Ratings based on 265 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

Lovely hotel, convenient for lakes.

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Pros: General open design and space, very relaxed atmosphere, great breakfast.
Cons: Bathroom update
Location: Convenient for Lakes and Penrith itself is lovely town.
Hotel facilities and staff great. Only slight issues, bathroom a little tired, crack in sink and tiled floor, otherwise very good hotel in good location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St Helens

Not as good as first time we stayed.

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Pros: Some of the dining room staff are very helpful and were willing to help when needed. Did like all the pumpkin carvings that were there for halloween
Cons: A place to tell staff if something needs attention, I.e. toilet seats or cleanliness, making sure that if fridge has milk in it that it is switched on
Location: Not far from Windermere for the walking and Carlisle for some shopping.
Nice hotel, but beds very hard and pillows not supportive. Hotel needs a little update. rooms are small on 3rd floor, and bathrooms could do with a scrub to get rid of the black on the sealant around bath. Food nice but pricy but didn’t expect anything else for the 4 star hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

No dinner after long journey - myopic service

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Pros: Funky room decor.
Last orders for dinner at 9.15 is unheard of in other hotels we use across UK and Europe. No dinner after a much delayed journey up the M6 is frustrating for us and surely a missed business opportunity. The pleasant staff commented this happens a lot, which is not surprising given the proximity to the main North South motorway to Scotland - an amazingly poor approach to management. Soup and sandwiches instead.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, close to the fells

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Kids had fun & enjoyed the facilities. One thing which let it down was my 7 year old daughter sliced her hand in the shower from a razor some irresponsible person has left there. Good food, nice atmosphere
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

short break before ging back to work

Posted Oct 24, 2017
when we arrived we didn't think much of the hotel on the outside to blue colour dose nothing for it but when you enter the hotel is lovely . we enjoyef relaxing in the pool the staff were very helpful good place to go will be back
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Whitley Bay

Comfortable building and good facilities

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: Good bar with slow service and very expensive drinks.Excellent reception staff.
Cons: Breakfast and room facilities
Location: Good location and excellent car park
Excellent staff. Family room booked but there was no shelving and no drawers. The wardrobe was full containing a fan , ironing board and iron. Consequently no where to store clothes. Continental breakfast was shocking. Only cereals and coffee. The only croissants were heavily coated in icing sugar. There was no cheese , ham or cooked meats. No buns or fresh bread.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beeswing, near Dumfries

Very satisfactory stay

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Pros: Inviting and friendly staff. Superb food and plenty of room to enjoy the evening in the bar and lounge areas.
Cons: There appeared to be no fan in our bathroom - no big issue, except that once the mirror misted up, it took forever to demist.
Location: I was here with my girlfriend, to attend a driving event the following day, so I can't really speak of what is available nearby.
Only stayed for one night and although everything was bordering on excellent, I felt the cost of the room a little high for what was actually on offer. No fan in our bathroom and on what I presume was a smoke detector, virtually over the bed, there was a green flashing light, which constantly flashed throughout the night. I felt this perhaps could have been put up in such a way as to not be in your line of sight when in bed, though I appreciate it is there as a safety feature. Note in room informed us there should have been water and milk in fridge; only a small bottle of milk and no water.I accept these are minor issues, but worthy of serious attention in my opinion, when paying a significant sum for a room of this supposed calibre.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Only issue is the cost of food in the cafe and restaurants which is over priced
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Beautifully decorated and well equipped rooms. My kids loved the bunk bed!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: Breakfast buffet hours a little short, buffet itself could be improved
Location: The downtown core is not too far but overall uphill from the hotel. A lot of restaurants and shops there. Closer to the hotel are mostly malls.
The hotel is nice, has great staff and decent rooms with lots of extra sleeping room for multiple guests per room. For those without a car or not on a tour, though it is not too far from the downtown core, the access is through a main road passing by malls on the other side. It is not a great walk, especially for those with some mobility issues. That is not a problem for visitors coming by car or on a tour bus (you'll see large groups of guests coming from those), but for the independent traveler coming by rail it is a little isolated.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017 by Michelle, Hotel Management
Many thanks for your feedback. We hope to be able to welcome you back to the Hotel in the future. Kind regards Michelle