Ratings based on 66 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Orion from Florida, USA

Good Hotel for Overnight

Posted May 11, 2013 on Hotels
My cousin and I stayed here overnight before a day trip to Tivoli and Hadrian's Villa. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. We arrived late, so we did not have dinner at the hotel. Breakfast was great with lots of options for fruit, breads, meat & cheese, and pastries. The surrounding area isn't all that exciting, but we had a car so there was no need to walk anywhere local. Parking was easy in their lot. I can certainly see this as more of a 'business hotel' than a memorable place to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2014 by HotelTivoli, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. Our Hotel offers accomodation both business clients (the hotel has a large convention center) that individual guests or groups. Best regards, see you soon
4 out of 5
by Daniela

Comfortable

Posted Nov 28, 2012 on Hotels
Friendly staff and comfortable room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2014 by HotelTivoli, Hotel Management
Dear Customer, Thank you for the review. We look forward soon in our hotel. Best regards, the Director
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kerry from Australia

Excellent accommodation around 10kms from Tivoli

Posted Jun 7, 2012
Hotel was very large and caters mainly for large conferences as well as others. Reception staff rather off-hand but waiter in restaurant for dinner excellent. The location of the hotel though is quite a distance from the main tourist attractions of Tivoli and you would need a car to get there. Nothing much around the hotel of tourist value and generally shabby and uncared for. Rooms were lovely though and it was very good value for an overnight stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2014 by HotelTivoli, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thanks for your comment. We would like to emphasize that our hotel is located just a few miles from Tivoli and its Villas, where our guests can arrive by car, bus or train. Our Hotel offers a accomodation both business clients (it has a large convention center) that individual guests or groups. Best regards, see you soon
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Duca d'Este

Posted Oct 14, 2011 on Hotels
What a delight. Convenient to Villa Adriana and fairly near to Tivoli, the hotel was easy to find and had good parking. This was a genuine 4-star experience. In Rome, we had just come from Hotel Giada which claimed 3-stars but weren't even remotely close to the Hotel Duca d'Este. Breakfast was good and service was impeccable. Unfortunately NOT convenient for those exploring Rome.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2014 by HotelTivoli, Hotel Management
Dear Customer, thanks a lot for the review. We hope to see you soon again as our guest. The Director
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from roccalvecce vt

Posted Oct 9, 2011 on Hotels
Our hotel smelled of intense odor of the sulfur from the baths for several hour. My husband had problems sleeping because of this odor, The hotel location made it the only place to eat and although the food was not bad it had no real taste.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Laurie from California

Excellent choice

Posted Jun 6, 2011
We enjoyed our stay. Dinner on the terrace was exceptional!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2014 by HotelTivoli, Hotel Management
Dear Customer, Thank you for the review. We look forward soon in our hotel. Best regards, the Director
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Grand hotel Duca E'Este - Worst hotel EVER.

Posted May 24, 2011 on Hotels
This hotel has got to be the worst hotel I've ever been to. The carpets were disintegrating and in the corners there were MASSIVE dust bunnies. The bed sheets were stained, and the wall paper was black in areas and hanging off the walls. The bathroom was so filthy and looked like it had never been cleaned as there were dried soap suds over the shower. It was so bad we had to walk out even though we had already paid. The pictures they use to advertise are either very old or very well photo shopped. Trust me when I say do not stay at this hotel, even just for hygiene reasons.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 18, 2010 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

One of the best in Tivoli

Posted Apr 28, 2010
A comfortable, attractive hotel with a huge lobby, restaurant, and breakfast room. Our room was well appointed & clean. The staff was friendly. Parking is abundant. Several cafes & a supermarket are within walking distance. The problem is with the town itself. Bumper to bumper traffic nearly all day long with the rudest drivers we've ever seen but this is not the hotel's fault. It's an easy drive (traffic not withstanding) to the Villa d'Este & Villa Adriana, both of which require considerable walking/climbing steps. Not sure how the public transportation is but we were told the bus stop is near the hotel. And on the plus side one can stay here, visit the Tivoli sites, & rest before dealing with the challenges of returning to Rome by car.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2014 by HotelTivoli, Hotel Management
Dear Customer, thanks a lot for the review. We hope to see you soon again as our guest. The Director
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Some rude staff

Posted Dec 10, 2009
This is not a hotel I would recommend for anyone. It is situated between Rome and Tivoli in a run-down neighborhood. Many of the front desk staff were very rude and useless when asked questions about getting around or for information about Rome. The barstaff were very nice, helpful, and almost made up for the front desk staff. I would recommend checking out other hotels before booking this one.