Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Köln

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Gute Busanbindung, freundliches Personal sehr gutes Frühstück. Bad war sehr klein
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from TO

Lovely hotel with a huge comfy bed beautiful view

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Lovely tea, cookies, snacks, decanter of fresh water awaited us in room. Luxurious huge, clean bed with posh toiletries in bath were wonderful. Owner was very helpful about restaurants in area and gave out guides. Other staff were friendly, over and beyond in suggestions and help about Edinburgh. Beautiful character in hotel. It was so close to many outstanding restaurants and convenience, also easy for using public transport. Breakfasts tasty. Owner let me print off my boarding passes, then drove my forgotten passport to airport in the nick of time. A wonderful family business. We will be staying there on our next trip to Edinburgh.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

good location for central Edinburgh

Posted Jul 4, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: location
great location, with car parking an added bonus, Also on bus routes
5 out of 5
by Paul from nottingham

excellent warm welcome

Posted Jun 20, 2016 on Hotels
nice welcome from Colin , very informative and hotel very smart and stylish. Lots of original feature from house of this period. Felt like a home from home Breakfast just right and enjoyed the stay .
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 14, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Michael from Glasgow

Weekend break

Posted Mar 9, 2016 on Hotels
Nice hotel, very clean and the reception we got at arrival and leaving very pleasant. And you get a lovely breakfast.
5 out of 5
by William from Edinburgh

Great place to stay: great staff, great rate

Posted Jan 12, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely hotel. Staff super friendly and helpful, beds very comfortable and views out the back windows superb of Arthur's Seat!
4 out of 5
by Elizabeth

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 5, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Runar from Oslo

Great small hotel close to Edinburgh city centre

Posted Dec 16, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent hotel close to Edinburgh city centre. Comfortable beds, big rooms, great breakfast, clean rooms (and bathrooms!). Recommended!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Family run hotel

Posted Dec 5, 2015
Pros: As above, the food was well cooked. The room is clean and comfortable. Our bathroom is tiny but adequate and the shower of good quality.
Cons: Ensuring tea, coffee etc used is replaced and widening the range of fruits for breakfast.
Location: On the main road into the centre of Edinburgh, about 20/25 minutes walk and on a bus route with plenty of choice. Located near Commonwealth pool.
The hotel had changed hands since our last visit and is now run by a Chinese familyand no longer offers sherry and whisky in rooms. The selection of fruits for breakfast remains but with fewer choices. The cooked menu choice has also reduced but the food was well cooked and very tasty. The Front of house person, Colin was extremely pleasant and helpful, very attentive at breakfast. The only negative was that there was no milk for coffee the first morning, and the tea and coffee sachets used were not replaced. When this was drawn to Colin's attention, he immediately brought replacements. We were also aware that one of the rooms had no toiletries left. These are little gripes but sometimes it's the little things that make a difference. These are teething troubles, I hope, which would not prevent us returning.