addo National Park so after leaving Kuzuko we drove south through Addo. Another amazing experience Absolutely recommend a stay at Addo. The staff are excellent and you can tell that they are all very happy working at the lodge which makes the visitor happy too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ingrid from hawaii

game drive

Posted Jul 3, 2013
Pros: the beauty of the karoo
Cons: the food could be better not bad though but not the best part of the stay
Location: you have a 40km/36 mile drive on dirt which takes a little longer then I had planned
the game drives would have been better if the driver had taken the time to slow down - our fault though for not saying something straight away - scenery stunning and we saw lots of buck, the herd of elephants and the 2 lions and cheetah - the food was decent to good and the staff were very friendly and accommodating. It was a nice introduction to the game experience for my 5 year old daughter. The weather can be cold on the drives so I was happy for my down jacket and hat - gloves would have been a good thing to add to your packing list if you are there in the winter.