Ratings based on 110 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Historic hotel near many restaurants and shops

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: Location & staff
Cons: Black out curtains and/or solar shades for the rooms. The flat roof appeared to be a great candidate for solar panels.
Location: Restaurants, Plein air art festival, antique shops and local artisan shops
All the staff were great. Everything went smoothly from the guest check in to the wait staff in Hunter's Tavern. We arrived early and alerted the front desk. We did not expect our room to be ready, however, I received a phone call from the front desk 2-1/2 hours later letting us know that our room was ready and we could check in. I would recommend black out curtains and/or solar shades for the rooms as the sun was able to peak out from under the window treatments just enough to let in sunlight. We stayed on the 4th floor in the recently renovated rooms which were well appointed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2016 by Tidewater Inn Manager, Hotel Management
Debbie, thank you for sharing your great experience at the Tidewater Inn. You picked a wonderful weekend to visit Easton during the Plein Air art festival. We are delighted that you had such a great experience with our staff and we were able to accommodate your early arrival. Thank you for your feedback regarding the blackout curtains, solar shades and solar panels. We truly value your comments and appreciate your recommendations. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Lauren Catterton, Inn Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Love the location

Posted Jan 5, 2016
We have stayed here twice in the past six months and have enjoyed both visits.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 21, 2016 by Lauren Catterton, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your Tidewater Inn experience. We are delighted that you have stayed with us on several occasions over the past year. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon! Lauren Catterton Inn Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque, NM

Why limit your rating to 3 star?

Posted Dec 18, 2015
Pros: Everything. See above.
Location: Easton is a lovely little town.
We love this place and stay there whenever in Easton. Gorgeous old world elegance. The restaurant is first rate and everything is always perfect. The rooms are not huge as it is an old place, but clean, comfortable and beautiful
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2016 by Lauren Catterton, Inn Manager, Hotel Management
Julie, I am so happy that you had a wonderful trip with us in Easton! Thank you for your rave review and saying that we should not limit ourselves to 3 star. We certainly strive to provide the highest level of service and facilities. It is wonderful that you were able to experience all that Easton and the Tidewater have to offer during your visits. We hope that you are already planning a return trip to Easton!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 15, 2015
Cons: Breakfast at adjoining tavern was overpriced and service was fair.
Welcoming lobby -beautiful fireplaces in several main floor areas ,festively decorated for the holiday. Front desk staff very helpful. Wonderful outside fireplace on patio of adjoining tavern. Outside areas well cared for and nicely landscaped. Room was small for "king" room but nicely done, bathrooms are small but go along with the historic character of the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2016 by Inn Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your recent stay at the Tidewater Inn on Expedia. We are sorry to hear that your experience at Hunters’ Tavern was unsatisfactory. We will certainly address your service concerns with our staff to ensure our standards are being met. On a positive note, we are delighted to that you thoroughly enjoyed the hotel and certainly look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back! Lauren Catterton Inn Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque, NM

Elegant. Comfortable. Convenient

Posted Nov 8, 2015
I love the elegant feel of this place. It is only slightly more expensive than the chains on the highway and so much nicer. The bar and restaurant is top notch and so nice to be right in the hotel. It is very convenient for walking around the town of Easton and there is parking on site. You made me answer the 3-star quality question. I think it is HIGHER than 3 star. I think you should give reviewers more option with this question.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2016 by Lauren Catterton, Inn Manager, Hotel Management
Julie, thank you for such a wonderful review! We are so grateful that you shared this on Expedia and even happier to hear what a great experience you had at the Tidewater Inn. Like you, we also feel that we are higher than 3 star and will look into changing that question. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from baltimore

Really a pity

Posted Sep 23, 2015
This hotel is in a great location and is cute and quiant and just seems perfect when you arrive. But on this Saturday night, with two weddings in house, the paper thin walls resulted in us getting almost no sleep
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 6, 2015 by Lauren Catterton, Inn Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing the Tidewater Inn! We do our very best to ensure all of our guests have an enjoyable stay by enforcing quiet hours.We value your feedback and will work towards improving our guest experience through staff training and guest communication.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to St. Michaels

Posted Sep 11, 2015
Chose this hotel because of the small town feel & proximity to St. Michaels for a 3 day mini vacation. The hotel is grand from a historical standpoint. Small shops & pubs within walking distance. My only complaint was that the rooms are small & our walk-in shower was only 2' x 3'. I suggest you ask for a room with a tub/shower combo.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2015 by Lauren Catterton, Inn Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing the Tidewater Inn for your “mini” vacation. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time in Easton. As a historic hotel, no one guest room is alike from a size standpoint. We have a number of different room types that do offer more space and larger renovated bathrooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DC suburbs

Charming Hotel with Excellent Service

Posted Aug 25, 2015
We spent one night at the Tidewater on our way to the beach. It was absolutely charming - beautiful lobby and very friendly staff. My daughters and I arrived late in the evening and the doorman went above and beyond - meeting us in the parking lot and escorting us inside. I don't understand the reviewers who complain about the size of the rooms/bathrooms. We booked a room with two doubles and, while it was not large, it was very cozy and had everything we needed. The bathroom was really cute with nice toiletries. The beds were very comfy and well-appointed. All in all, we had a brief but lovely stay at the Tidewater and we look forward to returning in the future!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2015 by Lauren Catterton, Hotel Management
Jessica, thank you for your kind review! We greatly appreciate you sharing your experience on Trip Advisor and happy to see your comment regarding other reviews. We know that some of our rooms aren’t the most lavish but we have done everything we can to ensure they are comfortable, clean and well-appointed for our guests. We are very much looking forward to having you back. Lauren Catterton Inn Manager  
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MN

Historic Comfort

Posted Jul 12, 2015
We loved the Tidewater Inn! They allowed us to check in three hours early and we had a lovely two room/two bath suite. Tidewater is an historic building so not everything is updated but the comfort and amenities are not lacking in the slightest. This hotel fit with the town and the experience we were hoping to have. They also serve a nice breakfast buffet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2015 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Mimi, thank you for sharing your wonderful Tidewater Inn experience. We are so happy that we were able to offer you an early check in for one of our spacious guest rooms. Over the coming months, we will be enhancing more of our guest rooms to ensure we are offering our guests updated facilities. We are looking forward to welcoming you back during your next trip to Easton. Lauren Catterton, Inn Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice place for a wedding, but just okay to stay.

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Cons: A vanity under the sink or counter space for toiletries.
Location: Lots of little shops and restaurants in Easton. Near Oxford and St. Michael's and the Tred on Avon river for boating.
Staff very nice and downstairs rooms and courtyard very nice. Guest rooms small, crowded and bathrooms old with little space for toiletries. Furniture scratched up. It was okay for one night as we attended a wedding at their sister property the Chesapeake Bay Beach Club.