Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Alba Hills Hotel

Posted Oct 8, 2016 on Hotels
We arrived in the morning, when we went to drop-off the bags we were allowed to check in straight away as the room was empty the night before, the was no extra charge despite the fact we accessed the room just after 8am and had breakfast .We had proper rest before exploring the town, we were given enough information to explore the town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: Friendly, Clean & very Helpfull
Cons: maybe sell drinks, to be taken back to room
I sent my son & Daughter in law for a few days after their wedding, they told me the staff were very friendly, the room clean & tidy & were more than happy, the only problem was no bar but that is easily sorted buy buying out & taking back, a 20 min / half hr walk into the main city & loads of things to see & do. They visited the Zoo which houses the only koala bears in the U.K. or so they were told & saw the March of the Penguins which amused them. They want to go back which is a glowing recommendation as they can be fussy.
4 out of 5
by Sonya from Poynton, Cheshire

Warm Welcome

Posted Oct 19, 2015 on Hotels
I moved away from Edinburgh nearly a year ago. I wanted to go back on my own to see my old work colleagues and walking group friends. The guest house was bright and clean, staff were very friendly and made me feel welcome which was lovely as I was on my own.The house was old but lovely old fashioned which had a nice comfy feeling. My single room was cute, just what I wanted with an en-suite.My full english breakfast was hot and very filling ready for the day ahead. I stayed 2 nights and would stay again hopefully very soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Oct 10, 2015
The owner Muhammad was great and so was his father and younger brother. The French girl who did breakfast was very good also. The food was good. The room was beautiful and very comfortable. It was a 25 minute walk to all the sights in the city or take the bus about 2 minutes away.I would love to come back and stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 24, 2015 on Hotels
Good service and breakfast.
5 out of 5
by JAMES from San Diego

Scotish Vacation

Posted Sep 21, 2015 on Hotels
The room was very nice, large, great decorations. The staff were helpful and very nice to us. The breakfast plentiful. You should try the full Scotish breakfast that includes a haggis patty. The only fault was the smell of mold in the bathroom.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North East England

Convenient Location

Posted Sep 16, 2015
We were shown to our room straight after signing in. As well as the usual beverage tray, there were also chocolates & good quality biscuits. Clean towels & toiletries were on the bed. The room was small with en suite, the decor was a little dated, but everything was very clean. The bed was very comfortable.The staff were welcoming, & full of local information, to help us enjoy our stay. The next day at breakfast, which had a good buffet table for a continental also a fair size menu of hot foods & drinks. The manager asked how we had slept, after telling him the room was hot, he suggested and brought a fan up to the room in the evening. All of the staff were very polite and helpful. They wanted us to enjoy our stay at Alba Hills Edinburgh It was about 20-30 minutes walk to central Edinburgh, but buses ran every few minutes just over the road from Alba Hills house. Four pounds bought a ticket you could travel on all day until midnight
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A pleasant weekend at Alba Hills

Posted Sep 8, 2015 on Hotels
This was my first stay in Edinburgh south of the Royal Mile, and getting into town was much easier (no hills to navigate). The house is situated on the main road into town - just turn right and keep going for 20-25 minutes and you'll arrive at the Royal Mile. There are also frequent buses running along the route day and night. Although on the main road, my comfortable, clean, en-suite room was quiet as it overlooked a (sadly, unkempt) garden. Breakfast was plentiful and filling, the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful, and overall it was an enjoyable weekend.
3 out of 5
by June from S Wales

Happy travellers

Posted Aug 25, 2015 on Hotels
We had a lovely comfortable stay, staff and family were very pleasant and attentive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from yORKSHIRE

The welcome

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Pros: The proximity to the centre of town.
After a long and difficult drive , we were made very welcome by our host. The room and facilities were excellent.