Ratings based on 256 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Whitley Bay

Comfortable building and good facilities

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: Good bar with slow service and very expensive drinks.Excellent reception staff.
Cons: Breakfast and room facilities
Location: Good location and excellent car park
Excellent staff. Family room booked but there was no shelving and no drawers. The wardrobe was full containing a fan , ironing board and iron. Consequently no where to store clothes. Continental breakfast was shocking. Only cereals and coffee. The only croissants were heavily coated in icing sugar. There was no cheese , ham or cooked meats. No buns or fresh bread.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beeswing, near Dumfries

Very satisfactory stay

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Pros: Inviting and friendly staff. Superb food and plenty of room to enjoy the evening in the bar and lounge areas.
Cons: There appeared to be no fan in our bathroom - no big issue, except that once the mirror misted up, it took forever to demist.
Location: I was here with my girlfriend, to attend a driving event the following day, so I can't really speak of what is available nearby.
Only stayed for one night and although everything was bordering on excellent, I felt the cost of the room a little high for what was actually on offer. No fan in our bathroom and on what I presume was a smoke detector, virtually over the bed, there was a green flashing light, which constantly flashed throughout the night. I felt this perhaps could have been put up in such a way as to not be in your line of sight when in bed, though I appreciate it is there as a safety feature. Note in room informed us there should have been water and milk in fridge; only a small bottle of milk and no water.I accept these are minor issues, but worthy of serious attention in my opinion, when paying a significant sum for a room of this supposed calibre.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Only issue is the cost of food in the cafe and restaurants which is over priced
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Beautifully decorated and well equipped rooms. My kids loved the bunk bed!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: Breakfast buffet hours a little short, buffet itself could be improved
Location: The downtown core is not too far but overall uphill from the hotel. A lot of restaurants and shops there. Closer to the hotel are mostly malls.
The hotel is nice, has great staff and decent rooms with lots of extra sleeping room for multiple guests per room. For those without a car or not on a tour, though it is not too far from the downtown core, the access is through a main road passing by malls on the other side. It is not a great walk, especially for those with some mobility issues. That is not a problem for visitors coming by car or on a tour bus (you'll see large groups of guests coming from those), but for the independent traveler coming by rail it is a little isolated.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017 by Michelle, Hotel Management
Many thanks for your feedback. We hope to be able to welcome you back to the Hotel in the future. Kind regards Michelle
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Midlands

Lovely hotel

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Really lovely hotel if you wish to explore the Lake District. Clean room, no complaints. Helpful and friendly staff. Nice bar, not too pricey after you have been out all day, unlike the restaurant which was overpriced. Excellent Spa facilities, pool, Would definitely stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017 by Michelle, Hotel Management
Many thanks for your feedback. We hope to be able to welcome you back to the Hotel in the future. Kind regards Michelle
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Nice over night stay, pool and sauna are excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by Reservations, Hotel Management
Many thanks for your feedback. We hope to be able to welcome you back to the Hotel soon. Kind regards Michelle
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Lovely stay. Great family rooms, excellent bunk beds for kids. Location near to motorway but Pooley Bridge only 15 minutes away - lovely little village for walks by Ullswater lake.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2017 by Michelle, Hotel Management
Many thanks for your feedback. We hope you had an enjoyable stay and hope to be able to welcome you back soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kings Lynn

Looks can be deceiving

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Hotel looks a bit shabby from outside but really is lovely inside, staff lovely, room clean and comfortable. Nice welcome touches for the kids. Menu pricey and nothing for kids, had to eat elsewhere
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2017 by Michelle, Hotel Management
Many thanks for your feedback. We hope to be able to welcome you back soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Posted Aug 7, 2017
We stayed here for a wedding we had use of hotel spa and swimming pool (which we used on both days ) Went into town centre (which is only a short walk away ) lots f lovely shops and went for lunch staff at hotel are amazing and breakfast was 5 star thank you for a lovely weekend and we will be back