Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
5.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best private game lodge

Posted Sep 22, 2016 on Hotels
Had an amazing stay at Pumba - impeccable service, good food, luxurious accommodation at the Gembok Water lodge and excellent game drives. Highly recommended!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent, Uk

Gorgeous hotel with animals included!

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: The safaris, the room, the food.
Cons: Replenishment of drinks during meal times could have been better.
We stayed in the Kudu Suite at the Waterfront lodge part of Pumba. Room was massive with two bedrooms with stunning views over the water, a lounge area and two bathrooms. Each with its own bath, one being a jacuzzi bath and open glass showers capturing the magnificent views. Even got to shower with the monkeys looking on! With two safaris each day, we also got to see many animals including rhino, elephant, giraffe, lion and buffalo. We even got to see the hippo in the water from our room. Our ranger on the safaris was very knowledgable and helpful. Food was all inclusive and lovely and all staff were friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend this experience to anyone and would stay again in an instance. We were sad to leave but it will hold many memories for us.
5 out of 5
by Hazel M from Perth, Australia

Wonderful experience

Posted Jul 12, 2016 on Hotels
Was perfect in every way, could not have asked for anything more or better. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
by j from Cyprus

Perfect Pumba

Posted Mar 10, 2015 on Hotels
From arrival to departure it was a magical experience at Pumba Water Lodge. Our accommodation had the real "wow" factor with our own private plunge pool and the attention to detail was second to none, even down to nice little touches such as fresh milk in your fridge every day and sherry and nibbles in your room along with homemade cookies. The game safari rides were excellent even had a stop half way for a drink and small snacks to eat. Quality of food in restaurant was really good and the service friendly and efficient. Had our laundry sorted which was all in with the price we paid. Pumba was the highlight of our holiday, amazing !!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, Australia

Secluded game lodge

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Pros: The room was fabulous - I've stayed in many hotels & this is one of the nicest rooms I've ever stayed in. It was all fantastic really.
Pumba Game Lodge is a beautiful place about 110 kms from Port Elizabeth. The lodge was gorgeous, the rooms in the Bush Lodge were mini suites with small private plunge pools. The attention to detail was superb. The restaurant was good - all food & wine included. The ranger who took us on our game drives was very knowledgeable and went out of her way to find wildlife for us to view & what a treat it was - lions, giraffes, zebras, rhinos, elephants, impala, blesbuck etc. It's not cheap but certainly worth it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Absolutely fantastic!

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: To have stayed longer!
Location: You can go into the historic town of Grahamstown or go to Port Elizabeth but you will not want to leave Pumba, it's wonderful there.
Loved it all...location, friendly staff, food and game drives! Stunning resort!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 13, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing Game Reserve

Posted Nov 7, 2013
Pros: Lunch was surpassed (albeit a wonderful feast) by elephants and giraffes strolling down to the lake. A roll top bath with a view!
Cons: Nothing, we had very high expectations but they were exceeded.
Location: You won't want to leave the reserve!
Fabulous location, friendly staff, incredible animals, game drives phenomenal. The lodge was intimate and superb - we were there in spring and the wood-burner was lit after dinner. We felt honoured to be visiting the animals in their own environment Everything was included but clear head needed for early morning game drive, supported by brilliant guides. Everyone should do this.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Claire from Northumberland, UK

Amazing

Posted Nov 25, 2012
Pros: Outdoor shower
Cons: Food could be better
Location: Near grahamstown
Amazing. Book pumba, you won't be disappointed. An intimate reserve but with great game viewing.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 20, 2016 on Hotels