Ratings based on 148 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Good location, very average hotel.

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: Location is the key with it being a comfortable walk to the city.
Cons: The rooms are dark , musty and unwelcoming. New fittings, paint and bed spreads would help.
Location: Location is the key. That is why I keep going back to Royal Terrace as you can walk everywhere in 15 mins.
Hotel is basic. Rooms are dark and dingy and uninviting. Staff responses pleasant but again just doing their job. Met the requirements of a 3 star but just. Room was musty. Breakfast just average but when compared to other Scottish hotels we stayed at below average. Location good for walking to city. Car parking is hourly on street and must be paid via machine. There are 5 hotels on this street within 100 yards o f each other. Over last 2 years I have stayed in 3 of the others and would rate this hotel at the bottom of the list of the ones I have stayed in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

Great stay

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Other than the room being on the top floor (70 steps), it was a great room. The staff were wonderful. One of them even brought our luggage up all of those steps for us. Made toast for us a 4 am when we had to fly out early in the morning. Staff was very helpful the best way to get around the city. They offered suggestions of what to do. Lots of options as we were there during the Tattoo, the Fringe Festival, the International Festival and a few more festivals as well. Had a great stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Woody from Staffordshire

Great service

Posted Aug 26, 2014 on Hotels
Impressive building, staff friendly and approachable, room was a little tired décor wise but it was clean and the bedding linen was spotless. Ensuite bathroom was modern and equally spotless. Breakfast was lovely, lots of choice. Location is fab, right next to Calton Hill at the bottom of the street, Superb views. Overall, very happy.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lise from København

Sengen var hård som en sten

Posted Aug 17, 2014 on Hotels
Vi boede på hotellet 3 nætter og var egentlig ganske godt tilfredse med hotellet som helhed: morgenmaden var god og personalet sødt og hjælpsomt. Hotellet ligger relativt centralt - på 20 minutter til fods er man på the Royal mile. At vi alligevel har bedømt hotellet som under midel skyldes primært den hårde seng. Jeg tror ikke, at der var fjedre i madrassen, hvilket gjorde en 7timers nattesøvn eet ubehagelig - både min mand og jeg følte os rædbrækkede efter en enkelt nat. Et andet punkt, der trak ned i vores bedømmelse var, at vi en aften kom hjem og opdagede, at rengøringen havde glemt vores værelse. Consiergen tilbød dog straks at komme ned og tage sig af det (hvilket vi afslog) - god service.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Kennedy from Glasgow

Top Floor & No Lift

Posted Aug 11, 2014 on Hotels
It's 2014 come on guys instal a lift .. Your in a great location don't let that be an excuse for not installing one .. Also a 10:30 check-out seems a bit silly when most hotels are midday .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Huone ahdas kahdelle

Posted Aug 11, 2014 on Hotels
Hotellin sijainti on rauhallisella paikalla puiston laidassa. Huone oli ahdas kahdelle ja sänkyvaatteet (päiväpeitto erityisesti) olivat tahraiset. Huoneeseen kolmanteen kerrokseen oli haasteellista kuljettaa laukkua. Aamiainen oli melko vaatimaton. Palvelu oli ystävällistä.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Tolle Lage

Posted Aug 8, 2014 on Hotels
Sehr gute Lage, das Hotel ist ziemlich alt und verfügt über keinen Aufzug, was im dritten Stock ein wesentlicher Nachteil war. Für eine Nacht war das Hotel aber ok.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 5, 2014 on Hotels
Room needs decorating, sheets clean but pillows need replacing. Bathroom was good and must have been refurbished recently. Breakfast was good and the staff helpful. Location was suitable for us close to car hire company, 10 minute walk from train station and walking distance for attractions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Ole Jørgen from Norge

Hyggelig betjening

Posted Aug 4, 2014 on Hotels
Svært hyggelig betjening. Stort rent rom. God frokost. Mange restauranter i området. Med godt tempo går du til Princess Street på 10 min. Trikken fra flyplassen går nesten helt fram til hotellet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Максим from Белград

Отличное расположение

Posted Aug 1, 2014 on Hotels
Идеальное расположение отеля! Рядом с вокзалом, рядом с вершинами откуда лучший вид и на замок и на Артур Сит и на весь Эдинбург! В семи минутах ходьбы и сам Холеруд! И отличный и любезный персонал! Немного староват отель но отношение цена/качество идеальное!