Ratings based on 122 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from waterford ireland

a never to be repeated experience

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Pros: the rooms
Cons: the breakfast. But most important is the fact that you cant get in to the hotel after 6. I came off a plane and was left standing in the rain.
Location: The location is on a busy main road and I dont think there is much to do around there.
I arrived at 6pm in the pouring rain and couldnt get in to the hotel. Only my taxi driver managed to stay with me till a man came out of a nearby house and let me in. Everything was so rushed and clinical and in minutes I found my self in a bedroom at only 6 o clock in the evening with no amenities to get me out. I wasnt shown a sittingroom or a bar or somewhere I could go to get out of my room and relax with a coffee and read my book etc. The noise from the room above was completely disturbing so I asked for another room. It was upsetting to have to move to another room after unpacking etc. Lastly the breakfast was mediocre for the price I paid for the room.
5 out of 5
by Graeme

Great place to stay!

Posted Dec 11, 2017 on Hotels
Friendly and helpful owner, room was lovely, very clean and comfortable, short bus journey into Edinburgh with bus stop right outside the lodge. Overall a great stay.
5 out of 5
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Very Homely guesthouse.

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Pros: Very clean and well maintained throughout.
Cons: Personally I wouldn’t change a thing .
Location: Only there for one night so cannot comment about the location .
Arrived well before our check in time. Room was ready and the manager showed us to a very clean and quiet guesthouse. We have stayed in hotels four times the price of this and not half as good.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fife, Scotland

Posted Nov 11, 2017
1 night stay only. Room clean and comfortable. Breakfast ok and gluten-free diet catered for.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wigan

What a fantastic welcoming hotel!

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Ted and Dot, cleanliness, food
Cons: Nothing
Location: Edinburgh is on your door step - what more could you want!
You really will be hard pushed to find anywhere in Edinburgh as welcoming and clean as this lovely B&B. From the moment we arrived, we were treated like royalty; nothing was too much trouble for Ted and Dot, the hosts. The room was kept spotless, with everything you would need to ensure a comfortable stay. The breakfast was substantial and kept us going for the rest of the day. But I would have to say that the best thing about Aaron Lodge are Ted and Dot. We felt like old friends from the moment we met and we would not hesitate to stay again when we are next in Edinburgh. The number 33 and 49 bus stops are right outside the hotel and will take you into the city, with a minimal wait and cost - £4 per daily ticket to hop on and off the bus at any time.
5 out of 5

Loved it

Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
I really enjoyed my stay here. The owners were lovely and made us feel like royalty. Wonderful place to stay. Room was great. Breakfast was great. A*
5 out of 5
by John

Very clean and friendly

Posted Mar 1, 2017 on Hotels
The manager could not have done anymore for us so helpful and friendly, we got a great welcome and the room was beautiful and very clean a fantastic big bathroom and to top it off breakfast was lovely.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Exceptional guest house hotel.

Posted Dec 18, 2016 on Hotels
I felt this property was exceptionally clean. We were made to feel very welcome. Lovely owner who made you feel like a very welcome guest.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful guest house

Posted Dec 4, 2016 on Hotels
Booked this guest house as it was near to where our son lives so we could visit him and also go to the Christmas market. Beautiful room, very comfortable. Lovely big walk in shower. Room was immaculately clean. Lovely full English breakfast. Bus stop right outside with regular buses in to Edinburgh city centre. Owners very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 24, 2016 on Hotels
pleasantly surprised to find a decent room and a very good complimentary hot breakfast . For the price , its a bargain. The room was well stocked and with decent bathroom furnishings . The lady in charge was very efficient and welcoming. A nice stay.