Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Heritage hotel in delightful precinct

Posted Jul 25, 2017
This hotel is blessed with a fascinating history and had had many lives. Now it is a grand old lady of hospitality with guests returning from around Australia and the world. We are sorry to see the visionary Suzanne Gervais and family no longer at the helm but lovely that some of the staff remain. Thank you for moving us to a different room upon request and for making us welcome at the lobby fire in a cold evening! Top marks for service and locale.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the lovely review. You are correct the hotel is no longer owned by the Gervay family, however under the new direction of the hotel we will offer first rate service as you discovered on your stay with us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

Comfortable , welcoming , convenient small hotel.

Posted Jul 19, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: As above.Also very nice to be able to open the windows for fresh air.I appreciated the quiet room 22
Cons: The bathroom basin is not convenient, Too small and close to the wall . Also I had a call from reception at 11.45 pm which woke me up.
Location: Very convenient to Centennial Park. I gather the airport bus also drops off at the Hotel.
It was a very good home from home , and perfect for a weekend stay.I liked the warm welcome , small reception rooms with fireplaces , friendly visitors of all ages, and range of amenities, from breakfast to coffee to meals.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review us, it is great to hear that you had a good say with us and hope to see you again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kaz

Close to park

Posted Jul 16, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Close to park and convenient for a young family.
Cons: Carpark.
Location: Park right across the road and location is great!
Excellent service and great prep for our baby with a cot prepared. Breakfast was fantastic and comfort was always a factor. Will be back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
We hope to see you again soon. In regards to the car park, as you may have discovered it is best to book directly with us as we only have limited spaces.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Well located Happy to be helpful

Posted Jul 3, 2017
We were there for 3 nights We were able to get into our room early which was helpful .Staff were always helpful in all requests .It was a boutique experience Although some rooms need updating and not as good as some others
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am glad you found the staff to be helpful, we are currently updating all the rooms so by the time you stay with us next, all the rooms should be lovely
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Suited our needs

Posted Jun 24, 2017 on Wotif
Very comfortable. Excellent breakfast. Clean. They held a Sotheby's auction on one of the nights we were there which was very interesting and entertaining.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
It is great that you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to see you again soon
4 out of 5
by Robyn

Great place to stay

Posted Jun 21, 2017 on Hotels
Stay here when ever I can. New owners and they have changed the breakfast but still great. I think they are doing renovations as well which will make it even better.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017
Thank you for the lovely review, yes we are updating the premises and it's great to see good feedback on the small changes.
5 out of 5
by Christine

Great place to stay

Posted Jun 13, 2017 on Hotels
This is a great place to stay. We often go to Sydney to visit our son. Close to some of the best restaurants the continental breakfast is delicious. All the staff very friendly and accommodating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017
Thank you for your lovely review, we hope to see you again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Victoria

Elegant hotel , close city.

Posted May 29, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Atmosphere
Cons: Restaurant for dinner. Heating in rooms.
Location: Pleasant easy walk to coffee shops and boutiques. Hard to find a good restaurant for dinner.
Welcoming staff and atmosphere.Comfortable though small room. Lots of noise from other guests late night. Enjoyable breakfast in congenial area. Only thing missing was onsite restaurant for evening dinner.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review. Currently we do not have a restaurant for dinner but this will change in the future
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice vibe

Posted May 25, 2017 on Wotif
Excellent location. That's enough...I have no more to add. You do the hotel a disservice insisting that I write more.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the excellent review
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 22, 2017 on Wotif
Very lovely stay Close to stadium will definitely use again
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
We hope to see you again for your next stay with us