Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice little cozy place

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness, quality of the breakfast, room size
Cons: Change the mattresses!
Location: Short walk away from the Castle and the Royal Mile
My friend and I stayed at the Amaryllis for 3 nights. The room was really big and clean, breakfast was delicious, staff friendly and helpful. Only little complaints would be that the mattresses were not the comfiest and the window was a bit drafty, but not such a big deal. Would definitely recommend.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 5, 2016 on Hotels
The proprietors were lovely, breakfast was excellent (and filling!), the rooms were nice and cozy, and the hotel was located on a few minutes walk from where I needed to be. It's a bit of a hike to get here from the airport, but once there, it's quite easy to get out and into the city. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay.
4 out of 5
by Lindsay from France

Calm and welcoming.

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
Very peaceful and welcoming, great hosts. Nice quiet neighbourhood...we slept well ! Only criticism is the small bathroom. To recommend.
5 out of 5
by Fabrice from Brive France

Posted Mar 19, 2016 on Hotels
Everything was perfect! The breakfast was wonderfull!!!!
3 out of 5
by Jill from London

Decent guest house

Posted Mar 17, 2016 on Hotels
Decent guest house. Pros - walkable to city centre, murrayfield or for restaurants and bars, room was spacious and comfortable. Breakfast food options were good. Cons - breakfast operated within 45 min window only from 8.30-9.15 which isn't ideal for a weekend lie in. Electric shower in room intermittent with regards to decent pressure and hot water.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 10, 2015
Nice guest house but a tad overpriced. Room was comfortable but shower lacked water pressure and overall the bathroom was too small. Owner was nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Great guest house 20 min walk from the Castle.

Posted Aug 28, 2015
Super friendly staff, excellent breakfast! We had to leave before breakfast on our last day, so they packed us a great lunch! Very comfy bed. Shower was a finicky electric thing unlike anything I have ever seen, and I needed help to get it working properly. Would stay there again.
5 out of 5
by Alan from Florida

Great B&B

Posted Jul 28, 2015 on Hotels
This was a great B & B and location. Our room was very large and comfortable. Our hostess went above and beyond. We were not able to make it to breakfast as we were leaving early to go to the British Open. She offered to leave a lunch when we left very early. She supplied us with sandwiches, chips, apples and cookie. This pretty much saved us as to the length of time it took by train. We were starving and this filled us till way into the day when we got our favorite Fish and Chips at the Open. I would recommend this place 100%. Our second morning we chose from 6 different breakfast cooked to order. This is a gem of a place. Just a note, bring your own shampoo.
4 out of 5
by Karla from Helena, Mt

Plesent place to stay.

Posted Jul 20, 2015 on Hotels
It was a great stay at nice B&B. A wonderful lady took care of us and watched out for us like we were her extended family. The only issue with the room was the shower didn't have very good pressure. Otherwise it was a great stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2015 on Hotels
The picture of the Hotel encouraged us to choose it but when we arrived the overpowering smell of cigarette smoke was not nice! This was in our room too.As non smokers it was not appreciated.