Ratings based on 132 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
51% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MN

Easy access off the highway & to the college

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Pros: Quiet, easy access, microwave, frig, and good mattresses!
Cons: It's basic, clean, and no frills.
Location: It's a college town, lots of antique stores downtown, and large lake area with bike/walking paths; La Crosse is nearby; beautiful area!
Came in late, but helpful staff to get me set up; pleasant room with all the basics; quiet, breakfast was ok, and gas station close by; I will go again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Menomonie, WI

Nice accommodating staff.

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Strange smell in back entrance, hot tub was not working, breakfast was typical.... scrambled eggs (?), sausage, make your own waffle, yogurt, fruit. Good enough to start your day. Location was very convenient, easy to get to. Staff was exceptionally accommodating. Very helpful. Probably won't need to return, but we would if the occasion arose.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 8, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Good basic hotel

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: Room was clean, check-in was quick, breakfast basic but good.
Cons: Hotel was few miles from downtown but getting there was easy and quick.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 7, 2016 on Hotels
Adequate
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NE Iowa

Service sucks, rooms were OK, don't go in the pool

Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Hotels
First off, there was no breakfast of any sort, not even coffee in the lobby. I booked 3 rooms with free cancellation, pay at check-in. When we got there, the guy at the front desk said the rooms were already charged to the card used for booking, it would be $40 more if we wanted to pay at check-in. The rooms were decently clean, one spelled heavily of air freshener, but overall not bad. When we went to the pool, we were the only ones there. There were no towels, the guy at the front desk acted like it was a huge inconvenience to get towels for the pool, even though they were right behind him. The pool had no chlorine in it, the hot tub had no chlorine or bromine in it. The facility wasn't bad, but the service is terrible. If you're looking for a cheap place to stay and don't want to swim or care about service, this isn't a bad option.
5 out of 5
by Suzette from Somerset, WI

Nice place, great value

Posted Aug 2, 2016 on Hotels
The room was just a bit small but all was fine, especially for the price. Breakfast was good.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The only thing missing was the mice

Posted Jul 26, 2016 on Hotels
This was one of the only hotels available in the area due to a local music festival. The location left little to be desired-an abandoned restaurant and a Walmart distribution center was nearby. I suppose that should have been a sign. The room appeared clean but then we noticed there was someone's leftover dinner and a soda in the fridge. The sheets had stains-not big ones but the kind where you question why you didn't remember to bring your black light. We decided to try out the hot tub. Horrible. The jets sprayed water up and out of the tub and because of this the floor and wooden baseboards around the tub were all moldy-disgusting. The next day we got back from lunch and our key cards didn't work in the room door so we went to the front desk to get help but there was no one there. We used the phone to call the manager, per the instructions. We waited at least 10 minutes. No one came to help. Finally, we just used the managers key card that had been left out on the desk to re-key our own room keys. Most irritatingly, we went out for the evening and when we got back to our room, we noticed that the door to our room had been left open. At some point someone had "cleaned" our room AND didn't shut the door leaving all of our belongings accessible to anyone who would have noticed. Seriously. If that's what we get for the "non-refundable" price we paid online, then the next time we book in that area, I'm going to make sure I just spend more to stay elsewhere instead.
2 out of 5
by jeri from West Salem

Very disappointing stay

Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Hotels
Our first room was very disappointing - stains on the bathroom wall and large stains on a chair and the floor. The tub was also very dirty. When I mentioned this to the front desk, the gentleman apologized and said we could move to another room. We settled into the second room and my daughter (who was disgusted to the point of nausea)was washing her hands and the sink immediately filled with water -- completely clogged. The owner/manager(?)tried to make light of the situation and came in with some drain cleaner. The fumes from that were intoxicating. I am not one to raise a fuss, so I stayed very calm about the whole thing. I was disappointed that after all we had been through, there was no offer of a discount or anything for our two night stay. I didn't ask, but they most certainly could have offered. Thus, the less-than-adequate review.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice spot to rest

Posted Jul 1, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice little place for stopping off of the highway. Restaurant left a little to be desired in the way of attentive service -- but the food was good. Pool was clean and nice.