Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Tidy little B&B

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: Price, service, proprietor, cleanliness
Cons: Possibly install triple glazing
We had a 2 night stay at the Abbotsford in December. The proprietor, Poula was extremely helpful and kept the B&B very clean and tidy. The room we stayed in (no. 4) was on the 1st floor at the front and we found the noise from traffic and people walking past disturbed our sleep even with the window closed. The room was also very small and we were glad we only had 1 suitcase. The room size was probably a fair reflection of the price but I would definitely request a room at the rear if I was to stay again. Breakfast was very nice. It took us about 20 minutes to walk to Princes Street, so fairly central.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Lovely Hosts

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Pros: They use non bio washing powder as I am allergic and they were very lovely proprietors.
Very Warm Welcome and very clean room, lovely breakfast room and breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice guest House in Edinburgh

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: The breakfast was well cooked
Cons: The staff may wish to close the kitchen door when cooking as conversations are audible from the breakfast room
Location: The location was quite good for sightseeing in Edinburgh
The room had a bit of a smell, and the bed was a bit hard, but overall had a good stay and found the price to be quite competitive for Edinburgh
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Great value stay during the Edinburgh Fringe

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Pros: The price, the breakfast and especially the breakfast room. There was also a reasonably-priced laundromat around the corner.
Cons: Was just a bit far to pop back and forth between the B&B and central Edinburgh, but is perfect if you want to something between the centre and Leith.
Location: No shortage of restaurants and is well placed if you want to visit Calton Hill, Broughton and New Town.
I didn't intend to stay in Edinburgh during the Fringe and I got a shock when I saw the prices of the more centrally located B&Bs; however, Abbotsford Guesthouse came to the rescue. It's a beautifully-presented Victorian-era townhouse only a mile towards Leith from Waverley station, and though I took a room with a shared bathroom, it was worth every penny.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wigan

Nice hotel close to the Fringe

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: Food, people, facilities
Cons: None
Location: Very close to the Fringe
Staff very friendly Food excellent Hotel room very comfortable
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lisbon, Portugal

Nice hotel, not far from the town center.

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: Location. Quiet street. Free parking.
Cons: A lift, please.
The breakfast schedule is too tight. We had an early flight and we could not have it, although we had paid for it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Paula very friendly and helpful

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: Very central, only 5 - 10 mins to centre of edinburgh
Cons: An elevator for luggage, up two levels 😕
Location: Inner Edinburgh; Close to eateries, theatre and castle etc
Beautiful old house, close to many places of interest, public bus just outside front door. Wonderful location at a good price
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Pros: Quite an old building with lots of character. Rooms and en suites very clean
Cons: An elevator perhaps?? To get luggages to second floor
Location: Very central to shopping and sightseeing around Edinburgh
Manager very accommodating, commenced breakfast an hour early because we had an early start, much appreciated. location very handy
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Our room was beautiful!

Posted Jun 29, 2016
Pros: I loved the big room we were in. Room #5
Cons: I would say parking, but that probably wouldn't be possible to improve since it is on a public street.
Location: At this location you are close to downtown Edinburgh so we just walked up the street and caught a taxi but you could walk to all the sites downtown.
Our room was so big and beautiful and we wished that we had arrived sooner that night so that we could have enjoyed it more, (we got there so late, we basically came in,fell into bed, and went to sleep). This guest house is near town so it is on a busy street, which means that it is convenient to get to downtown, but it also makes for a lot of cars going by in the morning. The parking is not good since there are so many houses on this street, so we had to park a ways down the road. Paola, our host, was very kind and helpful. She even stayed up late to let us in the night we arrived, and she also made a wonderful breakfast the next day. Overall it think that this was a great guest house.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice B&B in the center of Edinburgh

Posted Oct 23, 2015
stayed for 2 nights, room is decent but small, clean overall. Excellent full English breakfast. Easy access to lots of buses within walking distance. Close to wide variety of restaurants and take aways