Ratings based on 275 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Convenience and proximity to town.
Cons: Updates!
Just spend one night, but the staff was very helpful and friendly. As noted by others, the place needs some work.... I would think with all the money they make, that would not be a problem.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from k

Had no AC in first room!!! Moved to another room

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Moved from room with No AC to room with no TV. Was horrible. Smelled musty. Dirty and small. Breakfast was served right outside our room and we woken to the loud noise of people and the waffle maker beeping very loudly. No ice machine. Pool was closed. Nightmare experience.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sc

Not worth the money

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: It needs a total make over. I am surprised Wyndham would even put their name on a place like this.
We went for pony penning, so they know they have you over a barrel. The place is crummy, run down, dated and NOT worth 250 per night. There is no bell hop or cart, there were uncovered sockets in our room, the supposedly free internet didn't work. We were told it was because too many people were on their server. Not my problem. The room is small, bed uncomfortable, and it was jammed up against the A/C unit with no way to move it. The breakfast was greasy pre-cooked eggs and we had to ask for coffee.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

location is okay

Posted Aug 2, 2016
There were ants and we could smell mold. They took forever to check us in. They didn't have too many customers
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Needs renovation.

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: the price was cheaper then most but still too high for a cold shower in the morning. pool was nice although we didn't use it.
Cons: bigger water heater!! adding on to the back and moving tables & food there instead of in lobby.... updating the rooms and lobby area.
Location: beautiful island. Assateague Island trails & wildlife, Lighthouse and beach, Chincoteague Pony Swim, fishing, crabbing, boating
When I arrived the person at the front desk did not seem very friendly. I then found out their computers have been down most of the day. She warmed up when I was patient and understanding instead of giving her grief as most people were evidently doing the rest of day. The lobby was the breakfast area, tables and a TV, with the food counters on either side of the back door. Our room definitely needed some updating. The bathroom sink had 2x2 pieces of wood as legs. But the room was clean. The eggs were prepackaged that you had to heat up for a minute in the microwave. I did not try these as they did not look very appetizing. The cups for the juice were a little bigger then a shot glass. I have no complaints about the rest of the food. The worst part was the cold shower I took in the morning. I would expect more for the price they charged per night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PA

Mosquitoes everywhere

Posted Jul 30, 2016
We couldn't be outside much because of the mosquitos and there is no hotel lounge or rec area, Cable TV kept going out. And There is only one nice restaurant in town according to the hotel manager. nothing much to recommend about the hotel or the area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Typical Worn Out Wyndham Hotel

Posted Jul 29, 2016
The room was clean except for the awful stains on the carpet. The bed was worn out box springs. The AC was not enough to keep the room cold. The bedding was oversized. Wyndham properties are in serious need of investment and recommitment to quality. The staff makes this hotel, otherwise it's lousy.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hampton VA

Bad Air Conditioning!

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: Not a thing!
Cons: Tear it down and start over!
Location: Great Location!...best sandwiches for the beach are right across the street at a place called Steve's II
This hotel used to be quaint and a good deal and price when it was the Blue Heron. Now it is a really, really bad Days Inn. The air conditioning was bad (temps were in the high 90s so the room was uninhabitable), the bathroom vent fan was so loud it could not be turned on, and the breakfast was terrible!. We have been going to Chincoteque two or three times a year for the last eleven years and this is the worst hotel in Chincoteque.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Jason

Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
Hair on bed, ice cold shower, small room