Ratings based on 140 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Tidy little B&B

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: Price, service, proprietor, cleanliness
Cons: Possibly install triple glazing
We had a 2 night stay at the Abbotsford in December. The proprietor, Poula was extremely helpful and kept the B&B very clean and tidy. The room we stayed in (no. 4) was on the 1st floor at the front and we found the noise from traffic and people walking past disturbed our sleep even with the window closed. The room was also very small and we were glad we only had 1 suitcase. The room size was probably a fair reflection of the price but I would definitely request a room at the rear if I was to stay again. Breakfast was very nice. It took us about 20 minutes to walk to Princes Street, so fairly central.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Lovely Hosts

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Pros: They use non bio washing powder as I am allergic and they were very lovely proprietors.
Very Warm Welcome and very clean room, lovely breakfast room and breakfast.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very convenient parking a problem all street

Posted Nov 26, 2016 on Hotels
Great landlady very nice
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great B&B with a great breakfast

Posted Oct 21, 2016 on Hotels
A great stopover in a nice and convenient part of town...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice guest House in Edinburgh

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: The breakfast was well cooked
Cons: The staff may wish to close the kitchen door when cooking as conversations are audible from the breakfast room
Location: The location was quite good for sightseeing in Edinburgh
The room had a bit of a smell, and the bed was a bit hard, but overall had a good stay and found the price to be quite competitive for Edinburgh
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 27, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Great value stay during the Edinburgh Fringe

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Pros: The price, the breakfast and especially the breakfast room. There was also a reasonably-priced laundromat around the corner.
Cons: Was just a bit far to pop back and forth between the B&B and central Edinburgh, but is perfect if you want to something between the centre and Leith.
Location: No shortage of restaurants and is well placed if you want to visit Calton Hill, Broughton and New Town.
I didn't intend to stay in Edinburgh during the Fringe and I got a shock when I saw the prices of the more centrally located B&Bs; however, Abbotsford Guesthouse came to the rescue. It's a beautifully-presented Victorian-era townhouse only a mile towards Leith from Waverley station, and though I took a room with a shared bathroom, it was worth every penny.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent B&B in good location.

Posted Aug 22, 2016 on Hotels
A great B&B in Edinburgh. Convenient to lots of bus lines. Lovely and caring hostess. Quiet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wigan

Nice hotel close to the Fringe

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: Food, people, facilities
Cons: None
Location: Very close to the Fringe
Staff very friendly Food excellent Hotel room very comfortable
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 9, 2016 on Hotels