Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Smell from heating overwhelming

Posted Sep 3, 2013
Pros: The hotel was easy to find we arrived early so enjoyed a nice lunch the staff were very helpful . There is a nice garden at the back
Cons: Get rid of the smell of gas in premiere room number 7. It may not be dangerous but it isn't pleasant also the mattress was rock hard.
The hotel and the staff were very welcoming, we attended a wedding and returned about 10.30pm when we went to our room there was a strong smell of gas, I went to reception and told them that the smell in the room was Overwhelming, they replied that they knew about the smell but it was not dangerous, it would go away when the heating went off. We were both tired so stayed in the room. We both woke up with headaches. Er declined to stay for the second night we had booked. I can recommend the hotel but must say do not take room 7. The bed was also not for us it was very hard so along with the smell we didn't get a good nights sleep.
4 out of 5
by Ned's friends

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 17, 2013 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Peter from Norfolk

Buzzy Place

Posted Jul 31, 2013 on Hotels
Very enjoyable stay. They even moved the Hotel car to give us a parking place off road. . Met the locals just back from Newcastle races, say no more!
5 out of 5
by Judy from Cambridge

Excellent overnight stay

Posted Jul 23, 2013 on Hotels
This is such a good pub - just a few minutes off the A66, but surprisingly quiet on a warm night with all the windows open. Very good evening meal, superb breakfast (the 'mini' full English is a great idea after eating too much dinner previous night). Very surprised by the funky decor in our very large and comfortable room - not what I was expecting! Staff are friendly and efficient. As a very tall man carrying bags, my husband struggled to negotiate the stairs without hitting his head, but it was a small price to pay for staying somewhere with so much character! Don't miss the hilarious visitors' guide in the bedrooms. Definitely on the "return trip" list.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 12, 2013 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mary from North Lanarkshire, UK

Good choice for short stay

Posted Mar 21, 2013
Pros: Well appointed and comfortable rooms.
Cons: Lack of off road parking as inn is very busy at most times.
Location: Half a mile outside Appleby.
Welcoming young staff are a credit to the owners. Rooms are well decorated and well appointed with comfortable beds. All include i-pod docking stations, with Premier rooms also having hair straighteners as well as hair dryer, tea and coffee making and ironing facilities.Room 6 (Premier Garden Room) has direct access to the garden and a lovely large shower room. Breakfasts are cooked to order and plentiful. Good selection on menu for lunch and dinner. Anything we ate was tasty and good portion size.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel for a quiet get away or family break

Posted Feb 28, 2013
Great little place ideal for getting around the pennies lakes, and Durham Dales - highly recommended Good food and excellent breakfasts Our daughter loved having to adopt the teddy bear during our visit - great for families or couples
5 out of 5
by NikB

Superb from start to finish

Posted Feb 16, 2013 on Hotels
Superb all round. The staff could not be more helpful of friendly, nothing seems too much trouble. The room was great, free WiFi, shower fantastic, everything nicely decorated. Free tea & coffee. The Food was plentiful and very tasty. Absolutely no hesitation in recommending staying here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by MikeSpain from Expat near Nr Barcelona

Great hotel

Posted Jul 28, 2012
Pros: A really good hotel, which welcomes those travelling with a dog/dogs
Cons: None, all good
Location: 5 Minutes walk from the centre of Appleby
An old building but well kept and my room (no 6) was in great condition, nicely furnished, and with a modern and tasteful bathroom. The shower was particularly good, being of a semi-open circular design. The food was of very good quality and well presented - but not expensive. If you want to have your dog present when you eat an evening meal, it would need to be had in the public bar. The owners were very kind and helpful and the room gave direct access to the rear garden - particularly useful for those travelling with a dog. There are nice touches all about the room and the welcome presents for the dogs was a very nice touch (a ball and some treats). It made such a change from other places where dogs are only accepted with reluctance. Highly recommended, I look forward to returning sometime.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful inn and great food.

Posted Jul 10, 2012 on Hotels
We were given a large 2 bedroom suite and the entire place had been newly redone and decorated. It was beautiful and the people great. The breakfast was delicious and more than enough to start the day.