Ratings based on 317 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Shock with a 4ft Bed

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Cons: Clarity on bed size.
Was really disappointed to arrive and discover we had a 4ft bed. When we asked to be moved we were told unfortunately the hotel was full which we fully appreciated as this was probably one of the busiest weekend in Edinburgh. I have contacted the hotel since our return only to be told we got what was booked on Expedia. I feel we where very mislead as on the hotel web site under their list of facilities it states double beds. Yes on the the Expedia booking I realise it said Room:Double room (Queen Petite) then further down. Requests 1 Queen bed. If we had realised this actually meant we were going to be given a 3/4 bed or 4ft bed we would never have booked. I also think this should have been made clearer and truly hope anyone in future won't be as disappointed as we were. In all my experience of travel which is extensive I have never seen 2 adults expected to sleep in a bed this size.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

room with a view

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Pros: Helpful staff, beautiful historic building, room with a view
Location: Good food and drink, close to centre of town.
Rooms are very small and windows don't open very much but bathrooms are modern and clean. Very nice historic building.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Beautiful historical building

Posted Aug 27, 2016
We absolutely loved this boutique hotel!! Just outside of the hustle and bustle, this once privately owned home turned hotel felt so welcoming. It is filled with history and we loved how well preserved the original interior was kept. Our room, was on the top floor #14 and the view was amazing!! Thank you B&B Edinburgh!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Room a bit small.

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: See above.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Nice location.
Good location for Edinburgh sights. Clean. Good breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L

Classic yet luxurious hotel

Posted Aug 9, 2016
We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and I have to say it was a very enjoyable stay. When we first arrived, we were delighted to know that our room was changed to the family suite, a much larger room than the one we had reserved along with having a gorgeous view, free of charge. While not extraordinarily modern, the room was very spacious, clean, and comfortable. The complimentary continental and Scottish breakfast was also very delicious. All the while, the staff was friendly, respectful, and pleasant to be around. This hotel really is a fantastic option and if I ever come back to Edinburgh, I will no doubt stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sedona AZ

Perfect for our stay

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pros: Just about everything, the shower was a bit hard to regulate but all in all I really liked staying there.
Cons: The shower.
Location: This is a converted 19th Century dwelling about 2 blocks off of Princes street. Close to the tram, buses and the train. Everything is accessible.
This was a great place, clean rooms, historical dwelling, great staff and excellent breakfast, coffee and beverage availability. There's was a staffed bar, library and media room. The staff were polite and helpful. I will stay there when I return to Edinburgh again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Waseca, Mn.

Wonderful small hotel with great views.

Posted Jul 26, 2016
B+B Edinburgh is a nice small/B and B Hotel with a wonderful staff that will do all to make sure your stay is the best. Wonderful views from the rooms. Great breakfasts with a good choice of fruit and cereals and all hot full Scotish breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Pretty Converted House

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Pros: The staff was friendly and tried to be helpful although there were some communication issues. The building interior is charming. Fabulous breakfast.
Cons: Better lighting in the room.
Location: Quiet, residential neighborhood requiring a 5 minute walk to any restaurants. Not close to city attractions.
Quiet neighborhood not that convenient to restaurants and sightseeing. We had trouble communicating with the staff due to language problems(non-english speaking)on their part. There was a 1am fire alarm on site and we were unable to contact hotel management and there was no one on site. Poor lighting in our room (king family suite). Fabulous view. Great breakfast. Courteous and helpful staff. Charming converted residence. Small, slow elevator.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Convenient to New town and shopping

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Standard B&B accomodations with private bath in quiet neighborhood and Victorian era building very well preserved. Amazing entry and library, sleeping rooms and baths are more spartan, but functional.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

Excellent location, beautiful and comfortable.

Posted Jun 12, 2016
Breakfast was delicious with fresh fruit and high quality ingredients. The room was comfortable and clean, and we loved being on the 4th floor with a great view and close to the city center.