Ratings based on 664 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charleston, SC

A delightful seaside experience

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Pros: Location, location, location.
This is hotel is ideally located. It is situated on the waterfront and adjacent to the local lighthouse. Moreover, its within walking distance to shops and restaurants. This is a large facility with a main building and multiple outbuildings. It is clean and nicely landscaped. It is a historic hotel, has some age to it and a few signs of it. Nonetheless, its a beautiful facility with a huge entry/lounge area and restaurant. I had an enjoyable stay and would recommended it to others.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ellicott City, MD

Nice hotel within walking distance

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Pros: Location and view
Location: Within walking distance to lots of shops and restaurants.
Nice hotel within walking distance to town and has a beautiful view of the harbor from the large porch with lots of rocking chairs.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not well maintained

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Pros: Beautiful view from the Light House Grill restaurant. Quiet environment.
Room door does not lock. The guest next door accidently walked in. Good thing I was still clothed. Complained to the front desk but was still not fixed. The room was in a separate building. There is no clear sign to show directions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Excellent

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Excellent staff and location. No more. I am watching a movie.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sag Harbor, NY

Location good enough to overlook what's lacking

Posted Sep 16, 2017
The hotel is long on public spaces that please. Lobby area is great. Wrap around outside porch is great. Pool area and pool itself great. Great bar called Henry's. Gym is better than most. Proximity to town and also small terrific beach is ideal. We took two rooms because traveling with friends. Their room smelled moldy tho ours did not. The front desk and front door staff was largely burnt out by the summer and not great -- Bar, restaurant, and room cleaning staff were outstanding. Staircases to rooms were very dirty, in need of repair and paint chipped. But I would ablsolutely, on the whole, stay here again and reccomend.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

New England Vacation

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Great location. Hotel was built in the 1890's and is in very good condition. I would have expected a more updated bathroom with better amenities in the room. The concierge was wonderful and actually made our trip a success.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful view from the wrap around porch!

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Hotel is on the older side and needs some work (balcony floor was splintered and peeling-needed shoes to walk on it) but we had a lovely stay. You couldn't access the pool from the hotel for some reason. You had to walk around the pool area to get to the lobby if you had a poolside room. Poolside bar was only open until 5pm which early to close, I think. the food in the restaurants was excellent and the view of the lighthouse and Harbour was stunning. I would love to stay again but feel the rates are too high for what you get and for the condition of the hotel. The walls and floors must be thin because you hear every little noise your neighbors make. Maybe they are in the process of renovating but they don't say that or offer any compensation. They could at least offer breakfast or, better yet, a lower rate.
4 out of 5
by Hing Hung Henry

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 13, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from charlotte

Great views but bad rooms at $500/night

Posted Aug 12, 2017
While the hotel has the best views from its porch, and best location in Martha's Vineyard, I would suggest you just go there for cocktails and dinner. Our room in the Mayhew section had wet carpets, a dehumidifier, sliding door that didn't lock on the first floor and a TV setup that didn't have a channel guide. At $500/ night, we had expected better accommodations and amenities. We of course notified the staff of the water problem which had bygoing on long enough to cause water damage to woodwork but they didn't do anything and could easily have moved us since hotel wasn't full.
4 out of 5
by Nancy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 9, 2017 on Hotels