Ratings based on 2,137 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Concord, NH

Great location.

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Situated between Old and New Town Edinburgh, this hotel also offers travelers easy access to the Waverly train station for day trips. We stayed four nights, but spent few waking hours in the hotel and can't comment on staff, food or other unexplored amenities. Its proximity to Calton Hill was a bonus; go there upon arrival for panoramic views of the city!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Great location for exploring Edinburgh.

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Location and very good shower
Cons: The general facilities in the rooms.
Location: The best thing about this hotel is the location with many of the attractions of central Edinburgh in easy walking distance.
The unevenness of the facilities is why I've given this hotel three stars. We were disappointed with our room. The bed was uncomfortable and the temperature in the room uneven with parts of the room cold while other parts too warm. Small details let them down, for example the milk was kept in the cupboard with the minibar - empty except for two bottles of water - and the heat from the fridge caused it to spoil. The lighting in the room was either all on, making it too bright, or off.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norfolk, UK

Ideally located off Princes Street

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: See above.
Cons: Experia did not make it clear in their booking confirmation that price was 'room only' and not B&B. The hotel staff agreed and provided 2 gratis.
Location: See above
Stayed 4 nights from 18th/21st April 2017. Close to Waverley bus and train stations. Good quiet rooms and very helpful reception personnel. The location could hardly have been better for exploring the wonderful city of Edinburgh. Experience exceeded our expectations theoughout.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from idaho

Apex Waterloo was fantastic

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Loved this hotel, the rooms were big and so nice. Beds were unbelievably comfortable and clean. Only thing we didn't love was the fact that hotel breakfast was so expensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Close to the Royal Mile

Posted Apr 20, 2017
We received a free room upgrade. The hotel was beautiful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Edinburgh

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Great location close to train station, shopping and restaurants. Also walking distance to Edinburgh Castle and Royal Mile. Helpful and friendly staff. Would recommend.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Great location but quirky position

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness, decor and facilities.
Cons: Don't have rooms directly located at loading dock level.
Location: Great access to Princess St.
Excellent hotel location but quirky position where most floors are below street level. A very big negative was that our room was directly next to the loading dock. As a consequence we had skip bin and delivery van views. As it was Easter the hotel was fully booked. They did offer an upgrade but by our second night we were settled and didn't have the energy to move.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2017 by Alan H, Hotel Management
Dear KF Thank you for leaving us some online feedback, I was disappointed to read that you stay was marred by the location of your room within our hotel. Please accept my most sincere apologies for impact this may have had on your time in Edinburgh. Kindest regards Alan General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle upon Tyne

Great hotel near to Waverley Station and Princes S

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: Very comfy beds and big TV
Cons: It was a bit dark in the public places like lift areas and we had a short wait for breakfast. But these are just very picky things.
Location: Great location. near to Hop-on hop-off bus, Waverley Station, Princes Street, Rose Street.
Great choice. The hotel was walking distance from Waverley Station and right on Princes Street...easy for the Hopper bus. Beds were SOOOOOOO comfy. The only negative was waiting for breakfast - but we did pick a holiday time and a time that every one got up!! It was only 5 minutes tho...and worth waiting for - great breakfast and wonderful veggie choice. Loved the Elemis toiletries. The bathroom was big and hotel was quiet. Will def go back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2017 by Alan H, Hotel Management
Dear Snowgoose Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I was really pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. I was especially pleased to see you made the most of our central location while exploring the city. We all look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Kindest regards Alan General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Best value on our entire trip!

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Wonderful hotel that is easy to stay in. The staff were nice and helpful. The location was perfect. And the price was unbearable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2017 by Alan H, Hotel Management
Dear Averic Thank you for writing an online review about your time spent with us. I was really pleased to see that your stay was positive one. It was especially pleasing to see that your found our team nice and helpful, as this is something we always strive to deliver to our guests. I do hope we get to welcome you again in the not too distant future. Kindest regards Alan General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from h

Really enjoyed our stay. Hotel great

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Loved the hotel and it was in a great position to access all thee sights of Edinburgh.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2017 by Alan H, Hotel Management
Dear Fiona Thank you for posting some online feedback about your stay with us. I was really pleased to see that you enjoyed your time with us. It was especially pleasing to read that you appreciated our central location. I do hope we get to welcome you again in the near future. Kindest regards Alan General Manager