Ratings based on 1,429 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Stayed here because it was so close to airport with a free transfer every 15 minutes
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Miserable time at Doubletree

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: staff; check in; air conditioning
Location: airport
when we checked in the staff said "Oh I see they booked you for just a queen. Here i will move you to a double." When we got to our room however, it was just a queen with no air conditioning. I inquired at the desk but they said too bad...the hotel has no air conditioning. Just open your window. but it would not open. My room was probably over 80 degrees. The next day a hotel employee said too bad you could not get a portable air conditioner...I guess they were all already in use...the 2 the hotel had to offer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Syracuse, NY

Good transition for heading home

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: The staff were amazing, and the facility was clean and attractive. It was very convenient to the airport, and provided a regular shuttle.
Cons: The door to my room could have been thicker and/or insulated, as I could too easily hear activities in the hallway.
Traveling with some friends, we had just finished a two week trip through Scotland, mostly in small villages and coastal areas. It was wonderful! The problem was that I was not ready to head back home to the United States. Staying at this hotel our last night was convenient to the airport, but it also provided a diverse, urban setting that helped me transition back to my "real" life and work at home. In addition, the hotel staff were exceptional, the bar/restaurant was great, and the place was spotless and attractive.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North London

outdated and poor food

Posted Aug 13, 2017
Good locatation and large site. However, the hotel feels very dated and in desperate need of refurbishment. The family suite was small and despite the outdoor temp falling to 10-11*C the room was hot, stuffy and uncomfortable. The hotel is obviously aware of the problem as the room had 2 fans ready although AC should have been available there was none. The beds and furniture were old and creeky. At the main restaurant the breakfast chef on the egg station is terrible. Took 15mins to make me an omelette and when it eventually arrived there was a hair in it! Dinner here was also poor lacking imagination and flavour. I ordered their falafel burger. It was a dry falafel patty in a bun. No salad, no sauces and no flavour! The buffet Italian food is no better and it felt like we were at a young child's birthday party. The food was all a bit simple, bland and lacked imagination.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

The pool is closed indefinitely, so that was lousy

Posted Aug 3, 2017
The pool was closed, so that did not please me. Also, the bathroom sink is poorly designed and the bathtub/shower is too hihh and slippery.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Inflexible change/cancellation policy

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Was unable to change dates of stay staff totally unhelpful and rigid
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Louisville

Walk to the airport

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Pros: Convenient to airport. Great breakfast!
Perfect for catching an early flight. Wake up, have breakfast, and walk five minutes to the airport! Or, in bad weather, take the airport's park-and-ride shuttle, which picks you up at the hotel and drops you off at a covered walkway that will get you into the airport nice and dry.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

nice bar, great food, good location with bus .

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Cons: Front desk staff
Nice room, comfortable bed, good gym facilities, convenient location with bus to terminal.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

transportation

Posted Jul 23, 2017
We came into the town on the train the new station which is just about 2 1/2 miles from the airport . It was very difficult to get a taxi to the hotel we waited about an hour in the hotel was just little over 2 1/2 miles away . As it is summertime and I had two teenage girls with me you wanted to go swimming but the pool was closed
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kitchener, ON, Canada

Airport hotel with 5 am start of breakfast

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: Airport location.
Cons: Nothing observed by us.
Location: Convenient for overnight stay if required.
This airport hotel was not only walking distance to airport, with shuttle, comfortable with expected quality facilities, but has a breakfast buffet which starts at 5 am which was delicious, started us on our way very well for long day of travel!