Ratings based on 2,494 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sightseeing shopping eating

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Visited all the sights Hop on bus.great for shopping and seeing the town .Hotel very convenient for everything
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern California

A good choice!

Posted Jul 20, 2017
My family and I stayed here for a night and had a lovely experience. The rooms were comfortable and well appointed. The view of the castle was spectacular. The location was great for exploring the city. We had lunch in the restaurant and found plenty of yummy selections, even for the vegans. There was onsite parking, too, which was a big help. I highly recommend staying here. You'll love it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Great value for money

Posted Jul 18, 2017
View over Edinburgh castle well worth it. Good restaurants nearby and onside
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from England

Perfect location for exploring Edinburgh.

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: Location.
Location: Plenty of quirky shops,nice places to eat and drink near by.
Views of the Castle great. Arrived earlier than the check in time hoping to be able to leave cases while we explored, however staff were very obliging and we were able to check and access the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2017 by Rebecca (Assistant Guest Services Manager), Hotel Management
Dear Maz, Thank you for your review! I am glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and our reception team were able to accommodate your early arrival. Thanks again for your review! We hope to welcome you back to Apex Grassmarket in the near future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice city centre location -

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Very good city centre hotel - excellent staff. Very reasonable overnight parking. Fantastic pool. Only downside would be the breakfast which let down an otherwise 5 star experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2017 by Rebecca (Assistant Guest Services Manager), Hotel Management
Thank you for the review! I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us - particularly our location, it really is perfect for starting a day of exploring the city! I am sorry to see that your breakfast experience was not up to standard. If you would like to provide more feedback regarding this then please do not hesitate to get in touch. Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back to Apex Grassmarket in the near future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Durham, NC

Apex Grassmarket Hotel

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Beds are too firm.
Location: Convenient to Royal Mile with several pubs across the street.
We enjoyed the hotel, conveniently located and minimally decorated.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017 by Rebecca (Assistant Guest Services Manager), Hotel Management
Dear Ann, Thank you for your review! We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay - we really are fortunate to have such a fantastic location and we are glad you were able to make use of this! We hope to welcome you back to Apex Grassmarket Hotel in the near future!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Lovely area in Edinburgh

Posted Jul 11, 2017
We had a great time in Edinburgh and the hotel wasbin the perfect place
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2017 by Rebecca (Assistant Guest Services Manager), Hotel Management
Dear Tony, Thanks for the great review. Delighted you had a great stay at the Apex Grassmarket Hotel. I hope we get the chance to welcome you back to the hotel again in 2017. Thanks again from all the team!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel in Royal Mile

Posted Jul 9, 2017
The hotel had very nice accommodations i.e comfortable beds and clean bathrooms. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. The hotel is centrally located in the midst of the Royal Mile restaurants and shops - easy walking to all activities. The one disappointment we had is the fist night stay we were on the first floor, facing the castle, and the streets of the Royal Mile. We could hear all of the street activities to late in the evening - this was very disappointing see we had just arrived in from our oversees flight and needed a good nights rest. We told the staff about the noise level and on our return visit we were on the 3rd floor away from the street. Though we did not have the castle view it was quiet enough that we could open our window and get a good night sleep.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2017 by Rebecca (Assistant Guest Services Manager), Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! I am very sorry for the issues that you experienced with noise from outside on your initial reservation. I am glad we were able to provide you with a quieter room on your return to us. Due to our very central location, we do experience an element of street noise. Once again, thank you for taking the time to review Apex Grassmarket Hotel and we do hope to welcome you back in the near future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Forida

Great location for restaurants and shopping.

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: Excellent location, clean rooms, view of the castle, excellent staff!
Cons: We only got one bar of soap to use between sink and shower. Really wasn't a big deal, you just had to remember to transfer it.
Location: Loved the location because it was close to some really good pubs and restaurants. The staff was able to recommend a nice knit shop close to hotel.
We arrived early and were able to check in early which was great because we had a limited time in Edinburgh. This hotel is located in the Grassmarket area where they have a Saturday market that we sadly missed since we had complications with air travel arriving a day later. When we put our luggage in our room which was very nice, off we went to one of the pubs and enjoyed libations the scots way. There are also many restaurants to choose from in the square that are really good! Our room had an excellent unobstructed view of the castle which was just beautiful! We had a huge balcony (10' X 10') so we enjoyed wine and visiting with some of our friends traveling with us. Our room was clean and good sized, the bathroom was beautifully remodeled, spotlessly cleaned, and had all the usual soap/shampoo/conditioner/lotion. The shower was excellent but beware of the tubs height as found in most all of Europe. They are about 20"or so high. No problem with hot water and easy to use shower/tub controls. Plenty of fresh towels. As with most hotels there is no air conditioning but they provide a fan if needed, we just opened the glass sliding door to the patio and were fine. Provided in the room was a Kerug coffee maker which was great. The hotel is about 15 minutes from the airport but beware that there are other Grassmarket hotels so the cab first dropped us off are the wrong hotel. Make sure you tell the cab driver the Apex Grassmarked Hotel. Great hotel!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by Rebecca (Assistant Guest Services Manager), Hotel Management
Thanks for the great review. It was nice for the team to receive such positive feedback about your stay at the hotel. We are fortunate to have a great location and it really does make a difference for all the sightseeing and shopping! Once again thanks for the review and hopefully you will be back in Edinburgh for another holiday in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Good location, not so nice beds.

Posted Jul 5, 2017
There are many Apex hotels on Grassmarket. This one seemed a bit old. The bed was not very comfortable. The shower/tub was difficult to get into. There were not any hand rails to hold onto and it was slippery getting in and out of the shower. I slipped one time. The best part of this hotel is the location, just a quick walk up to the castle and there are a lot of good pubs and restraurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2017 by Rebecca (Assistant Guest Services Manager), Hotel Management
Dear Amanda, Thank you for the review! I am sorry for the issues that you experienced with the bed and bath tub. All guest feedback is valuable to us as not only does it highlight what we are doing well but it helps us to identify areas that we need to improve. We are due a refurbishment in the Autumn therefore we greatly appreciate your feedback at this time of exciting changes! We hope to welcome you back to Apex Grassmarket in the near future! Thanks again!