Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Old Style Comfort

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: Old style decor.
Location: Close to the Lakes District or a handy stay on the journey south from Edinburgh. Laundromat about a block away.
The George Hotel is a beautiful old hotel situated in a very central location at Penrith. Stay here if you like old style comfort and want an easy stroll around local shops, bus stops and the train station. The rooms are small but comfortable. There are no lifts so you will need to be mobile if your room is upstairs. Breakfast was in the ground floor dining room and included in our tariff. Plenty of toast, cereal, fruit, hot fare, yoghurt, juice, tea and coffee - in other words, a great start to set you up for the day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Very pleasant

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: Very pleasant old hotel, comfortable and quiet
Cons: Evening Dinner was good, we had the Early Dinner -choice could have been better.
Location: Convenient to M6 and Northern Lakes. We know the Lake District very well but were only passing through this time.
Had not been in Penrith for many years and found people friendly and interesting old town. Church was interesting
4 out of 5
by Two sisters from Bath

Country hotel just what you would like to find

Posted Oct 31, 2013 on Hotels
Cosy central hotel in busy market town emphasis on public areas but rooms spacious warm and comfortable. Breakfast a bit disappointing small portions and lack of attention but we preceded a busy period so to be kind perhaps we were unlucky,
5 out of 5
by Mrst from Blackpool

Lovely hotel

Posted Oct 11, 2013 on Hotels
Really enjoyed the trip would certainly go again
5 out of 5
by Jennings

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 5, 2013 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Marc from Evesham

Posted Aug 12, 2013 on Hotels
Lovely hotel, small room but everything in it was fine. The only problem was how hot the room was, I had the window open but the bell ringers must of been practising that night, blimey what a noise!!!!!!
4 out of 5
by Jay from Scottsdale, AZ

Close to train station

Posted Jul 31, 2013 on Hotels
Good hotel for beginning the Coast to Coast walk
5 out of 5
by Steve&adele from Southend on sea

Very friendly hotel with good service

Posted Jul 18, 2013 on Hotels
Extremely pleased with hotel and nothing was to much trouble, stayed during the heat wave and the staff were more than helpfull in providing fans etc, food was really good and reasonable priced, would recommend and will go back in the future, thank you George hotel for making our stay enjoyable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Much travelled from UK

Very Good Hotel

Posted Jul 17, 2013
Pros: Dining Room, Attentive Staff, Good Parking
Cons: Nothing comes to mind
Location: Excellent location in the middle of town on the market square
Very good quality traditional English hotel. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this to friends and colleagues
4 out of 5
by ESP from CA

traditional style, excellent location

Posted Jun 27, 2013 on Hotels
en-suite single was cramped but clean. Bathroom spacious. Downtown location next to shops and restaurants can't be beat. Hotel style is wonderful olde english: dark wood and carpets throughout, a bit creaky.