Ratings based on 458 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

In Town Location

Posted Sep 25, 2017
The Kelly House is located in Edgartown. Walk to everything! The hotel rooms were clean and updated. The pub attached to the hotel was a great advantage for a late night bite or drink. We enjoyed our stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Dirty

Posted Sep 10, 2017
First off, we were in one of their "outer houses,"( we were never told of this upfront) not the main hotel. No porch light to see to get in, water all over floor from the refrigerator leaking, stains on carpet in bedroom, dog smell throughout( feces, urine, and just dog, black dog hair was so thick throughout hotel and when I pulled sheet back to check the mattress, it was full of black dog hair. Very difficult to sleep in bed knowing what was I see sheet. No remote for main TV. No working ice machine.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pretty historic hotel but not many immenidies.

Posted Sep 9, 2017
The hotel was not helpful with question of what to do in the area! Also there was not a great areas to congregate with famoly or play games on a rainy day. Disappointed with the price of the hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from delaware

Beautiful view

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Beautiful view from 3rd floor mezz suite from Martha's Vineyard to Chappi Island.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Location can't make up for this disaster

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Pros: Location, location, location.
Cons: Cleanliness, decor, service. How about a bathrobe in a $350+ a night hotel? C'mon Kelley House!
They charge you through the nose but this soulless attempt at modernizing the interior of a once charming mainstay of Edgartown is a complete bust. They have taken the guts out of the inside and replaced it with cheap, ugly "modern" decor that's spare and uncomfortable. The hollow lobby resembles the scene in Beetlejuice where they remove everything from the house. The front desk is rarely staffed. You have to ring a bell and "disturb" them to get help. I don't mind walking but be warned there are no elevators. (Note to Kelley House "architects": If you're going to ruin the place you might as well put in elevators.) Our room was large but dirty and completely lacking in character. The indoor outdoor rug didn't cover the cheap fake wood floor. Yuck. They offer coffee and muffins in the morning and homemade cookies at night. A nice touch but you better get there before they run out. As a fellow guest said to me, "There's all the coffee you want as long as it's decaf!" I had to wait for coffee, then ask for milk, then ask for... all separate trips were required to fulfill these requests and you get the idea. The staff is pleasant enough but kind of unconscious, not truly service oriented. I had to remove all the leaves and debris on outdoor chair cushions and then discovered a beer bottle from the previous night. They don't clean up or care! Great location but a real disappointment. I assume zoning prevented them from ruining the exterior. Thank heavens for that!
5 out of 5
by Adria

The Kelly House Fan

Posted Sep 5, 2017 on Hotels
The best hotel experience ever.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Pros: Location! Can't beat, center of town. The pool and Wave bar is also a big plus. The bike rentals are great but at rates charged should be free
Cons: Full length mirror, or just a 2nd mirror in the room. Lack of security, should have swipe cards. Room# Written right on the key-on a dirty rope.
Location: Shop! Eat! Sail!
Staff nice, but young and new. We stayed in garden house and there was a mop bucket outside our room for 3 days. Wood on door broken as if someone tried to break it in. Wave bar nice, service should be promoted poolside, would increase business. Expand menu at Wave or deliver from the newes to the pool. Hotel decor, floors, bath all very nice and new.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Great location

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Pros: Location ...especially without a car...no problem going anywhere on Island
Cons: As I could see, very positive improvements already in progress. Looking forward to completion
Location: Celebrated 40th anniversary there in August. A real treat ! Plenty of activity nearby but also plenty of room to just kickback. Will return soon.
Great location very relaxing My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed the proximity in quaint Edgartown. Day & night without my car...no problem.
4 out of 5
by elizabeth

Posted Aug 30, 2017 on Hotels
Great location, friendly staff, perfect location. Was a bit concerned that the fire alarm/sprinkler in room 110 was covered by duct tape. The renovations look great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Florida

a wonderful family place

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Pros: Its location and view
Cons: They could make some housekeeping and inventory improvements
Location: It is centrally located where you can walk to anything and have no need of a car
We are return visitors who love Kelly house and its atmosphere and conviviality. The beds are comfortable. It is a very special place. I would stay no where else on Martha's Vineyard so long as I can afford it. It is getting a bit pricey. I brought my whole family and rented Wheel house which has a wonderful porch overlooking the Harbor..