Ratings based on 232 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Welcoming guest house in lovely part of Edinburgh.

Posted Dec 7, 2016
We only stayed for one night, the guest house was very clean and the room comfortable. There was parking which was great, as this is difficult in the city centre. I liked the offer of free breakfast if your child is a student in the city and wants to join you. It was great value and I would happily recommend Appin House..
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Excellent Stay

Posted Nov 27, 2016
This hotel is located in a quiet area of Edinburgh well situated for the centre. It is exceptionally clean with a warm family atmosphere would highly recommend and certainly be returning again
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Paris

a very nice place to stay with warm welcome

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: welcome of the staff qiuet location
Location: nice gardens in the surroundings, many buses to go and visit Edinburgh
we came from France to visit our daughter who study at university (erasmius). we had very pleasant discussion with our host and all the staff. We had a very interesting presentation about whisky (their different flavors) and description of nice place to visit during our stay in Edinburgh
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rimini

Come a casa

Posted Nov 4, 2016
Cons: Solo il WI-FI
Dall' arrivo fino alla partenza , massima autonomia con la possibilità di comunicare ogni momento , per ogni necessità .
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Somerset

Great guest house close to the centre of Edinburgh

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: The breakfast was superb, with a choice of either a continental breakfast or porridge, followed by toast and a full breakfast.
Cons: Kettle in the room could have been better.
Location: Close to transport links and a supermarket within a shopping centre, and plenty of nearby places to eat and drink.
A great guesthouse close to transport links to city, which was only took 15 minutes into the centre of Edinburgh. The room I stayed in was big and had a modern on-suite bathroom. The staff were polite and helpful with local information on getting into the centre of Edinburgh and what is on offer in terms of places to go. Loads of leaflets on places to go within Edinburgh and further afield. I would stay here again, and plan too on a future trip to Edinburgh.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mijdrecht

Aanrader in rustige omgeving.

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Location: Als eigenaar ga je natuurlijk heel veel vertellen over uitgaans- plekjes wat prettig is naar te luisteren en daarna te beleven
Uitstekend! Veel persoonlijke aandacht bij vragen; een echte thuiskomst gevoel
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Sehr gemütliches B&B mit guter Verkehranbindung. Service 1a.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

比價值高的B&B

Posted Sep 19, 2016
交通方便, 環境寧靜, 食物也好, 員工都友善及願意幫忙。只是樓上的地板在有人行走時會發出少許聲音及房間隔音一般。
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent guest house south of Arthur's Seat

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Had a 2 night stay in Room 9 on the ground floor. Nice tall ceilings, decent sized room with double bed and good water pressure in the shower. We parked on the street in front of the house. Some street parking requires a permit, but those restrictions didn't apply over the weekend, which is when we were there. The owner mentioned that there was designated parking for the house if you can't find a spot on the street. It's a 10 minute walk to Peele Terrace, where there are several restaurants. We really enjoyed SouthPour and wanted (but weren't able) to try The Aviary. It's also a 10 minute walk to get to the southside of Arthur's Seat and another 30 minutes or so to climb the steep trail to the top. Going down through the easier trails takes you Holyrood Palace and the east end of the Royal Mile, leading into the city center. We never did find a (free) map of Edinburgh that showed the area where Appin House is. No real complaints about the room. We were a little let down when the owner recommended the Sheep Heid for dinner. 45 minute walk later, we arrived there and were told we needed reservations. That would've been nice to know before we went. We were also told to select the time slot that we wanted to have breakfast so that the food would be waiting for us at our assigned table. That didn't happen. Otherwise - it is a fine place to stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Hotels