Ratings based on 746 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Troon, Scotland

Good hotel on outskirts of city

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: Facilities, good size family room, quiet location
Cons: Service and food choice/quality in Brasserie restaurant
Location: Quiet location 20 minutes drive from city centre
Nice hotel with good facilities including swimming pool, sauna, steam room. Lovely situation on 2 golf courses with driving range and pitch and putt course. Approx 20 minutes drive to city centre. All staff very pleasant. The only let down was that we dined in the Brasserie restaurant on Friday night - service and food disappointing. Waited a long time for order to be taken, then another long time for it to arrive. Seemed short staffed and food that arrived fell far short of expectations of a 4* hotel. Dined again on Saturday night and totally different - much better service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: quietness
Locating our room was a royal pain. The corridor signs were not accurate. Room 138 was not where the signs said to look.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Lovely hotel, great bar and restaurant on site. Staff were very friendly. The breakfast buffet was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Excellent location and well kept hotel. Children made to feel welcome too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great break

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Food in the Brasserie was great along with friendly staff. Played the East Course and will go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Hotel beautiful, with all amenities. Close to airport for only one night but wish we had more time to take advantage of facilities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Felt like a queen!

Posted Oct 9, 2017
We were so impressed with Dalmahoy! Everything was stellar - only wish we could have stayed longer! We ate dinner at the lodge and it was some of the best food of our ten day trip (you must try their amazing and inexpensive brews too!) Our room was clean, huge, and super comfy, bathroom was INCREDIBLE - amenities were great, and the staff was absolutely precious. The grounds are totally dreamy, and I can't imagine anyone not loving every minute spent here. The only suggestion I would have, is maybe making plugs a little more accessible for us ladies - we had to rearrange some furniture to access the outlet next to mirrors to fix or hair. Otherwise - totally stellar experience!!!!! We will definitely be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2017 by The Dalmahoy Team, Hotel Management
Dear Keely, Dalmahoy wishes to express their utmost appreciation to you for submitting a truly outstanding review following your recent stay with us and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the near future. Kindest regards The Dalmahoy Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Wonderful!

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Nothing
Location: A bit "off the beaten track", but I had family close by. The 27 or 28 bus will take you to the city centre.
Lovely traditional Scottish hotel. Golf, great food, the best beer!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2017 by The Dalmahoy Team, Hotel Management
Dear Linda, thank you so much for taking the time to review Dalmahoy we value this very much. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards The Dalmahoy Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Country stay

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Pros: Fluffy towels, great bedding, amenities, expansive breakfast.
Cons: 0
Location: We took a taxi to get downtown Edinburgh. Close to the airport - about 15 minutes.
Check in was seamless. Great bar for drinks and food. We loved the Golf Club experience. Excellent restaurant - a b it pricy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2017 by The Dalmahoy Team, Hotel Management
Dear Jane firstly thank you for choosing Dalmahoy for your break away, we are delighted you had such a great time with us and we really do value you taking the time to review Dalmahoy. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards Dalmahoy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel in Edinburgh

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Pros: Great location. Beautiful grounds. Friendly staff. Great breakfast.
Cons: Maybe providing guests with lots of luggage a room closer to the main entrance.
Location: Explore Edinburgh. Visit the castle and the royal mile.
We loved this hotel in Edinburgh. It was our first stop on our Scotland adventure. It feels like you're driving up to a castle with beautiful grounds. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Navigating through the hotel with bags can be a challenge because of the age of the property and different parts of the hotel. Our room was nice with a courtyard view. Breakfast was excellent.