Ratings based on 1,547 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen

If only everything worked...

Posted Jan 16, 2018
This hotel is perfect to be close to the airport and get an easy way to Edinburgh city centre without the nightmare or parking. Simply take the tram and that's it. The hotel is lovely but this time when our room's tv didn't work. We asked reception and had someone coming who pressed every button on the remote control just to confirm that we have done the same 10 minutes earlier and it just didn't work. They offered us to move to another room which we would have done if it wasn't for the fact that we were exhausted and desperately needed dinner. But the tv set was never fixed. I still think it's great value for money and a nice hotel but if only everything worked....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good for airport closeness

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Only stay one night as it was close to Edinburgh airport for an early morning check in. Staff were very friendly and the hotel was immaculate. The restaurant food was nice however we didn’t end up having breakfast as very expensive. Only down fall in the room was 2 out of the 3 plug sockets didn’t work so shared one socket to charge up devices for the flight.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Hotel close to tram line

Posted Jan 6, 2018
Very close to tram line. We were up early for the airport but thankfully noise didn't disturb us too much. Food and service in the bar were great. We were put in a room with a disabled bathroom. A bit disappointed with the condition of this. Floor had loose and broken floor tiles. As my husband wasn't feeling well and we were leaving early we chose not to say anything to reception but if I had been staying longer I would have asked for another room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cumbria

Amazing staff

Posted Dec 28, 2017
Had the best service ever. Staff all friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Felt like we'd been staying in a 5 star hotel. Pool was lovely bed was amazing. We had a brilliant stay.would definitely go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel convenient location

Posted Dec 24, 2017
The hotel is in a decent location to commute into central edinburgh. We went as a family, just before Christmas, to meet friends and see a show. The receptionist was lovely and gave our 5 year-old son lovely presents on arrival. A really nice touch. The room was already made up with a sofa bed for our son. The room was nice and pleasant. The pool was good. My only critisms were that they charge £4 each day for parking. It seems excessive when you have already paid for the room. Secondly we couldn't watch a movie from our laptop on the TV. As the hotel has blocked the HDMI ports and TV controller access. That aside it was a very pleasant stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good transport links and comfy place

Posted Dec 20, 2017
In simple terms - If I visit Edinburgh again I know where to book for my stay Excellent place for family and commute to retail park as well as City centre. Good transport links to airport and other end of the city. Good Hotel staff nice and friendly. Overall it was a pleasing experience at Novotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tuxedo Park, NY

Close to EDI

Posted Dec 19, 2017
Great location close to shopping, public transportation, and the Edinburgh Airport.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cumbernauld

Reasonable Hotel very close to trams.

Posted Dec 12, 2017
Pros: Reception staff very courteous and helpful. Public areas attractive and modern. Breakfast buffet well varied and plentiful.
Cons: Rooms need to be checked more thoroughly for floor maintenance and cleanliness.
Location: Great location for Hermiston Gait retail area and of course the close proximity to the Edinburgh trams.
modern hotel and when brand new would be very smart. Public areas good but the carpet in our room badly stained. Not worn but in need of a good shampoo.Floor tile grouting in bathroom was very poor and needed regrouting. We had a problem with our shower which would not stop flowing. this was repaired promptly though. For this standard of hotel I would expect the cleanliness/maintenance items to thoroughly checked before occupancy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with easy links directly to the city

Posted Dec 12, 2017
Had a fabulous stay in this hotel! The tram link to and from airport is within easy walking distance and you can get the train directly into the heart of the city within 10 minutes. The hotel was clean and friendly and the kids loved the swimming pool. The one and only thing I would say is the bar area was a little cold! !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from edinburgh

Great facilities close by

Posted Dec 10, 2017
All good except on one night when I was asked to come down to reception to pay for my pizza I had in my room. Even after I had asked if I could pay in the morning the receponist insisted to pay on the night. Her English was not good but sure she understood the conversation