Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Naples, IT

Cool setting, poorly soundproofed, abysmal Wifi

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: Location, scenery, staff.
Cons: Sound proofing (only interior needs to be improved, exterior is fantastic), Wifi, breakfast, restaurant policy, administration.
Location: Go to all three villas (D'Este, Gregoriana, Adriana). The town of Tivoli itself doesn't offer that much, but each of those villas is fantastic.
The hotel is in a fantastic setting, up above an olive orchard overlooking Tivoli. Its converted-castle structure is very cool but comes with drawbacks. The hotel advertises in-room wifi but even upon check-in they explained that we were unlikely to get signal in our room. We didn't. The marble floors and thin walls make for a noisy stay. The restaurant, which we were looking forward to for dinner, did not open because they did not get any reservations and noon same-day was too late to reserve a table. Also, I pre-paid the room and the manager either ignored or missed that and tried to charge me for the room when I departed. This could be an easy oversight, but it's annoying and inconvenient to explain and prove to the manager that I had already paid. This is a beautiful hotel and if you, as a guest, do not need wifi or phone signal and are willing to overlook the noisiness of the place, then I recommend it. But for the modern traveler just passing through Tivoli, there are likely better hotels that actually live up to a 4* rating.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Shabby not so chic.

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Location: Hadrian's villa and gardens of villa de'este.....other than that a dirty crowded city.
Main rooms of hotel okay. Maybe revamped in the last decade. Guest room fairly clean but dark, so who knew? Bed sagged in middle and mattress and pillows very thin and uncomfortable. Bathroom up short flight of stairs....difficult at night in dark. Booked a more expensive room because photos on line looked a little iffy. Pool looked nice but was cold and rainy post season.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from f

Quiet Friendly Charming

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Beautiful Classic Hotel in a great location. Very enjoyable stay for visits to Ville D'Este and Villa Adriana.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close but no cigar!

Posted Sep 22, 2016 on Hotels
This a very elegant hotel in a stunning location. However when a property advertises itself as having a bar and a restaurant one has a certain expectation that these will actually be in operation!! In addition mattress was very lumpy and bath exhibited several years worth of mold adjacent to the tiled wall. They just don't get the details.
4 out of 5
by Jeremy from London

Has potential

Posted Aug 15, 2016 on Hotels
As others have said, the hotel is dated and more geared to bus groups than individual travellers. But it's clean and comfortable, and has unbeatable views of Tivoli. Could be really great with a makeover. Staff are helpful and knowledgeable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Beautiful castle hotel with amazing view and pool

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: Very friendly staff, beautiful views, castle feeling, amazing pool
Cons: the sofa bed (used by the kids) was not very comfortable (too soft) for big kids
Location: Next to Villa d'Este and beautiful Tivoli. Short drive to Villa Adriana. Great place to be when visiting Tivoli!
We visited as a family of four and loved the place. The staff was extremely friendly and going out of their way to help us. They recommended the best restaurant we ate at on our entire trip, explained how to get everywhere we asked, and kept breakfast open an extra 30min for us when we overslept! The view is superb and the pool out of this world. All of this just a few minutes from "downtown" Tivoli!
4 out of 5
by Philip from London

A stay in Tivoli

Posted Jun 5, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel looks like past its best
5 out of 5
by Nicole from Orlando, fl

Loved it!

Posted May 29, 2016 on Hotels
I stayed here for my honeymoon, it was absolutely georgeous!! Loved it!
5 out of 5
by John from And Luciana from Fresno

ITS A CASTLE!

Posted Oct 8, 2015 on Hotels
This was a great experience -it is a castle which is obviously very old but magnificent.... Our room was huge-but I know some are smaller-we stayed on the 2nd floor overlooking the courtyard. Bedding was good (not premium-but good)--original wood walls and beautiful marble and chandeliers. Not s five star hotel experience-but a wonderful experience staying in one of those towered castles you see in the hills surrounding Tivoli and Rome areas! A must if you enjoy that opportunity. Friendly and helpful staff-typical breakfast with variety offerings. No wifi in rooms due to thickness of castle walls--free and available in the lobby, bar and reception area. Great place to hold an event...